Customer Reviews for

Nothing's Sacred

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Lewis Black is hilarious as usual!

    Nothing's Sacred is one of Lewis Black's most hilarious books. His profiles of what he's been through daily throughout his everyday life and his family members will keep you laughing like crazy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Lewis is the man!

    Who doesn't love Lewis Black? Morons, that's who!

    If you can read, read this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    Nothing's Sacred

    Lewis Black's book Nothing's Sacred is a rough synopsis of how his life has turned out. By trade, Lewis Black is a comedian whom didn't bloom until very late in his life. He has done many stand-up specials on Comedy Central, HBO, and several other venues. He also has a recurring spot on the Daily Show with John Stuart in which he yells and complains about what irks him the most. In his book, he outlines a pivotal part of his life and how it has affected him. Most chapters are short and to the point, such as his topics on religion and his upbringings in the suburbs of Washington D.C. The more interesting chapters include his trials in high school in which he tried many mind-altering drugs, to his life in the 60's. One of the most interesting parts of the book is learning about his schooling and the few years that come after it. The book is a very good read and a nice touch on the life of the comedian Lewis Black. The pros of this book are it is very short and an easy book to just pick up and go where you left off last time. It has very direct information that doest stray from the main plot of his life. The cons are that it isn't as in-depth as I would have liked it to have been. Some of the chapters are very short and I would like to have seen them extended by Mr. Black. Over all a very nice book to read and I recommend it to anyone who loves to listen to Lewis Black.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2008

    If you listen to his stand up, then you've heard it all

    I love Lewis Black's stand up and this he is absolutely hilarious. There were a few places where I found myself laughing out loud, but there were more moments where I was really bored. Some of it was just way too serious, not the Lewis that I know and love from his stand-up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2008

    An Outstanding Read

    Over the past few years, I have become a huge fan of Lewis Black's work as a comedian and as an actor. This book did not dissapoint me, one who is most familiar in his works. I can't remember laughing so hard, or coming so close to tears from a book. His insight in everything from politics to the frightening college application process to his dog astounds the reader into a state of realization and joy that what he's saying makes absolute and complete sense. And that some how, that is the funniest thing in the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2007

    the quintessential boomer memoir

    I've laughed at Mr. Black's comedy specials on HBO, but nothing in those prepared me for his memoir. He certainly captures what it was like to grow up in the Baby Boom with great accuracy. Or at least his experiences seem to mirror my own, even though we grew up on opposite coasts. Good to know I wasn't the only confused person in America!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2005

    An amazing look into the life of a comedian

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and was almost literally unable to put it down. Although more than once he has rewritten his comedy routines, the books goes into much more than that. From very emotional, to very insightful, to (it's a book by Lewis Black, so obviously) very funny, this is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2005

    Very Disappointed

    I love Lewis Black--I think he is the funniest comedian around. My husband and I drove from Oklahoma City to Wichita just to see him live. However, this book is a huge let down for those who have seen his acts because they are basically a rehash of them. In the first 20 pages there were multiple places were the dialogue was word for word what he says in is act. I'm returning the book--sorry Lewis but this was really lame.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2005

    Just like his act

    I've been a Lewis Black fan for the last 10 years. His book, 'Nothing's Sacred,' is much like his act. I laughed out loud several times at his takes on the Old Testament, gay marriage, and Dan Quayle. Stories about his family, particularly his mother, are also hilarious and give perspective on Lewis. If you like Lew's stand-up, this is a must.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2