Customer Reviews for

Now & Then

Average Rating 3.5
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Now and Then

Now and Then is a great moderately paced book created by John Locke. How many times have you gone on vacation and everything went perfect? Never! Lucky for Creed he's a former CIA and knows how to react when things go wrong. Locke fed me a stellar novel loaded with susp...
Now and Then is a great moderately paced book created by John Locke. How many times have you gone on vacation and everything went perfect? Never! Lucky for Creed he's a former CIA and knows how to react when things go wrong. Locke fed me a stellar novel loaded with suspense. Reading the Donovan Creed series will surely make you a fan of Locke's amazing imagination.

posted by MrCHeadley on February 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Little Disappointing

I don't think I can say that this is Locke's best work. As I read on, the story felt more and more trite and forced, events didn't unfold the way they have before for Donovan Creed and his flavor-of-the-week lady friend, and each page I turned took more and more effort ...
I don't think I can say that this is Locke's best work. As I read on, the story felt more and more trite and forced, events didn't unfold the way they have before for Donovan Creed and his flavor-of-the-week lady friend, and each page I turned took more and more effort on my part a a reader. I wasn't grabbed. I wasn't surprised. And, admittedly, I even caught myself raising an eyebrow more than once. A gaggle of superstitious townsfolk, a would-be killer brought down by ants, and still more woman issues? My reaction to finishing this read was one word: "Next."

posted by jStarr7 on February 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    Now and Then

    Now and Then is a great moderately paced book created by John Locke. How many times have you gone on vacation and everything went perfect? Never! Lucky for Creed he's a former CIA and knows how to react when things go wrong. Locke fed me a stellar novel loaded with suspense. Reading the Donovan Creed series will surely make you a fan of Locke's amazing imagination.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    Sexy and violent!!

    In Now and Then Locke recaptured what was in the first two novels of this series. I might have truly enjoyed this because I am a born and raised Floridian but Locke has a straight-forward way of writing a thriller that is action packed and fun to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    Wildness and Fun

    In Now and Then, John Locke fantastically portrayed various aspects on the word "adventure". It seems as in every single Donavan Creed novel, Locke takes Donavan through the most extreme situations, which is definitely the reason why I enjoying his books. Specifically, there was plenty of intense occurrences. In this round of events, Locke place Donovan on vacation with his girlfriend. However, everything horrible that is understand transpires, which leads to Mr. Former CIA to come to the rescue. I enjoyed the multiple details of describing each scene. I definitely can relate to being on vacation and everything goes wrong. This is a must read thriller!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    Great Mystery Book

    This novel is outragously entertaining. I found the storyline in this book to be lighter than that of the previous three books in the Donovan Creed Series. The blending of the past and present added a nice touch to the plot without straying the reader off course by complicated timelines. It's one mistery after another, a must read if you enjoy being able to put clues together yourself and solving mysteries.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    another great Jonathan Creed novel.

    This is another great great Jonathan Creed novel. I would recommend reading the Creed novels in order, since each one builds on the last one. This novel has to do with ancient pirates and possible ghosts from them influencing a small town in Florida. I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Troy

    I will babe

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Tame

    I will i promise ok? Ill be here in like three hours meet me then ok?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Funniest and best plotted book in the series

    As a voracious reader, finding a new author (to me) is better than Christmas gifts! Finding one that is laugh out loud funny, well plotted, and exciting is even better! Without spoiling the plot, let me just say that there is one poor character in this book that now leads my list of "so very glad that I am not him" characters!

    One of the many things that I love about Author Locke's books within this series is that to me they paint pictures in my mind that remind me of an action adventure movie - the action, dialogue, adventure just keep going.

    Also, over the course of the series, you can see the primary character grow and develop a multi-faceted personality. He is someone I'd love to meet - and have as a friend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    Good

    The author has got such a good talent to write these amazing stories. It's one of the donovan creed series and like the rest, is just as action packed and thrilling. It's a must read for people who enjoy mystery and crime stories. I recommend this authors work, it's simply wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    Incredible

    John Locke's Now & Then is a book that doesn't disappoint. John Locke is truly one of the best because he is able to establish suspense and have great character development in each one of his books. The more I read about Donovan Creed, the more I fall in love with this character. He is, without an doubt, one of the best crime fiction characters. A book that has a incredible characters and a intriguing plot is, most certainly, a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    Loved it

    John Locke's Now and Then is hot hot hot! Doesn't let you put it down from start to end. I loved the pace of the story, it is not rushed and has an excellent story line that has plenty of twists and turns. Great job once again, I really like this author's work, you should give it a try. I'm a kindle user and hence .99 cents was a small price to pay for a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended - Donovan Creed Keeps Getting Better

    Donovan Creed has gotten that same euphoric feeling several times in different places since he and Rachel arrived in the the small town of St. Alban's Beach. Curiosity leads him on a quest to find out if he's here now to fulfill his destiny which has been three hundred years in the making. John Locke has found success again in this third Donovan Creed novel by taking a look at the past to explain the present.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2