BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Noticer: Sometimes, All a Person Needs Is a Little Perspective

Average Rating 4
( 373 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(205)

4 Star

(92)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Noticer book review..."Perspective"

I was anxious to read this being the latest work of Andy Andrews, especially after having read most all of his previous books. Andy writes in a parable fashion which is both very easy and enjoyable to read as well. Also his writing is very principle based.
Often when o...
I was anxious to read this being the latest work of Andy Andrews, especially after having read most all of his previous books. Andy writes in a parable fashion which is both very easy and enjoyable to read as well. Also his writing is very principle based.
Often when one is personally involved in something, it is hard to see the pitfalls that can easily trip you up and make you to fall. At times such as those, we all need some perspective that we are overlooking, and consequently we need a fresh set of eyes to give us that perspective. Andy addresses this sense of perspective through the parable of a traveler named Jones, who notices things, shares with his new found friends what he has noticed and how by making some kind of change will improve their life.
The book begins with Andy sharing his personal story of hardship he experienced as a young man after his parents died and he found himself homeless and living under a bridge. It was at this time a mysterious old man happened on him, befriended Andy and gave him some perspective on how his life could change for the better. Like many others Andy it would seem was having a pity party and had not invited anyone to attend, although who would want to? It was through this new perspective and a generous loan from the old man of some biographies that Andy learned of how others who had gone through tough times were able to overcome and move on with life, and be the person who God intended them to be. Andy also learned that valleys provide times of learning and that experience is not the best teacher; however other peoples experience is the best teacher.
It seems that we all like to learn things the hard way, and experience problems that could easily be avoided, if only we were willing to be open about what we are going through and seek the counsel of someone who has already been there and done that.
Jones shared with Andy "The situation you find yourself in is fraught with difficulty, yes. It is also piled high with benefits." Difficulties are a fact of life and unfortunately often those difficulties are the consequences of our own making. Jones goes on to share a universal law that needs to be remembered, "Whatever you focus on increases."
True friendship is explained as a "True friend does not accept you as you are; they hold you to a higher standard." In life we all need to have friends that hold us accountable.
The story is shared of a time Jones was talking with a man named Walker who kept concentrating on the failure in his personal history and the wise counsel Jones gave Walker was "It is time to stop letting your history control your destiny." Wow, have you ever done that? I know I have and when I do that basically I am in the "Woe is me Syndrome". While each of us needs to consider our past, dwelling on the failures of one's past does nothing but drag you down, and give you a defeatist attitude. It seems that we after facing our past failures need to learn from them and go on from there not making the same mistakes again. That is a hard lesson of life but one that is best learned early in life.

Having a proper perspective is everything and through this work Andy inspires you to have a fresh perspective on life.
Very good book.

posted by Gary51 on June 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Take no notice

I was sent this book before it was even released in order to read it, review it, and help create buzz for it's release on Tuesday.

I started the book and have to admit to being intrigued by the concept. A wanderer named Jones (not Mr. Jones, just "Jones") who seems t...
I was sent this book before it was even released in order to read it, review it, and help create buzz for it's release on Tuesday.

I started the book and have to admit to being intrigued by the concept. A wanderer named Jones (not Mr. Jones, just "Jones") who seems to know a lot of people, and a lot about people, but they know nothing if not much about him. He seems to appear in times of crisis and bring context and insight and clarity into people's lives.

If you've never read a book before, you'll be wowed by this book. Unfortunately, for this devourer of books I found the dialogue to be quite cumbersome and unnatural. The situations quite unbelievable and disconnected.

What is such a shame is that there is a lot of fantastic wisdom, truth, and great insight about life contained inbetween the lines of the tale being spun.

This book reads like a third draft. It's just not quite finished and polished. And it makes me sad to have to give it a sub-par review because there's so much great content, it just gets lost in the overzealous elements the author attempted in telling the story.

posted by CheekyJS on April 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    Noticer book review..."Perspective"

    I was anxious to read this being the latest work of Andy Andrews, especially after having read most all of his previous books. Andy writes in a parable fashion which is both very easy and enjoyable to read as well. Also his writing is very principle based.
    Often when one is personally involved in something, it is hard to see the pitfalls that can easily trip you up and make you to fall. At times such as those, we all need some perspective that we are overlooking, and consequently we need a fresh set of eyes to give us that perspective. Andy addresses this sense of perspective through the parable of a traveler named Jones, who notices things, shares with his new found friends what he has noticed and how by making some kind of change will improve their life.
    The book begins with Andy sharing his personal story of hardship he experienced as a young man after his parents died and he found himself homeless and living under a bridge. It was at this time a mysterious old man happened on him, befriended Andy and gave him some perspective on how his life could change for the better. Like many others Andy it would seem was having a pity party and had not invited anyone to attend, although who would want to? It was through this new perspective and a generous loan from the old man of some biographies that Andy learned of how others who had gone through tough times were able to overcome and move on with life, and be the person who God intended them to be. Andy also learned that valleys provide times of learning and that experience is not the best teacher; however other peoples experience is the best teacher.
    It seems that we all like to learn things the hard way, and experience problems that could easily be avoided, if only we were willing to be open about what we are going through and seek the counsel of someone who has already been there and done that.
    Jones shared with Andy "The situation you find yourself in is fraught with difficulty, yes. It is also piled high with benefits." Difficulties are a fact of life and unfortunately often those difficulties are the consequences of our own making. Jones goes on to share a universal law that needs to be remembered, "Whatever you focus on increases."
    True friendship is explained as a "True friend does not accept you as you are; they hold you to a higher standard." In life we all need to have friends that hold us accountable.
    The story is shared of a time Jones was talking with a man named Walker who kept concentrating on the failure in his personal history and the wise counsel Jones gave Walker was "It is time to stop letting your history control your destiny." Wow, have you ever done that? I know I have and when I do that basically I am in the "Woe is me Syndrome". While each of us needs to consider our past, dwelling on the failures of one's past does nothing but drag you down, and give you a defeatist attitude. It seems that we after facing our past failures need to learn from them and go on from there not making the same mistakes again. That is a hard lesson of life but one that is best learned early in life.

    Having a proper perspective is everything and through this work Andy inspires you to have a fresh perspective on life.
    Very good book.

    17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2010

    One of the best books I've read!

    Notonly easy reading but it had such depth. It caused me to stop and give thought about life. Don't know when I've spent a more peaceful afternoon than one on the sofa with this book. I would recomend it to anyone high school age and above!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2010

    The Noticer by Andy Andrews

    The Noticer by Andy Andrews is a book about an individual named "Jones" who offers perspective to many different people going through many different circumstances in their lives. It is a fiction book, but they way that it is written seems like it is non-fiction. "Jones" offers advice to young, old and in-between, always seeming to be in the right place at the right time, giving the right advice.

    I thought that this book was one of the best books I have ever read. I found myself marking it up and pulling out all kinds of tidbits. Andy Andrews has definitely hit a home run here. Before I was even finished reading the book, I made a list of 15-20 people in my life who I would like to give a copy of this book. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who like self-help books and fiction books. A great read!



    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com (http://BookSneeze.com) book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 (http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisdx_03/16cfr255_03.html) "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising"

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    He just doesn't miss!

    Andy Andrews is so very creative in the tale that he tells. As a reader, there are times when one needs to stop reading and review the messages that Andy is sharing. What a delightful and memorable way to learn about life and how to live it!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    I noticed what all I have been missing

    The Noticer was one of those books that I just couldn't put down. I had to know what was going to happen next. It is a very motivating book and one that I bought and loaned to friends. I would highly recommend reading it now!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2009

    The Noticer

    The Noticer addressed issues such as poor perspective, off-centered perception, and unfair expectations. The author (Andy Andrews) did an excellent job of speaking to the need for proper focus and attitude without sounding preachy or judgmental. He carefully included an underlying call for wise decision making by detailing the results (or near results) of failure to do so. Mr. Andrews showed that divorce, dishonesty, heartache, and heartbreak often stem from poor decision making. The story is thoughtfully arranged and the characters are engaging. The main character (Jones) is especially endearing . is he an angel or a wise old man? I guess only eternity will tell. Jones advice to look at problems, challenges, and upsets in a broader view is at first glance a simple message. Deeper reflection reveals the simple message houses profound truths. The book caused me to think of ways to improve my outlook on life, ways to reach out to those around myself, and ways to be an overall better person. This small book really packs a big wallop.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    Highly , "HIGHLY" Reccomend to everyone!

    This book is a book everyone should read. I believe even teens should read this; in fact my 14 almost 15 year old son is reading it. I think it teaches us all how to realize that we truly do not need to read between the lines but simply take in the facts and "Notice". It makes me know that at any age we can learn. I have always wanted to be positive so that I may touch others and I believe I do, but this book touched my heart and I have now read it twice. Thank you Andy Andrews. Awesome! Take a bow!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    A Must Read For All Who Can Read! Highly Recommended By Me.

    Amazing book! Suprisingly simple ways of living/viewing life and challenges we face. All too often we view our lives as complex...due to lack of perspective.

    If I could add more stars to this books overall rating I WOULD.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    A must read!

    ***** Highly Recommended. An eye opener. I love this book and should be read by everyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    The NOTICER by Andy Andrews is an encouraging and thought provoking fiction book about perspective. You don't want to miss this read!!

    The NOTICER by Andy Andrews centers upon the life of one man who has been given a special gift. The gift bestowed upon him is the ability to "notice" things that other people dismiss or overlook. He observes people in their circumstances and is able to give valuable insight as it relates to their specific struggles.

    The back drop for the book is Orange Beach, Alabama, where the author currently resides. The narration and character development are exceptional. Nearly every chapter reveals a timely interaction between the main character, "Jones" and his latest "haphazard" meetings with hurting individuals. The book is filled with fresh tangible wisdom and hope for new beginnings. The way the author flawlessly transitions from one person's life and their challenges, to the next is seamless.

    Consider yourself forewarned, however, I had a very difficult time putting this book down, so make sure to have a good chunk of time to feast on this great work, before you start reading it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!!!

    I LOVE ALL ANDY ANDREWS BOOKS, LECTURES, ETC. - HE IS FABULOUS -
    HIS BOOKS ARE LIFE CHANGING - I THINK "THE NOTICER" IS MY FAVORITE SO FAR -
    IT TOUCHES THE INNER CORE OF YOUR SOUL - YOU JUST WANT TO CHANGE AND HELP EVERYONE AROUND YOU - SO WE TRY - WE PASS ON HIS BOOKS TO ALL OUR FAMILY AND FRIENDS - GIVE THEM AS GIFTS TOO. WHAT A GREAT READ - I SUGGEST IT TO EVERYONE WE KNOW.
    CAN'T WAIT FOR HIS NEXT BOOK TO COME OUT - WILL DEFINITELY BUY IT - AND
    I AM SURE WILL LOVE IT.
    KEEP MAKING THOSE WONDERFUL READS ANDY!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    Wonderful Book

    An excellent book. Helped me to see life differently. Have recommended this book to many friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    Great book!

    Greatest writing style ever, very comforting book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Noticer by Andy Andrews

    This is one of those books that you won't be able to forget easily. Once I turned that final page I was still captivated by the story. I felt like I had stumbled upon some hidden wisdom.

    Andy Andrews uses the character of "Jones" to shed light on the issues that most people face one time or another in their lives. Divorce, getting old, taking shortcuts and redefining your life. "Jones," helped the people in the town get a better 'perspective'.

    I think the real lesson was that when things look their bleakest in life we need to take a breath and re-evaluate what's important and who we want to be and then do something about it. This book made me want to do something. To change some things in my life. It made me think. How many books can you say affected you that way?

    The writing was subtle and poignant. Andrews, didn't use a lot of flowery descriptions and big words. He just simply told a story in a way that many people will relate to.

    It was a wonderful book. This was my first experience with Andy Andrews' writing and now I want to go out and get, The Traveler's Gift.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Have you noticed someone who might need help? Andy Andrews has.

    Have you noticed someone who might need help? Andy Andrews has. He relates his encounter with a wise, mysterious man named Jones (or is it Garcia or Chen?) He was different to different people.
    Jones seemed to be at the right place at the right time, always carrying a suitcase full of what he needs to help each individual. Andy met him at the lowest time of his life. Jones (not Mr., just Jones) spent time with Andy. Through probing questions, discourse on life and books, he helped Andy change his perspective and find a way to change the direction of his life.
    As time passed, Andy saw Jones several times, sometimes to help him and sometimes to help others. The Noticer by Andy Andrews will make you think, frustrate you and possibly give you some answers to some of life’s questions.
    Persistence is the watchword in this thought-provoking novel. The author is persistent in his attempt to make the reader think; Jones is persistent in his effort to change people; the people Jones helps are persistent in their determination to find the best path to take in their life. The reader does not have to be persistent in reading this book as it flows naturally to the answers to life. I can’t imagine it not making a difference in your life – it did mine.

    As Jones said in a note to the people he helped, “I am not gone. I will be around. The best is yet to come.”


    Andy Andrews is a best-selling novelist and corporate speaker for the world’s largest organizations. He has spoken at the request of four different U.S. Presidents and at military bases worldwide. He lives in Orange Beach, Alabama with his wife Polly and their two sons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Attitude and Perspective

    So so true. What a great reminder and its great to know others share this idea. Thanlyoufor having the gift to put it into words .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    A Gift To All

    This book was such an amazing, eye opening story. I loved this book so much that I have recommeneded it to everyone I know and have been using it as my #1 gift idea for all my friends and family. My life has changed after reading this book and I immediately bought the next one after I found it was on the shelves. So good. Bravo Mr. Andrews :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    This book was enjoyable to read while offering a new way to look

    This book was enjoyable to read while offering a new way to look at your life, your words and actions, and those of others. A new perspective. I would recommend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Wow!

    It's just one of those books that changes you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Great Read...I Recommend it

    Easy book with lots of depth! Makes you think! Love the short stories! Great perspective to different situations. I have recommended to many people already.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11