Customer Reviews for

The Novice (Black Magician Trilogy #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 114 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Another solid book

I read this book immediately after finishing the first in the series, The Magacian's Guild. Canavan again delivers a good, solid story. This one is less character driven that the first, but the plotline takes some nice unexpected twists and ends leaving me ready to purc...
I read this book immediately after finishing the first in the series, The Magacian's Guild. Canavan again delivers a good, solid story. This one is less character driven that the first, but the plotline takes some nice unexpected twists and ends leaving me ready to purchase the last book of the trilogy. I look forward to seeing how this author will develop in future books.

posted by capriccio on March 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Solid fantasy

Good solid read, suitable for YA and adult. I had an unusually strong connection with the characters, which shows really good writing and excellent handling of homosexual issues.

posted by CaliforniaNookLover on October 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    Must read

    This story follows a young poor girl Sonea on her path towards enlightenment if you will. Going from lowly peasent status and rising against all wishes and odds through the once privelaged to noble class only rankings of the magicians academy. I can't give you a better review that what the book synopsis itself is because if that doesn't sell you along with the excellent track record of the Author I don't know what will. 5 star story all together a must read book series along with its sister books of the trilogy and also The Magicians Apprentice and The new ambassadors Mission trilogy that is in production now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2013

    Excellent Reading

    This book kept my interest all the way through, and made me want to continue to the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Awesome series!

    I like to read books that are series. The first book has you hooked right away. The second book is just as good. I have started the third book and it also is hard to put down. Great books, if you want to relax and read a series of books that are hard to put down, then this series are for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2005

    truely great

    I have read the first two books and I thought the were great.If your are an adult harry potter fan you will want this series. I will be getting the third book and cant wait to see what happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2004

    Magic, Mayhem, and Murder, oh My!

    If you're looking for a book similar to Harry Potter but with a more adult flair, this is it. I can't tell you when I've enjoyed a new series more than this one. She makes you laugh, cry, and shiver deliciously and her magicians are excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2004

    Caution: be prepared for a late night...

    If you love a rare fantastic book The Novice is a perfect find. The title gives a litte inside IF ones read the 1st book to The Black Magician Trilogy. The story line is gripping while the characters show the deliciously brilliant mind of the renound author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2004

    This is Great!

    This book is superbly well written. I haven't read anything this good in a long time. I'll be waiting on pins and needles until the third book comes out. I'm hooked for life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2004

    GREAT!!!

    The second installment of the Black Magician Trilogy was wonderful, just like the first! I can't wait for the third to be released!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2004

    As Good as the first one...

    This book was as entertaining if not more enjoyable than the first one. It is thrilling and full of adventure around every turn. I can't wait till book 3 comes out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2004

    Spell bound

    I was drawn back to time after time. An excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2004

    VERY GOOD!!!!!11!!!!!11one!!!!!

    One of the best books i have seen in a while, If you haven't read the books for this series I would recomend them to you with very high enthusasim

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2004

    AWESOME!

    An awesome book. I couldn't put it down. Can't wait until the third book comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4