Customer Reviews for

Now, Discover Your Strengths

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A point well taken, but...

The idea of the book is to help you find your talents, build your strengths, which will in turn, improve your performance.

Building your strengths is indeed somthing that is often overlooked, as most of the time we seek to improve our weaknesses- that's a poin...
The idea of the book is to help you find your talents, build your strengths, which will in turn, improve your performance.

Building your strengths is indeed somthing that is often overlooked, as most of the time we seek to improve our weaknesses- that's a point well taken- and a good reason to buy the book. However two more things also need to be mentioned. First, why can't we work on building both our strengths AND our weaknesses? In other words, why do we have to necessarily pick just one? I feel that many weaknesses can be improved upon.

Secondly, discovering your talents and doing what you're good at may not necessarily improve your performance. Why? Because there are lots of things we're good at, but still hate to do nonetheless. For instance, I'm really good at cleaning houses and debating, but I don't like to really do either one. People really perform well when its something that they know how to do AND when there's something meaningful/important in it for them. Anyway, just some food for thought. Readers may also be interested in The Sixty-Second Motivator.

posted by 240337 on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good premise but little substance

The premise of the book is refreshing & rings true. However, after the 2nd read I realized that there is very little guidance given once you "discover your strengths." The treatment and description of the 34 possible themes is somewhat shallow. How do we apply these? Un...
The premise of the book is refreshing & rings true. However, after the 2nd read I realized that there is very little guidance given once you "discover your strengths." The treatment and description of the 34 possible themes is somewhat shallow. How do we apply these? Unfortunately that question is not adequately addressed. The book is of little use as a management tool unless you have your entire staff take the survey - which can only be accomplished by purchasing the book for each person. I find it disappointing that I was only allowed to take the survey once, & then only shown the top 5 themes. Am I to take these 5 themes on blind faith, without validating the results again in 6 months or a year? I find that somewhat disturbing, particlularly since the survey lacks any convincing documentation of its validity. I am forced to conclude that the book is primarily a marketing scam. Do we really need a survey to discover our talents? If I had it to do over again, I would buy the premise, but not the book!

posted by Anonymous on September 9, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2006

    Better than most 'Score Your Aptitude' books

    This book is in the same vein as many of the 'score your aptitude' line of career self-help. Most of what you will find out about your strengths you probably already know. What This book does that most others don't is to provide more concrete help in identifying the ATTRIBUTES of the roles and jobs that will fit to your strengths, instead of suggesting particular jobs or careers. In fact some of the annecdotal examples in the book demonstrate how the same Strength can be leveraged in divergent careers and roles. By far the most valuable part of this book for me was the section on 'how to build a Strengths Based Organization'. In it, each of the 'strengths' is enumerated, and a recommendation is given on how to best engage, motivate and manage someone with that strength. The value in this was to provide a language with which to communicate to MY manager what I would like to get from my job and my company. Essentially by reversing the 'how to build' section, you can more easily arrive at a common language of what value you bring to your manager, and how s/he can keep you interested, engaged and committed to your tasks even if the overall job you are in isn't the perfect fit for your strengths.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2001

    Know thyself...

    The book launches on an ambitious effort to counter the modern mindset of immersing ourselves with seminars and books to learn skills that we don't naturally possess. Buckingham and Clifton's premise is that you have developed-skills and learned abilities which may allow you to execute basic functions with focused effort and subsequent energy drain. However, they propose your strengths and energies are best served by capitalizing on your talents... the recurring pattern of thought, feeling or behavior that can be productively applied (e.g. inquisitive, competitive, harmony, connectedness, etc...). They espouse that talents are those things you can see yourself doing repeatedly, happily and successfully. To allow the reader to effectively find their talents, the authors introduce a new 'dictionary' of terminology that takes the time to explain and illustrate each talent thoroughly. The book goes into physiological, psychological and emotional detail to help you drill down and analyze yourself at a new level to assess what you are really passionate about. Even if you already know the answer to these questions, it's a good exercise to reawaken your spirit and revitalize your ambition.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Insightful and thought provoking.

    In a world of "me too" self help books this one dares to say work on what works and don't worry so much about what does not work. This process requires an honest assessment of ones strengths as the results can be easily manipulated to pander to one's preconceived notions of self.

    It requires computer access and constant cross-checking one's results. I highly recommend this book for those looking to really hone in on strengths and wanting to make them stronger. This is not for those wanting to fix weaknesses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    I didn't realize all the different strengths that I had till I read this book. By getting in touch with my strengths and who I am the impact on my professional life has been a great one. I would reccomend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    Then this is the book for you! It illustrates which unique strengths you possess and provides suggestions for putting them to use. Only falls short in not revealing the stable elements of personality that don't change in life (because strengths can fluctuate, whereas personality does not).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2007

    Practical and simple

    I appreciate the idea of focusing on your strengths rather than weaknesses. It's good practical advice on what an individual can do with the hand they've been dealt, rather than sweating over things you can't change. The only thing I would have liked to learn a little more about is why these 'strengths' or 'talents' are so stable and can't be changed much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2007

    Nice...

    This is a nice book. It helped me realize my full potential in business and in life. A must read along with 'The Takeover: Everything You Need To Know About Business'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2006

    HIDDEN STRENGTHS

    We all have five senses and our brain processes all of it into part of one cohesive consciousness. Yet the majority of these senses' signals are limited by our own brain. Though you have the ability to do something, your brain's programming will say, 'no I can't' because of fear or what you've experienced in the past (like not wanting to date after a divorce). This book highlights the hidden strengths in all of us. This is a must read for someone that needs encouragement. I also suggest another 'hidden gem' but this one relates to investing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2006

    A point well taken, but...

    The idea of the book is to help you find your talents, build your strengths, which will in turn, improve your performance. Building your strengths is indeed somthing that is often overlooked, as most of the time we seek to improve our weaknesses- that's a point well taken- and a good reason to buy the book. However two more things also need to be mentioned. First, why can't we work on building both our strengths AND our weaknesses? In other words, why do we have to necessarily pick just one? Secondly, discovering your talents and doing what you're good at may not necessarily improve your performance or your motivation. Why? Because there are lots of things we're good at, but still hate to do nonetheless. For instance I'm really good at cleaning houses and debating, but I don't like to really do either one. People only get motivated to something when they know how to do a job AND there's something meaningful in it for them- that's how you motivate people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2005

    Learn to Refocus on innate strengths

    I picked up the book to with a healthy dose of skepticism and find that some of the concepts presented are not new at all. However, I must admit that reading this book has definitely help me refocus my efforts on what I do best - my innate strengths. This is one book that will be with me for a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2004

    Keeps you questioning. Makes you stronger.

    You'll ask yourself what strengths you think you have and wonder what weakness others may perceive you have. I enjoy books which make you question yourself, motives, beliefs and morals. This book does that, well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2002

    The Book For The Five Star Manager

    I really enjoyed the book. After reading the book I reexamine myself. Once you get pass the begining of the book. The topics was to the point, which I loved. It showed great role play, and gave great example. It is a great tool for people in all walks of life not just in management and business. You can also apply it to everyday life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2002

    Strength Management!

    I had a good time reading how I could manage my strengths, not just mine, but in an organizational point of view. How are you interacting, and how the organization, which you are connected with, is interacting? Well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2