Customer Reviews for

A Novel Idea

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    Dissappointing

    I love a good romance and this book just did not have it! After 1 conversation at a party (which the reader is not a part of), Norah was in love!? All the reader mainly hears is Norah's saying "we talked, it was great, I'm in love". Seriously!??

    Then Norah tries to get the guy to like her by making him jealous. It wasn't even cute. Everything she did was just lie and decieve and make a big fool of herself. It was also annoying that her friends supported her ideas. I actually found myself hoping that she wouldn't get the guy!

    Normally, I can finish a good book in a day. This took me a week and the only reason I finished it is because I paid for it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2007

    What in the world ...

    The beginning was good, I was really getting into the story. But I don't get why Norah would take an idea right out of a book. And it was kind of cheesy how the guy of her dreams just happened to read romances and catch onto her plan. And when the two main characters finally got together, I was feeling like, 'What the heck ...' because it just happened out of nowhere. After all the good reviews I read about this book, I guess I was just a little disappointed. No, make that VERY disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2005

    Not such a Novel Idea

    Now I'm a sucker for a good romance novel, but this book was lacking something... romance! Norah and James didn't spen enough time together to fall in love, or even like for that matter. All we know is they share alot of interests, but just because you like the same book as someone doesn't mean they're your soul mate. The ending wasn't nearly romantic enough and when the two characters got together, I didn't feel like saying, 'You go girl, get your man!' It was just like, 'Um, okay.' This novel was sadly dissapointing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2014

    Meh

    This was not that bad of a book, but there really wasn't much romance to it. I also felt that the main character was pretty snobby and hipsterish. She didn't really seem like a genuine person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    wonderful

    I really enjoyed this humorous look at romance novels first kisses and high school and keeping secrets worth the read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Cutest fluff read ever

    Thus book is just too adorable omg its perfect fir that dose of cute oh love it really out there in that classic but not cliche way that nivels nowadays either have to much of or not enough the sweetest read that i Totally relate to {^•^}

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Amazing

    I love the book, couldn't put it down once i bought it. I loved how Norah referred to a book to get James. This is a good read for teens that love romance/comedy books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    All Time Favorite!

    I have read almost all of the Ro-Com series books and this is my favorite! I love it because it is a romantic comedy book about romance and books! This book isn't one of the predictable books with a plot used in most romances. It is very original and you will end up falling in love with the characters, too! I give it a 11/10 and recomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    By starting a book club, Norah hopes it'll help get into the college of her choice, that is, maybe it'll take some time after meeting the members and James.

    When Jane realizes that she has a crush on James, she decides to try to make him jealous with help from a romance book. Will it work or will it just create disaster? It seemed it went by quickly. These books are good, not that great but not bad. Perfect for reading either on a rainy day or in a day. Still, I recommend it if you like romantic comedy type books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2008

    Brilliant

    This book ia amazing its so funny and cute! I love how Norah tries so hard to get James!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2008

    So SMART... wish I could make a book group!

    Most definitely something every boyfriendless girl wishes she could do! A Nocel Idea was an outstanding read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2008

    The best!!!!

    This book is awsome 'cus it's hillarious and romantic. Norah is just the perfect character. I love this book so much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2007

    Page-Turner Much?!!!

    Fact: I¿m not that much into romance novels (okay so I¿ve read other Aimee Friedman¿s and been caught with the occasional Jane Austen), but I¿d be classified as a fantasy lover. Fact: I cannot stand cheesy girl-goes-to-all-lengths-to-get-the-guy novels. Yuck. Fact: I am not that interested in realistic fiction novels. Fact: A Novel Idea has all of these. Fact: It was all my parents could do to make me stop reading this book and come to dinner. I was hooked! From the first sentence (¿I¿m not a hopeless romantic.¿) To the last sentence (¿Because boys are boys, and books are books, and, in the end, it¿s best to have a little bit of both.¿) I could not put the book down. This book is all about 15-year-old Norah who starts a book club for an extracurricular so she can get into college. Little does she know that the book club will hold the secrets to love, war, jealousy, boys, and a whole lot of books. When a strange boy that shares Norah¿s love for literature joins the book club, Norah finds herself hopelessly falling for him. At her best friend¿s urging (¿Or tell him you like him. Anything! Be proactive, baby.¿ Page 92) Norah comes up with a scheme to get the guy- an exact replica of the plan the heroine in Norah¿s favorite romance novel, To Catch a Duke, uses to get her guy. It involves making her seem like the most wanted girl in town. But will it work? I loved the ending and how she follows her dreams and I would totally recommend it to any one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2007

    Novel!

    Norah is just not my kind of person, I'm nothing like her, and frankly, I don't like people like her, who ar so shy that it controls their life. The storyline was good but, the main character just made me not enjoy the book very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2007

    A reviewer

    this book was outstanding, i couldnt put the book down, i loved the action and how she followed her dreams, it was amazing. if u havnt read this UR MISSING OUT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2007

    Cheesy but heartwarming

    'I'm not a hopeless romantic' as said in the book but this book, although can be cheesy at some points, is another romantic comedy that keeps the page turning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2007

    pretty juice-ay

    good books, easy read. not that difficult but interesting. love the end. soo cute! good break. have to admit, couldn't put it down. mmm... enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2007

    very good book

    this was an outstanding book the best ive ever read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2006

    REALLY GOOD!

    I really like this book cause there's love triangles, puzzles, humor, and a cheesy happily ever after everything a romantic comedy needs. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2006

    A Great book for teens

    I thought this book was outstanding because it was realistic and understandable.It was excellent. it was wonderful I've read it 4 times. The book has great characters and a great love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3