Customer Reviews for

Now Face to Face

Average Rating 4
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Excellent sequelent - full of details

This book was a wonderful sequel to the first one: Through a Glass Darkly. It picks up right where the other story left off and tells the tale of Barbara Devane in Virginia and then later back in London. Rich in detail, sometimes so much so it was hard to follow, it d...
This book was a wonderful sequel to the first one: Through a Glass Darkly. It picks up right where the other story left off and tells the tale of Barbara Devane in Virginia and then later back in London. Rich in detail, sometimes so much so it was hard to follow, it depicts the feeling of the period well.

posted by Anonymous on January 17, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Pales in comparison to Through a Glass Darkly

Now Face to Face is the sequel to Through a Glass Darkly. After having read TAGD and falling in love with Barbara and her family I was eager to continue reading about her adventures, hoping she would find love and peace. I was bitterly disappointed. It was almost as ...
Now Face to Face is the sequel to Through a Glass Darkly. After having read TAGD and falling in love with Barbara and her family I was eager to continue reading about her adventures, hoping she would find love and peace. I was bitterly disappointed. It was almost as if someone else had written Now Face to Face. The writing style was different and lacking in content as well as movement. I got bogged down in the mundane details of her time in Virginia and then the politics back in England. I researched the two books and found that Now Face to Face was written ten years after TAGD, which could explain the completely different feel of the two stories. I cannot say enough good about TAGD but Now Face to Face left me disappointed.

posted by EVKendall on February 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2002

    A Wonderful Read!

    This book, and also her first novel, 'Through A Glass Darkly' are two of the best period novels I've ever read. I concur with other reviewers, PLEASE PLEASE Ms Koen take us back to the story in a new book! Hurry! We've been waiting 5 years!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Keep reading

    I have loved these books for at least 8 years. I re-read them over and over. I love the comfort of the Duchesses character! I have reaserched and read and have truley found these books to be fulfilling and true to historical references!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2000

    History, politics and romance all in one.

    Now Face to Face is a brilliant follow up to Karleen Koen's first novel Through A Glass Darkly. I simply could not stop reading it. The book draws you into the life and times, trials and triumphs of the main character Barbara Devane. PLEASE PLEASE write another so we can see what happens next.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Heartbreakingly beautiful.

    *

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Loved it!

    Could not put it down! This series is great!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the Best

    This series is one of the best I have ever read. A wonderful follow to Through a Glass Darkly, this novel is a gem. I now compare every book I read to these. I would LOVE a continuation to this story. The way Koen writes is very original and I love almost the sing-songly nature of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2008

    AWESOME

    I absolutely loved this book. I spent all this month reading what I could in what little spare time I had. It was soooo hard to put down! I would suggest this book to anyone I know, and I've already got my mom reading the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2007

    These Are The BEST One's She's EVER Written!!!

    If You Like Historical Romance Set in Back in Olde Towne London, You Will LOVE THIS SET! 1)Dark Angels, 2) Through A Glass Darkly, 3) Now Face to Face. I Know Once You Start, You'll Not Be Able To Put Them Down...ENJOY:) All My Best ~ Just Julie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Good read, but it felt unfinished. I am hoping there will be another

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Another excellent read by Karleen Koen

    I enjoy her development of characters as well as her historic content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Beautiful betrayal of human emotion

    I loved the way the author walked through Barbaras loss. Descibing emotion in color! Beautifully written. I was disappionted about the end, hoping for more about Barbara from Koen!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    I Loved It

    It seems many are disappointed in this book so I was hesitant to buy it. I'm so glad I did. If you fell in love with Barbara, Jane, the Duchess, and especially Aunt Shrew - you'll enjoy this. I will say some of the more political aspects could be a bit tedious and a bit confusing with the various characters, but as you read, it all ties in to what happens with all your favorites. I laughed and cried, and I'm hoping there is a third, but if not, I'm satisfied.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    Loved it!

    Loved it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Loved it!

    Barabra is a wonderfully cheeky character set in the late 18th century. I thoroughly enjoyed this historical fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Fantastic Read

    Couldn't put it down. Well researched. Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Very very wonderful

    The only problem is that there isnt another book ready to read after this one. So many lives left open to write about. I do hope that you will continue on with Barbaras story. Thank you for writing this wonderful story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2