Customer Reviews for

Nothing to Lose, Everything to Gain: How I Went from Gang Member to Multimillionaire Entrepreneur

Average Rating 4.5
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Well worth the money, time and experience

I've been following Ryan's career ever since I found out about him over two years ago. I found his story to be interesting in interviews on Your Business on MSNBC, The Big Idea on CNBC, The Larry Elder Show, etc. Ok, let's get to the point, his story from those intervie...
I've been following Ryan's career ever since I found out about him over two years ago. I found his story to be interesting in interviews on Your Business on MSNBC, The Big Idea on CNBC, The Larry Elder Show, etc. Ok, let's get to the point, his story from those interviews pretty much paralleled of where my life was turning out to be. He gave his testimonies of how he overcame adversity and made something out of himself from himself. In the book he gives greater detail as to how he faced a similar troubled childhood and grew to become a teenage troublemaker. But his life was turned around as he found himself a mentor through his stepfather. What's most important to the reader is his words of wisdom that he provides those that want to also become a success in the business world. For example, he covers things like recognizing in this ever-changing, yet heartless business world how to recognize who has your best interest at heart and how to choose a loyal business partner through his experiences. He covers a wide range of topics that give both his life story and a learning experience for the reader. I would recommend this book to anyone that wants to make a positive difference in their lives as well as others. Fire your boss and become your own.

posted by MLCurtis on August 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

title should be: "How my Mom hooked up with a Rich Guy and helped me"

The good: This guy was very lucky. He could have very easily remained a "gang member" and wound up dead or in jail. He did take advantage of opportunities that were presented to him. He did show initiative and followed through and was rewarded.

The bad: 99% of his su...
The good: This guy was very lucky. He could have very easily remained a "gang member" and wound up dead or in jail. He did take advantage of opportunities that were presented to him. He did show initiative and followed through and was rewarded.

The bad: 99% of his success was due to his Mom hooking up with a rich guy. Real Dad was an executive and also an over-extended meth head. His Mom only left after things got so bad that the authorities got involved and they move from a nice neighborhood to the bad part of the town.

While in a bad part of the town Ryan became "gangster" (in quotes as it didn't seem like real gangland more like suburban gangland) and was incarcerated twice meaning he actually crossed the line and may even have hurt people. Luckily for Ryan he was never tried as an adult and his juvenile records are sealed.

A few years later Mom hooks up with a wealthy guy while she was working at the local deli who opens up a lot of doors for young Ryan. The book implied he pulled himself out of the "gang life", but it was all the result of his step-dad who saved Ryan's family. Good thing his mom looked like Farrah Fawcett ( Ryan's description )

The rest of the book is your basic popular biz/self-help schlock that you find in the Multi-Level-Marketing industry (Ryan's company, Amway, Shaklee, Mary Kay, etc..) where employees/distributors are also customers.

The real hero in the book is his wonderful stepfather. It is a lot easier to make it in life when you have the support and encouragement of a wealthy, well connected, stepfather holding you by the hand.

To his credit, Ryan listened to his stepfather and followed through. But, without his stepfather, it is likely Ryan would have remained a petty criminal and been eaten up by the streets.

I was very disappointed and regret this purchase.

posted by bob-oAB on August 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Well worth the money, time and experience

    I've been following Ryan's career ever since I found out about him over two years ago. I found his story to be interesting in interviews on Your Business on MSNBC, The Big Idea on CNBC, The Larry Elder Show, etc. Ok, let's get to the point, his story from those interviews pretty much paralleled of where my life was turning out to be. He gave his testimonies of how he overcame adversity and made something out of himself from himself. In the book he gives greater detail as to how he faced a similar troubled childhood and grew to become a teenage troublemaker. But his life was turned around as he found himself a mentor through his stepfather. What's most important to the reader is his words of wisdom that he provides those that want to also become a success in the business world. For example, he covers things like recognizing in this ever-changing, yet heartless business world how to recognize who has your best interest at heart and how to choose a loyal business partner through his experiences. He covers a wide range of topics that give both his life story and a learning experience for the reader. I would recommend this book to anyone that wants to make a positive difference in their lives as well as others. Fire your boss and become your own.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Outstanding

    I read Ryan's first book `Nothing to Lose: How to Find Your Passion, Fire Your Boss, and Become an Entrepreneur' and enjoyed and learned from it. Once I got this book and picked it up I could not put it down. It proves that anyone is able to accomplish anything they set their desire to do. It shows the more personal side of Ryan and what he went through to get to where he is today! If I feel in doubt in my business I look back to the '10 TO DO's' and know that I am going to be successful! Thank you Ryan for writing these books and creating a business that we ALL CAN BE SUCCESSFUL IN!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    great book Highly Recommended - you must check it out

    i can say i dont read alot. but this book hit home for me i can relate to lot of ryan issuses.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Inspiring!!! Must Read

    This guy is unbelievable and really has an incredible story. I would highly recommend this book to anyone that is thinking about being an entrepreneur or someone that already is. We can always walk away with a little bit of knowledge from anyone that we meet, however very few people leave you feeling inspired and motivated like Ryan Blair does. Get it today...you won't regret it.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Ryan Blair and his story are amazing!

    I downloaded this book and immediately started reading and couldn't put it down. Ryan's message and style of writing is stellar! I am a Rising Star Director with Visalus, have lost weight, inches; have gained better health, a new business and a vision. This book has me motivated and pumped up to do what I was made to do; become the entrepreneur I am! His story is amazing and his teachings are essential if you want to get ahead and understand that entrepreneurship is vital in our economy! Buy it today!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    awesome book

    I read this book from cover to cover twice. I was so impressed with the lessons to be learned I bought two more copies to send to friends.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Refreshing transparency and hope - reading it w my 11yr old!

    This is an excellent read. Not sure why there any any negative reviews at all. Anyone who has ever made it in business will tell you 'luck' has nothing to do with it. There are plenty of 'lucky' people whop screw things up, and never make it. This is a great story about a man who grasped opportunity and held on to it through many struggles. Someone who sought success not just for himself, but so that he could help others too. He used what he knew, and the wisdom of the people around him to advance himself, and that to me is what overcoming is all about. Bottom line - this book qualifies the unqualified and gives entrepreneurs everywhere a reason to keep pushing. Not to mention - all the proceeds are going for an amazing cause. Ryan Blair is what we need to see more of in the business world. Maybe if there were more people like him making an honest million then kids would stop thinking that crime is the only thing that pays.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    Discovering What Drives You...

    In reading Ryan Blair's book "Nothing To Lose, Everything To Gain", I have been able to identify what drives me to be a entrepreneur and what is my passion. One question he asked in his book, has changed my entire focus and outlook on my business. "What would you choose as a career if you were guaranteed a steady income for the rest of your life, provided that you pursued this one thing?" This question made me think hard and do some serious soul searching to really figure out where my strengths are and what my passion is. This one question, allowed me to clearly see the future of my business. For the first time, I know where I am headed and I am excited. Thank you Ryan!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    FABulous book!

    I have not finished a book in years until this one! I loved the honesty in this book. Ryan's life could of gone many ways. He chose the right path and to go for it. Many people regardless of who they do or do not know can still make they wrong decisions. He chose to have a better life and put in his time to have it. He is living proof that if you work hard, you can have a better life. People need to stop waiting and complaining and just go out and work for what they want! Gave me hope again!!!!! P.Martin

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    This is a must read for everyone who has ever had at least a lit

    This is a must read for everyone who has ever had at least a little bit of entrepreneurial spirit inside them....unbelievable what can be accomplished if you put your mind to it and have laser focus on something better! Thank you Ryan for sharing a truly inspirational personal story!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    A must read... Makes you think... extremely interesting and info

    A must read... Makes you think... extremely interesting and informative... it is on of those books you will not want to put down

    Steven Dixon

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Highly Recommended!!! Specially if you are or thinking about becoming an entrepreneur!!!

    This book is awesome!! Must read!!! Ryan Blair is the CEO of my company Visalus Sciences and trust me this is who he is.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    I am not good at reading but wanting to change my life I found R

    I am not good at reading but wanting to change my life I found Ryan's transparent story of his life from a troubled child to a successful entrepreneur most inspiring. He holds nothing back and shares his how to's and secrets. A must read for anyone who want to make something out of their life and has been holding back.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Being an entrepreneur, I am constantly deepening my personal dev

    Being an entrepreneur, I am constantly deepening my personal development. Ryan Blair's book covered all the bases. Inspirational experience combined with season Entrepreneurial Experience. Highly recommend, get one for yourself and one for the school library!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    I have had the honor of meeting Ryan Blair in person twice now,

    I have had the honor of meeting Ryan Blair in person twice now, and hearing him speak multiple times. He tells little bits of his story when he speaks, but this book covers the whole deal. This guy is amazing. He is seriously the most inspiring person I've ever met or read about or heard speak in my entire life. He's not just a motivational speaker who is regurgitating the same old crap, but has never actually accomplished anything special. He truly HAS has several amazing business successes, and some heart-breaking failures, but he is completely transparent about his path to where he is today. You come away from this book wiser, with clearer vision and believing that ANYONE can have success if only they work hard. This man is going to be a name that people know generations from now.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Absolutely love this book...shows how anyone can change their li

    Absolutely love this book...shows how anyone can change their life around if you just put forth the effort... wish I had a dozen copies to give out to college kids I know from the inner city to show them what is possible and to help inspire them. :)  Highly recommend !

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    I am so impressed by this young man - to come from the bottom, h

    I am so impressed by this young man - to come from the bottom, having nothing to show, living in a shack in his sister's backyard to building a (now) BILLION dollar business - it's just incredible!!! I started the book on a Friday and was done on Sunday. I just couldn't put it down. Every enterpreneur should pick this one up.... anyone who wants to be successful in ANY area of life should pick this one up. Thank you, Ryan Blair, for sharing your incredible story and I look forward to following your success!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    This book is absolutely inspiring and very motivational. It is a

    This book is absolutely inspiring and very motivational. It is an easy read, even if you don't understand entrepreneurial language. Many of the principles outlined within the text can be applied to all situations, and ages. I have let my middle school students read the book and they find it encouraging! A definite win, therefore go ahead and buy this book. You will not regret it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    I loved the book.  It is a story that could be your own.  When b

    I loved the book.  It is a story that could be your own.  When bad things happen, you make the most out of them!  I gave this book to my son in hopes that he will see the potential that is in him!

    Thank you, Ryan for your honest and heartfelt story.  

    I love how you love your Mom!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    Great balance of personal and professional practical, relative t

    Great balance of personal and professional practical, relative text. Enjoyed the simplistic storyline of a tarnished past, an admirable present, and a limitless future, coupled with complex business strategies that can be understood by all audiences reading for many different purposes. This literature will appeal to the masses.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5