BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Notorious

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Max is relentless and determined and she doesn¿t always follow t

Max is relentless and determined and she doesn’t always follow the rules. Her career as an investigative journalist gives her considerable latitude when it comes to investigating. She is able to use methods and procedures not necessarily available to law enforcement. ...
Max is relentless and determined and she doesn’t always follow the rules. Her career as an investigative journalist gives her considerable latitude when it comes to investigating. She is able to use methods and procedures not necessarily available to law enforcement. She makes friends in law enforcement, to aid her investigations. Though she is somewhat of a loner, she finds that you cannot always shake family. Her birth family plays an integral role in the narrative as she tries to sort out the reality of the present and solve the mystery of the past.

Brennan uses a deft hand to weave the past and present together as the story moves forward. She easily proves the old adage that the past and present and intrinsically tied together. The ultimate murderer proved a surprise when the culprit was finally revealed. Though the mystery is the heart of the story, Max is a driving force and her character shapes much of the action.

posted by blonde_betty on March 25, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Maxine ¿Max¿ Revere might have what one could call a strong pers

Maxine “Max” Revere might have what one could call a strong personality. She knows what she wants, and she’s not afraid to go after it, diving right into the swimming pool. Whether it’s men, or a friend, or a story, or a dead body, she’s not afraid to mess up her manicu...
Maxine “Max” Revere might have what one could call a strong personality. She knows what she wants, and she’s not afraid to go after it, diving right into the swimming pool. Whether it’s men, or a friend, or a story, or a dead body, she’s not afraid to mess up her manicure. Her strong will could bowl over even the hardest of hearts, and she has one devilish smile to even out the fair trade. And she knows how to dress for all occasions, even if it means she might get a little blood on her clothes.

She may have a weakness for cops, or one might call it an obsession, and she’s rather adept with a pair of handcuffs. While I appreciated her sticky situation, I had trouble with my focus at various points along the way. Max, while intriguing, managed to keep me at a distance throughout much of the story, even while her NOTORIOUS circumstances managed to hold me in suspense and despair.

The cold case concept intrigued me, and her beguiling smile deceived me, and her off-putting attitude caused her a whirlwind of trouble wherever she went, even if she kept her head in the game, and her eyes on the horizon. Making friends might not have been at the top of her list, but she commanded attention and a second glance wherever she managed to turn up next.

Other than Nick Santini, many of the males felt like caricatures, instead of full-bodied versions ready to spring off the page and into my living room. Had the men measured up to the women, it might have provided a bit more balance to the equation, and made it a bit easier to swallow for this particular reader. Not bad writing, or a bad story, mind you, but not a tale that showcases Allison Brennan at her story writing best.

I received this book for free through NetGalley.

Robert Downs
Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

posted by RobertDowns on April 23, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 25, 2014

    Max is relentless and determined and she doesn¿t always follow t

    Max is relentless and determined and she doesn’t always follow the rules. Her career as an investigative journalist gives her considerable latitude when it comes to investigating. She is able to use methods and procedures not necessarily available to law enforcement. She makes friends in law enforcement, to aid her investigations. Though she is somewhat of a loner, she finds that you cannot always shake family. Her birth family plays an integral role in the narrative as she tries to sort out the reality of the present and solve the mystery of the past.

    Brennan uses a deft hand to weave the past and present together as the story moves forward. She easily proves the old adage that the past and present and intrinsically tied together. The ultimate murderer proved a surprise when the culprit was finally revealed. Though the mystery is the heart of the story, Max is a driving force and her character shapes much of the action.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2014

    Maxine ¿Max¿ Revere might have what one could call a strong pers

    Maxine “Max” Revere might have what one could call a strong personality. She knows what she wants, and she’s not afraid to go after it, diving right into the swimming pool. Whether it’s men, or a friend, or a story, or a dead body, she’s not afraid to mess up her manicure. Her strong will could bowl over even the hardest of hearts, and she has one devilish smile to even out the fair trade. And she knows how to dress for all occasions, even if it means she might get a little blood on her clothes.

    She may have a weakness for cops, or one might call it an obsession, and she’s rather adept with a pair of handcuffs. While I appreciated her sticky situation, I had trouble with my focus at various points along the way. Max, while intriguing, managed to keep me at a distance throughout much of the story, even while her NOTORIOUS circumstances managed to hold me in suspense and despair.

    The cold case concept intrigued me, and her beguiling smile deceived me, and her off-putting attitude caused her a whirlwind of trouble wherever she went, even if she kept her head in the game, and her eyes on the horizon. Making friends might not have been at the top of her list, but she commanded attention and a second glance wherever she managed to turn up next.

    Other than Nick Santini, many of the males felt like caricatures, instead of full-bodied versions ready to spring off the page and into my living room. Had the men measured up to the women, it might have provided a bit more balance to the equation, and made it a bit easier to swallow for this particular reader. Not bad writing, or a bad story, mind you, but not a tale that showcases Allison Brennan at her story writing best.

    I received this book for free through NetGalley.

    Robert Downs
    Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    new series

    I really read most of Allison Brennan's works and find her characters appealing,the story plot usually interesting. I found this one no diff although I am on the fence with the main character,Max,and really all the other ones. They were just not a likable bunch! I'm hoping,in coming novels,Max softens alittle bit because she is just not someone I would like to hang with. The story itself with the old cold case and her friend's suicide were interesting and backstory was good but I'll reserve judgement on whether I commit to this one after the next one out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2014

    Hightly recommented you should check it out

    It was a great read, good story line and characters. I would definatly recommend to all my friens!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Brace Yourself for Max!

    Brace yourself for the forces of the past and present as they collide with the firestorm that is Max Revere! Notorious by Allison Brennan is one action and intrigue packed moment after another as we are introduced to one of the strongest, and smartest female heroines ever! Max returns home to attend the funeral of a man she once turned her back on when he needed her most. The world she left behind holds no warm memories. Older, wiser and more independent than ever, Maxine is now an investigative reporter who has tasted danger, exposed the underbelly of life and lived to tell about it.

    Max promises the sister of her late best friend she will look into his suicide death, because something just does not sit right, there is more to the story and she is determined to get to the bottom of it, no matter who or what tries to get in her way. Kevin was accused of murder, a crime he swears he did not commit and he was acquitted in the eyes of the law, but branded in his own town. Obsessed with finding the real killer, he spirals into drug and alcohol abuse, until he takes his own life, but not before leaving scattered breadcrumbs for Max to follow. What she discovers has far more impact and uncovers other unsolved crimes and the trail is leading too close to home for her comfort. Few of the local authorities will cooperate, most do all they can to thwart her investigation, but obviously they do not know Max. A fascinating and riveting mystery thriller with one heck of a heroine, Notorious is a twisted ride through the dark tunnels of secrets, danger and the brutal glare of truths revealed!

    Allison Brennan knows how to bring life to her characters and lead them down into the world she has created for them like the consummate puppeteer. Max is tough, but feminine, smart and edgy, yet vulnerable to her own mistakes and regrets. She has heart, a conscience and a grit that makes her larger-than-life! The supporting characters keep you guessing, who can she trust, who is hiding something, are they good, evil or just mean-spirited? With each changing page and emotional tension, Ms. Brennan’s style makes this smooth sailing at warp speed. Mystery lovers, here’s your next great read, Mystery newbies, here’s the perfect introduction to a contemporary who-dun-it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2014

    Fantastic new series. Maxine Revere is an engaging new heroine.

    Fantastic new series. Maxine Revere is an engaging new heroine.  This whodunit will keep you guessing until end.  Allison Brennan has another hit series on her hands!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    ¿A chilling, tangled and fierce juncture.¿ My rating: 4

    ¿A chilling, tangled and fierce juncture.¿








    My rating: 4 of 5 ¿¿




    Not excited about the prospect of facing her somewhat dysfunctional family, Maxine is on her way home at the request of the sister of her once best friend Kevin, to attend his funeral. Her family had never understood her dedication to take on unsolved murders, long cast aside by police, in order to give some closure to the families. Had made it her career as an investigative reporter and now host of a TV-crime show. They couldn't grasp the depth of her own feelings of impotence when not just one, but two good friends were lost to unsolved crimes many years ago.




    Kevin's death had been ruled a suicide, something his sister did not feel at peace with. And despite his unwavering claim of innocence for the murder of their murdered high school friend for which he was charged and later released, his life had been far from easy as a result and Max felt compelled to unearth the truth about that night, once and for all. But in doing so, she knew she would be stirring up the dust and her family for one, would not be grateful.




    When at the airport, an older couple recognizes her and convinces her to look into yet another murder at her old high school, but this one only six months ago, Max can't resist the call. Now pulled into two separate cold cases, she encounters detective Nick Santini, who initially is reluctantly willing to work together with Max, but has second thoughts when he discovers her rather 'reckless' methods of investigation. 




    Unencumbered by rules and regulations, Max manages to uncover a slew of leads that not only seem indicate some sort of connection between the crimes, but also manage to aggravate and attract Nick Santini. But when the investigation cuts a little too close to the truth, and Max becomes subject to threats and danger, Nick is determined not to have anything happen to her.




    *****




    Excellent thriller by Allison Brennan!!




    Very tight and clever plot, with small clues sprinkled through the story, only recognizable as such once the full scope is revealed. Intricate web of threads and connections, all serving to detract and distract from the main vein of the plotline. 




    An interesting and varied crew of characters, some of whom very surprising once completely revealed. 




    Maxine, our main protagonist comes fully supplied with background and a complete context, leaving no room for uncertainty when it comes to her character. The why, the when, the how, the what....it is all meted out and the result is an almost fearless, single-minded crusader and  kick-a$$ woman, who devotes her life to making sure the victims and their families are not forgotten. Her focus is such, that concern for her own well-being, her own social life, her own future, has become all but non-existent. 




    Max has a few people in her life, who look out for her, even if she doesn't look out for herself. Or perhaps, because she doesn't. One is her bodyguard, and the other the producer of her show. 
    In this book she also has Nick Santini, who plays an important role here, and certainly seems to be a love interest, but I am not sure if that will carry over into future books, since Nick has some baggage that is rather permanently tied to him.




    I devoured the book, beginning to end, loving the style of writing and the tight suspense and intrigue evident from the start. What I missed, other than a few mere glimpses, was the development of a personal connection. There was romantic tension, absolutely, but other than a stolen kiss in the midst of chaos, I'm pegging this book as a suspense thriller, not creating expectations for a fulfilling romance.  It is a thrilling read and I can't wait for the next one!




    ¿A chilling, tangled and fierce juncture.¿




    **Copy provided in return for an honest review.**

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2014

    Loved this book and could not put it down. I just realized afte

    Loved this book and could not put it down. I just realized after reading this book that there is a prequel to it called Maximum Exposure that was recommended to read first. Had I know that I would have purchased it first. Oh well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2014

    Allow me to admit I love Allison Brennan. Her Lucy Kincaid and f

    Allow me to admit I love Allison Brennan. Her Lucy Kincaid and family series is bone-sharp and each one a gritty thriller that exposes more of the tormented FBI agent Lucy, and her family. With Notorious, however, Brennan has left the Kincaids behind and introduces us to her new protagonist, Maxine Revere. Maxine's background has some trauma, too, as she was abandoned by her mother and left in the care of the wealthy Revere family. But that family has members dealing with their own darkness and matriarch Grandmother is a tough cookie. I loved the character of investigative true crime journalist, television show host, and author, Max. I loved the premise of a mysterious, decades old death of a young friend, and how it dovetails with a missing person and a new murder, and familiar sturm und drung. The details and clues were good, the darkness in Max's soul and how her world is populated with her macho, gay assistant, and the romantic complications of one man now in her past, and a new man on the horizon: a LE agent who's anxious to keep Max out of trouble, and into his bed. Lots of terrific points that kept me reading yet I didn't get the same gripping urgency from Notorious as I've enjoyed with the Kincaid and every other Brennan title. Perhaps it is the job of setting this new world and all new cast of characters that detracted a bit from the thrilling pacing, and why I have awarded 4, rather than the usual 5, stars for Ms. Brennan's latest. But rest assured, I will absolutely be waiting for the next Maxine Revere installment to get to know her, and the folks in her world, a bit better as they deal with the next nefarious situation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Allison Brennan is a prolific author and her books get taken ou

    Allison Brennan is a prolific author and her books get taken out quite often at the library. But Notorious, is the first book I've read by this best selling author.

    Notorious is the first book in the Max Revere series. Max is an investigative reporter with her own cold case television show. She'll head anywhere in the country to tackle those unsolved murders. One case she's never been able to solve is the death of her childhood friend Lindy. Max heads back to her hometown to attend a funeral. While at the airport she is approached by a couple who beg her to look into their son's death as well. Max agrees and also starts re-looking at Lindy's case as well.

    Brennan has come up with two good whodunits that had me interested. But here's the problem - I didn't like the investigator. At all. Brennan has written Max as a very tough, strong personality, which, on paper would seem to work for a reporter. But for this reader, it just didn't make the leap. I just found her obnoxious, pushy, rude and self absorbed with an 'anything you can do I can do better' chip on her shoulder. The annoying dialogue and sanctimonious attitude only increased as the book progressed and had me gritting my teeth by the end.

    The main plotting of Notorious was just fine and I did read to the end to see the final reveal. But I was glad to turn the final page on Max Revere. Established fans of Allison Brennan will most likely enjoy this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Na j (((((< Trffghvff-

    Qwedfacfxvcdftrtryyuyiyuyuyuyuyuyuyuiuyuyuyuy

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1