Customer Reviews for

Now & Then

Average Rating 3.5
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Now and Then

Now and Then is a great moderately paced book created by John Locke. How many times have you gone on vacation and everything went perfect? Never! Lucky for Creed he's a former CIA and knows how to react when things go wrong. Locke fed me a stellar novel loaded with susp...
Now and Then is a great moderately paced book created by John Locke. How many times have you gone on vacation and everything went perfect? Never! Lucky for Creed he's a former CIA and knows how to react when things go wrong. Locke fed me a stellar novel loaded with suspense. Reading the Donovan Creed series will surely make you a fan of Locke's amazing imagination.

posted by MrCHeadley on February 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Little Disappointing

I don't think I can say that this is Locke's best work. As I read on, the story felt more and more trite and forced, events didn't unfold the way they have before for Donovan Creed and his flavor-of-the-week lady friend, and each page I turned took more and more effort ...
I don't think I can say that this is Locke's best work. As I read on, the story felt more and more trite and forced, events didn't unfold the way they have before for Donovan Creed and his flavor-of-the-week lady friend, and each page I turned took more and more effort on my part a a reader. I wasn't grabbed. I wasn't surprised. And, admittedly, I even caught myself raising an eyebrow more than once. A gaggle of superstitious townsfolk, a would-be killer brought down by ants, and still more woman issues? My reaction to finishing this read was one word: "Next."

posted by jStarr7 on February 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    Now and Then

    Now and Then is a great moderately paced book created by John Locke. How many times have you gone on vacation and everything went perfect? Never! Lucky for Creed he's a former CIA and knows how to react when things go wrong. Locke fed me a stellar novel loaded with suspense. Reading the Donovan Creed series will surely make you a fan of Locke's amazing imagination.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    Sexy and violent!!

    In Now and Then Locke recaptured what was in the first two novels of this series. I might have truly enjoyed this because I am a born and raised Floridian but Locke has a straight-forward way of writing a thriller that is action packed and fun to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    A different kind of Donovan Creed book this time.

    This Donovan Creed book is very different than the others. This one has a mystery surrounding the plot and it puts a different spin on things. Creed heads down to St. Albans, FL with his gorgeous girlfriend, Rachel, who is also a little bit off her rocker. Makes for an interesting vacation for everyone! They end up in a bed and breakfast and in the middle of the town's mystery of a missing woman from the area. Laught-out-loud moments involving the poor schlup who tries to kill Creed (again and again and again) and blunders every attempt in a crazy, slap-stick kind of way. The book is divided into 2 parts, Now and, of course, Then (get it?) The then part involves a great story line about St. Albans and pirates and is the only pirate story I have ever enjoyed. Not the usual Creed storyline, but still the usual originl book that is hard to put down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    Wildness and Fun

    In Now and Then, John Locke fantastically portrayed various aspects on the word "adventure". It seems as in every single Donavan Creed novel, Locke takes Donavan through the most extreme situations, which is definitely the reason why I enjoying his books. Specifically, there was plenty of intense occurrences. In this round of events, Locke place Donovan on vacation with his girlfriend. However, everything horrible that is understand transpires, which leads to Mr. Former CIA to come to the rescue. I enjoyed the multiple details of describing each scene. I definitely can relate to being on vacation and everything goes wrong. This is a must read thriller!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    Great Mystery Book

    This novel is outragously entertaining. I found the storyline in this book to be lighter than that of the previous three books in the Donovan Creed Series. The blending of the past and present added a nice touch to the plot without straying the reader off course by complicated timelines. It's one mistery after another, a must read if you enjoy being able to put clues together yourself and solving mysteries.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    A Little Disappointing

    I don't think I can say that this is Locke's best work. As I read on, the story felt more and more trite and forced, events didn't unfold the way they have before for Donovan Creed and his flavor-of-the-week lady friend, and each page I turned took more and more effort on my part a a reader. I wasn't grabbed. I wasn't surprised. And, admittedly, I even caught myself raising an eyebrow more than once. A gaggle of superstitious townsfolk, a would-be killer brought down by ants, and still more woman issues? My reaction to finishing this read was one word: "Next."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Decent Storyline, but not Locke's best

    This was a short but entertaining read. The story was in two parts, the first being based on current day adventures of Donovan Creed and the second on 17 century pirates off the coast of Florida. While entertaining this did not live up the high paced, action packed prior Creed stories. The modern day Creed story was the typical crisp writing with several plot twists and turns. However the 2nd part was more story telling of the life and times of pirates and how the Fla town came under some type of curse. Both plots let the reader hanging with no real closure. In summary an entertaining read but left much to be desired from plot development and ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    This book was just weird. Entertaining but weird and, in the end

    This book was just weird. Entertaining but weird and, in the end, pointless. I was left disappointed and bewildered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    another great Jonathan Creed novel.

    This is another great great Jonathan Creed novel. I would recommend reading the Creed novels in order, since each one builds on the last one. This novel has to do with ancient pirates and possible ghosts from them influencing a small town in Florida. I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Ok not great

    The first half of the book was good but it just seemed to fall off and then the past story seemed to take off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Next

    Different but good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    ?.?.?

    This book did not make much sense. Pity it could have been his best. Instead he chose to write two novels in one. He failed to then connect them in the end. Not his finest work by a long shot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Troy

    I will babe

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Tame

    I will i promise ok? Ill be here in like three hours meet me then ok?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    OK book. I liked the change of the present with the past, but I

    OK book. I liked the change of the present with the past, but I paid for a 300+ page of a Donovan Creed book, but got 150 pages of something else. Please get back to the original format. I guess it is time to try the $0.99 westerns. I give up on this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Love this series

    Recommend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Different, but that's what keeps me coming back to Locke

    I found this to be one of the funnier of the novels, what with an accident prone murderer and psychotic sqirrels involved, but agree with others I prefer Creed the assassin to Kevin the chef/handyman. The second half of the book was like a seperate novel, unusual and interesting. Locke can clearly write in many voices and is a master storyteller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    A feel good novel (Pun intended)

    Two books for the price of one. A funny Donovan Creed novel and a pirate novel. The pirate novel was fun and interresting but I prefer the Creed story and the unlucky kid who reminded me of the coyote in the Road runner cartoons.

    I would have liked to go back to Creed at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Funniest and best plotted book in the series

    As a voracious reader, finding a new author (to me) is better than Christmas gifts! Finding one that is laugh out loud funny, well plotted, and exciting is even better! Without spoiling the plot, let me just say that there is one poor character in this book that now leads my list of "so very glad that I am not him" characters!

    One of the many things that I love about Author Locke's books within this series is that to me they paint pictures in my mind that remind me of an action adventure movie - the action, dialogue, adventure just keep going.

    Also, over the course of the series, you can see the primary character grow and develop a multi-faceted personality. He is someone I'd love to meet - and have as a friend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Twists

    Left me confused and uninterested towards the end. Thankfully this is my 4th Ceeed novel so my faith in the series is well supplemented.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4