Customer Reviews for

The Noticer: Sometimes, All a Person Needs Is a Little Perspective

Average Rating 4
( 367 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(201)

4 Star

(91)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Noticer book review..."Perspective"

I was anxious to read this being the latest work of Andy Andrews, especially after having read most all of his previous books. Andy writes in a parable fashion which is both very easy and enjoyable to read as well. Also his writing is very principle based.
Often when o...
I was anxious to read this being the latest work of Andy Andrews, especially after having read most all of his previous books. Andy writes in a parable fashion which is both very easy and enjoyable to read as well. Also his writing is very principle based.
Often when one is personally involved in something, it is hard to see the pitfalls that can easily trip you up and make you to fall. At times such as those, we all need some perspective that we are overlooking, and consequently we need a fresh set of eyes to give us that perspective. Andy addresses this sense of perspective through the parable of a traveler named Jones, who notices things, shares with his new found friends what he has noticed and how by making some kind of change will improve their life.
The book begins with Andy sharing his personal story of hardship he experienced as a young man after his parents died and he found himself homeless and living under a bridge. It was at this time a mysterious old man happened on him, befriended Andy and gave him some perspective on how his life could change for the better. Like many others Andy it would seem was having a pity party and had not invited anyone to attend, although who would want to? It was through this new perspective and a generous loan from the old man of some biographies that Andy learned of how others who had gone through tough times were able to overcome and move on with life, and be the person who God intended them to be. Andy also learned that valleys provide times of learning and that experience is not the best teacher; however other peoples experience is the best teacher.
It seems that we all like to learn things the hard way, and experience problems that could easily be avoided, if only we were willing to be open about what we are going through and seek the counsel of someone who has already been there and done that.
Jones shared with Andy "The situation you find yourself in is fraught with difficulty, yes. It is also piled high with benefits." Difficulties are a fact of life and unfortunately often those difficulties are the consequences of our own making. Jones goes on to share a universal law that needs to be remembered, "Whatever you focus on increases."
True friendship is explained as a "True friend does not accept you as you are; they hold you to a higher standard." In life we all need to have friends that hold us accountable.
The story is shared of a time Jones was talking with a man named Walker who kept concentrating on the failure in his personal history and the wise counsel Jones gave Walker was "It is time to stop letting your history control your destiny." Wow, have you ever done that? I know I have and when I do that basically I am in the "Woe is me Syndrome". While each of us needs to consider our past, dwelling on the failures of one's past does nothing but drag you down, and give you a defeatist attitude. It seems that we after facing our past failures need to learn from them and go on from there not making the same mistakes again. That is a hard lesson of life but one that is best learned early in life.

Having a proper perspective is everything and through this work Andy inspires you to have a fresh perspective on life.
Very good book.

posted by Gary51 on June 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Take no notice

I was sent this book before it was even released in order to read it, review it, and help create buzz for it's release on Tuesday.

I started the book and have to admit to being intrigued by the concept. A wanderer named Jones (not Mr. Jones, just "Jones") who seems t...
I was sent this book before it was even released in order to read it, review it, and help create buzz for it's release on Tuesday.

I started the book and have to admit to being intrigued by the concept. A wanderer named Jones (not Mr. Jones, just "Jones") who seems to know a lot of people, and a lot about people, but they know nothing if not much about him. He seems to appear in times of crisis and bring context and insight and clarity into people's lives.

If you've never read a book before, you'll be wowed by this book. Unfortunately, for this devourer of books I found the dialogue to be quite cumbersome and unnatural. The situations quite unbelievable and disconnected.

What is such a shame is that there is a lot of fantastic wisdom, truth, and great insight about life contained inbetween the lines of the tale being spun.

This book reads like a third draft. It's just not quite finished and polished. And it makes me sad to have to give it a sub-par review because there's so much great content, it just gets lost in the overzealous elements the author attempted in telling the story.

posted by CheekyJS on April 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 370 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    Noticer book review..."Perspective"

    I was anxious to read this being the latest work of Andy Andrews, especially after having read most all of his previous books. Andy writes in a parable fashion which is both very easy and enjoyable to read as well. Also his writing is very principle based.
    Often when one is personally involved in something, it is hard to see the pitfalls that can easily trip you up and make you to fall. At times such as those, we all need some perspective that we are overlooking, and consequently we need a fresh set of eyes to give us that perspective. Andy addresses this sense of perspective through the parable of a traveler named Jones, who notices things, shares with his new found friends what he has noticed and how by making some kind of change will improve their life.
    The book begins with Andy sharing his personal story of hardship he experienced as a young man after his parents died and he found himself homeless and living under a bridge. It was at this time a mysterious old man happened on him, befriended Andy and gave him some perspective on how his life could change for the better. Like many others Andy it would seem was having a pity party and had not invited anyone to attend, although who would want to? It was through this new perspective and a generous loan from the old man of some biographies that Andy learned of how others who had gone through tough times were able to overcome and move on with life, and be the person who God intended them to be. Andy also learned that valleys provide times of learning and that experience is not the best teacher; however other peoples experience is the best teacher.
    It seems that we all like to learn things the hard way, and experience problems that could easily be avoided, if only we were willing to be open about what we are going through and seek the counsel of someone who has already been there and done that.
    Jones shared with Andy "The situation you find yourself in is fraught with difficulty, yes. It is also piled high with benefits." Difficulties are a fact of life and unfortunately often those difficulties are the consequences of our own making. Jones goes on to share a universal law that needs to be remembered, "Whatever you focus on increases."
    True friendship is explained as a "True friend does not accept you as you are; they hold you to a higher standard." In life we all need to have friends that hold us accountable.
    The story is shared of a time Jones was talking with a man named Walker who kept concentrating on the failure in his personal history and the wise counsel Jones gave Walker was "It is time to stop letting your history control your destiny." Wow, have you ever done that? I know I have and when I do that basically I am in the "Woe is me Syndrome". While each of us needs to consider our past, dwelling on the failures of one's past does nothing but drag you down, and give you a defeatist attitude. It seems that we after facing our past failures need to learn from them and go on from there not making the same mistakes again. That is a hard lesson of life but one that is best learned early in life.

    Having a proper perspective is everything and through this work Andy inspires you to have a fresh perspective on life.
    Very good book.

    17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2010

    One of the best books I've read!

    Notonly easy reading but it had such depth. It caused me to stop and give thought about life. Don't know when I've spent a more peaceful afternoon than one on the sofa with this book. I would recomend it to anyone high school age and above!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2010

    The Noticer by Andy Andrews

    The Noticer by Andy Andrews is a book about an individual named "Jones" who offers perspective to many different people going through many different circumstances in their lives. It is a fiction book, but they way that it is written seems like it is non-fiction. "Jones" offers advice to young, old and in-between, always seeming to be in the right place at the right time, giving the right advice.

    I thought that this book was one of the best books I have ever read. I found myself marking it up and pulling out all kinds of tidbits. Andy Andrews has definitely hit a home run here. Before I was even finished reading the book, I made a list of 15-20 people in my life who I would like to give a copy of this book. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who like self-help books and fiction books. A great read!



    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com (http://BookSneeze.com) book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 (http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisdx_03/16cfr255_03.html) "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising"

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    The Noticer, by Andy Andrews

    The Noticer is an allegorical lesson on the importance of having the right perspective. Andrews masterfully weaves an engaging tale of a man named Jones and the profound and positive impact he has on many lives. Readers will likely see themselves in at least one of the story's characters. People with various issues encounter Jones and gain more than just a new best friend; they gain a new perspective and practical wisdom, which when applied, makes their lives better. I found the book to be entertaining as well as life changing. It was an easy read; I enjoyed Jones's perspective on life and his infectious optimism. The one thing I disliked about the book is where Andrews included some personal information at the end of the first chapter, kind of a plug for one of his other books and his availability for speaking engagements. This side note broke the spell of the story. I found it to be very distracting and incongruous with the rest of the book. Aside from that, I believe the book is definitely worth reading.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    Take no notice

    I was sent this book before it was even released in order to read it, review it, and help create buzz for it's release on Tuesday.

    I started the book and have to admit to being intrigued by the concept. A wanderer named Jones (not Mr. Jones, just "Jones") who seems to know a lot of people, and a lot about people, but they know nothing if not much about him. He seems to appear in times of crisis and bring context and insight and clarity into people's lives.

    If you've never read a book before, you'll be wowed by this book. Unfortunately, for this devourer of books I found the dialogue to be quite cumbersome and unnatural. The situations quite unbelievable and disconnected.

    What is such a shame is that there is a lot of fantastic wisdom, truth, and great insight about life contained inbetween the lines of the tale being spun.

    This book reads like a third draft. It's just not quite finished and polished. And it makes me sad to have to give it a sub-par review because there's so much great content, it just gets lost in the overzealous elements the author attempted in telling the story.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    He just doesn't miss!

    Andy Andrews is so very creative in the tale that he tells. As a reader, there are times when one needs to stop reading and review the messages that Andy is sharing. What a delightful and memorable way to learn about life and how to live it!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    I noticed what all I have been missing

    The Noticer was one of those books that I just couldn't put down. I had to know what was going to happen next. It is a very motivating book and one that I bought and loaned to friends. I would highly recommend reading it now!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2009

    The Noticer

    The Noticer addressed issues such as poor perspective, off-centered perception, and unfair expectations. The author (Andy Andrews) did an excellent job of speaking to the need for proper focus and attitude without sounding preachy or judgmental. He carefully included an underlying call for wise decision making by detailing the results (or near results) of failure to do so. Mr. Andrews showed that divorce, dishonesty, heartache, and heartbreak often stem from poor decision making. The story is thoughtfully arranged and the characters are engaging. The main character (Jones) is especially endearing . is he an angel or a wise old man? I guess only eternity will tell. Jones advice to look at problems, challenges, and upsets in a broader view is at first glance a simple message. Deeper reflection reveals the simple message houses profound truths. The book caused me to think of ways to improve my outlook on life, ways to reach out to those around myself, and ways to be an overall better person. This small book really packs a big wallop.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I think I'll stick to non-fiction

    The Noticer by Andy Andrews has been on my Amazon wishlist for quite a while now, after reading several bloggers who loved it. So when I joined Booksneeze and saw that it was available, I jumped at the chance. (I received the book as a complimetary copy from the publisher - Thomas Nelson.) This became my bedtime book for a few nights.

    The story revolves around the mysterious character known as 'Jones' (or Garcia or Chen - depending on your ethnic origins), who notices things about people; offers them helpful advice about looking at things from a different perspective; and thereby fixing the things that are in their lives.
    I notice things about situations and people that produce perspective. That's what most folks lack - perspective - a broader view. So I give them that broader view... and it allows them to regroup, take a breath, and begin their lives again.
    Essentially, each chapter follows this pattern and, after a short time, I found this to be predictable to the point of irritation. The advice seemed to be twee, the universal engagement with a stranger dispensing often intrusive advice completely bizarre, and ultimately, this was not an enjoyable read.

    I don't like positive such a negative review, especially as my first one for Booksneeze, but honesty requires it.

    I should also acknowledge that I rarely read works of fiction. So, maybe, there is one piece of Jones' advice that I will follow.
    Other people's experience is the best teacher. By reading about the lives of great people, you can unlock the secrets to what made them great.

    I think that I'll stick with biographies at bedtime - at least for a while.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    I think we all stand to learn something from Jones.

    This book is a simple read that seemed almost too simplistic at times. At a time when I was craving some thick to-the-heart in depth reading, this book just didn't do it for me. However, when I picked it up later to finish it (because hey.I had to finish, right?), the simplicity really spoke to me.

    Jones enlightens other characters with some conventional wisdom that isn't always conventional when you're the one needing wisdom. You know.the advice that you can easily give a friend but aren't really able to see for your own situation.

    I like the simple storytelling that Jones uses to make the concepts seem easy to apply to actual life circumstances.

    I would definitely recommend this book as a great quick read or gift book. It would be wonderful for someone who is struggling and needs some insight without having to commit to reading love, wordy novel-like self-help books. Also this one would be great, in my opinion, for a good book to read while on a flight or as a passenger on a road trip. The short, concise chapters and the discussion section in the back could also make for a good choice for small group study. The ease of the read doesn't leave you feeling bogged down, yet you can walk away feeling as though you've gained something all the while. I think we all stand to learn something from Jones.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    Too simplistic. The Traveler's Gift was far superior. Disappointed

    This book was too corny. I stopped reading after the first 50 pages. Just not intelligent enough as the Traveler's Gift was. Really enjoyed that and have recommended that to many. This one- I wouldn't recommend.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Worthless

    The Noticer by Andy Andrews is sure to be a bestseller.

    At least, it's written in the self-assured, commercialized, slightly condescending tone of a book whose future has already been determined.

    The book follows Jones, an elderly man with strangely angelic or Messianic qualities, who appears at just the right moment in the lives of despairing, dilapidated individuals. Without his interference, certain destruction would have followed.

    The Noticer doesn't seem to be fiction, although it reads with the eerie quality of someone who has taken real events and made them out to be stranger than fiction.

    The book is brimming with advice on how to live a better life, save a failing marriage, choose a life partner, find life after parenting, etc.

    But this Jones character seems to be filling the role of Jesus. If unchurched people read this, and it becomes the bestseller that it seems to expect, I could easily see "What would Jones do?" become a cultural mantra.

    What this world -- this society -- needs is less time in the self-help section of a Christian bookstore or otherwise. Books like The Noticer offer nice advice that may bring about a positive change.

    But positive changes are pointless if they aren't rooted in the truth.

    It seems as if Thomas Nelson is now offering a Christ-like wisdom without any mention of the real source from which it comes.

    Sure there are allusions to Christianity in the book. But part of the conclusion reads, "In desperate times, much more than anything else, folks need perspective."

    Perspective is great. But a broad, beyond-yourself perspective that truly brings redemption comes from Jesus. At least, that's what Christians used to offer.

    Now -- if this latest offering by Thomas Nelson has anything to say about it -- you can get your truth, wisdom, and perspective from an ethnicity-swapping old man who offers good advice that's been pilfered from the Bible, with no mention of the Savior who made it possible. (And Gary Chapman, as some "insight" from an early chapter seems ridiculously similar to some of the five love languages.)

    Maybe it's simply my opinion. But a little perspective can do us all good, wouldn't you say?

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Enough is enough

    Repetitive and very preachy. Read more like a series of the authors anecdotes glean from his self help lecture tour. Ick

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    Highly , "HIGHLY" Reccomend to everyone!

    This book is a book everyone should read. I believe even teens should read this; in fact my 14 almost 15 year old son is reading it. I think it teaches us all how to realize that we truly do not need to read between the lines but simply take in the facts and "Notice". It makes me know that at any age we can learn. I have always wanted to be positive so that I may touch others and I believe I do, but this book touched my heart and I have now read it twice. Thank you Andy Andrews. Awesome! Take a bow!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Not Bad But, Not On My Top Books List

    Andrews "The Noticer" demonstrates the power of not just noticing things, but what those tiny things can mean in the grand scheme of life. Outside, on the surface, it's a gray, drizzly day. Some will see only the downside, the dreary day, it's just a matter of perception. Things are happening. From those flowers and seeds, just as our actions and mindset have an impact on our lives, comes life. Even when covered by gray skies, the hope of future growth and good times and places is there.

    I felt like this book was almost a collection of short stories, all sharing the same main character. Each chapter was the story of a mysterious man who helped a different person during a rough point in their lives. Although it was the same mysterious man, there were very few other overlapping characters throughout the book. One chapter toward the end was almost verbatium a chapter earlier in the book, at which point I found myself more skimming the story rather than reading because I had just read it yesterday!

    In all I give this book a 2 out of 5. If you are taking a vacation and need to kill time, this book will serve its purpose. Don't expect it to revolutionize the way you look at the world, because you will be greatly disappointed. I wouldn't recommend purchasing the book, but find a library and borrow it instead.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    A Must Read For All Who Can Read! Highly Recommended By Me.

    Amazing book! Suprisingly simple ways of living/viewing life and challenges we face. All too often we view our lives as complex...due to lack of perspective.

    If I could add more stars to this books overall rating I WOULD.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Good self help book

    Great story to read.....enjoyable. But, more importantly had value and a real message.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    A must read!

    ***** Highly Recommended. An eye opener. I love this book and should be read by everyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    The NOTICER by Andy Andrews is an encouraging and thought provoking fiction book about perspective. You don't want to miss this read!!

    The NOTICER by Andy Andrews centers upon the life of one man who has been given a special gift. The gift bestowed upon him is the ability to "notice" things that other people dismiss or overlook. He observes people in their circumstances and is able to give valuable insight as it relates to their specific struggles.

    The back drop for the book is Orange Beach, Alabama, where the author currently resides. The narration and character development are exceptional. Nearly every chapter reveals a timely interaction between the main character, "Jones" and his latest "haphazard" meetings with hurting individuals. The book is filled with fresh tangible wisdom and hope for new beginnings. The way the author flawlessly transitions from one person's life and their challenges, to the next is seamless.

    Consider yourself forewarned, however, I had a very difficult time putting this book down, so make sure to have a good chunk of time to feast on this great work, before you start reading it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!!!

    I LOVE ALL ANDY ANDREWS BOOKS, LECTURES, ETC. - HE IS FABULOUS -
    HIS BOOKS ARE LIFE CHANGING - I THINK "THE NOTICER" IS MY FAVORITE SO FAR -
    IT TOUCHES THE INNER CORE OF YOUR SOUL - YOU JUST WANT TO CHANGE AND HELP EVERYONE AROUND YOU - SO WE TRY - WE PASS ON HIS BOOKS TO ALL OUR FAMILY AND FRIENDS - GIVE THEM AS GIFTS TOO. WHAT A GREAT READ - I SUGGEST IT TO EVERYONE WE KNOW.
    CAN'T WAIT FOR HIS NEXT BOOK TO COME OUT - WILL DEFINITELY BUY IT - AND
    I AM SURE WILL LOVE IT.
    KEEP MAKING THOSE WONDERFUL READS ANDY!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 370 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19