Customer Reviews for

Nowhere but Home: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Different

    This book is published by Harper Collins, so the reader knows the content and editing will be much better, than the usual Smashword's releases. I paid $2.99 for this 285 page novel. While it held my interest and was completely different than any book I have ever read, I am not sure I liked it or not. It is a romance, one of those star crossed lovers, wrong side of the tracks, heroine down on her luck and must go home again books, that is where the usual goes off the beaten track and forges a new unusual pathway. I loved Queenie and her family, the plot was realistic, and I know people just like those depicted in this book. I understood the humor and found the death row meals extremely emotional. I cried a few tears over the hardships faced by this family. This is not the type of book I typically read and I honestly do not know how to rate it. I am giving it four stars out of five, because it so unique and has more pluses than minuses. This book's content was unexpected. It was a fast read and I would like to read a sequal to see how this family turned out, now that the crises has been resolved. There is a past murder, violence, (mostly non-descriptive) a lot of cursing, talk of sex, but no actual sex and some religion. There is out of wedlock children and past prostitution, child neglect, bias against the poor and lots of emotion in this book. There is also family love, strong friendship, caring people and people fighting for their place in the world and never giving up. Chick lit. I think mature 16 year olds could read this, but not for anyone younger.

    AD

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2013

    Although this book is funny as only as small southern town can b

    Although this book is funny as only as small southern town can be, there is nothing breezy or simple about the story. It’s full of difficult choices, heartbreaking confessions and the struggles of growing up and letting go. Queenie is a fantastic main character. She’s bright, temperamental and broken. Anyone who has ever come from a broken home or dysfunctional family will understand some of what Queenie and her sister are going through. Merry Carole will be your second favorite character. As the older sister, Merry Carole is tough, no-nonsense, and burdened by a heart of gold. This tale of redemption, love, and knowing your self-worth is one that everyone should read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2013

    An unusual novel: equally predictable and unique. While mu

    An unusual novel: equally predictable and unique. While much of this plot is predictable and full of devices we have seen plenty of times before-- a character being forced back to confront a past tightly woven into small town history and prejudices--the twist Palmer gives this is what stays with me, as a reader. Palmer's main character, Queenie, ends up taking a job as a death row 'chef' responsible for creating last meals for doomed inmates. Have to admit I have not read that one before--and Palmer does a very fine job of making that plot twist, and its accompanying scenes, totally engrossing and emotional. Quite honestly, I would have preferred that be more of the center of the story and often predictable, clichéd elements edited out or at least given short attention. Chief among these elements any savvy reader can see coming from a million miles away: the requisite small town 'mean girls' who, surprise, end up having their own secrets; the standard, hunky, childhood sweetheart who may or may not still be carrying a torch for Queenie; the small town stereotypes, and good grief! Did the town's name have to be 'North Star?!' Nothing like hitting us over the head with the obvious, and any reader can see the big, revealing, 'twist' coming in the first quarter of the story. All that being said, Palmer has a great eye for small town way of life and the eccentricities Texas ones in particular--including the preferred cuisine. I have lived in small towns my whole life--and here in Texas--for many years. Palmer does it well. So do not let predictable plot devices steer you away. This is an engaging novel that I may find myself going back and reading again.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Sklem

    What a good read. This was my first book by this arthor. Well be reading more of her books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    Better than expected

    At first I thought this would be highly predictable, but it turned out to be an emotional story, with lots of "story" to it. I enjoyed it, and will look for other works by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    A MUST READ BOOK..............

    I really enjoyed reading this book I had trouble putting it down!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings A small town in

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings
    A small town in Texas packs quite a big punch in this sweet and endearing look at how a small town works and the ways that it can destroy some of its own.  Queenie Wake has been an outcast her entire life - she just never quite fit in and maybe it is because of the drama from her mom, but I don't think she helped the matter either.  Her and her sister reacted in different ways to the abuse from the small town - she ran from it.  She returns to North Star, TX, but isn't sure she is there to stay.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    'Nowhere But Home' is a heartfelt novel that follows main charac

    'Nowhere But Home' is a heartfelt novel that follows main character Queenie Wake as her life spirals downward and leads her back to her hometown of North Star, Texas. Going back home means dealing with her family's reputation and being known as one of those "Wake women." Her mother was a notorious man-stealer and her younger sister has been branded as a gold-digging harlot. Queenie is hoping that people and home have changed and that things will be better once she moves back. Of course, we all wish for things that just don't happen. To top it off, Queenie's high school love, Everett Coburn, is back in town and is bringing old heartache back to light. Will Queenie be able to leave the past behind her and move on? Will old secrets tear her family apart or will she be able to stand by them?

    This was a wonderfully written novel that was full of fun, light-hearted characters and memories along with heartbreaking realizations, self discovery, and the strength of love. The writing was fantastic and I was immediately drawn into Queenie's world. She was an interesting main character - strong and witty yet flawed and uncertain at times. She was easy to identify with and I was rooting for her early on in the story. The plot was fresh and fun but dealt with deeper topics underneath the surface. It talks of family, love, the past, secrets, self discovery, and inner strength. Although there are aspects of the book that are heavy, the book itself was light and a fast read. The characters - especially Queenie - and the dialogue really keep the book moving and flowing seamlessly. The writing was very well done and shows the immense talent the author possesses. Definitely recommended for fans of women's fiction and contemporary fiction!

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    While I have a few friends from the State of Texas, I've never b

    While I have a few friends from the State of Texas, I've never been there myself. But in reading Liza Palmer's latest release, Nowhere But Home, I found it possible to wish I was a native like the residents of North Star, Texas, home to Queenie Wake and her sister Merry Carole.

    Queenie, (short for Queen Elizabeth), a chef with a temper and a chip on her shoulder, gets fired from her latest position in New York City, and with no where else to go, she's forced to head home to Texas, and her sister and nephew, in the Hill Country town of North Star. She's been working in different cities, trying to outrun her feelings for the man she was in love with since she was eleven years old, Everett Coburn. "Ever," a man from one of North Star's golden families, was persuaded by his family to end his relationship with the daughter of the town "floozie." Unfortunately for both Queenie and Everett, there would never be anyone else.

    Queenie returns to live with Merry Carole and Cal, her nephew (the star quarterback on the high school football team). She gets a job cooking in a state prison for death row prisoners and while the job is stressful in ways she couldn't begin to imagine, she's the master of her own kitchen and begins to understand how her past and her upbringing have colored her outlook on this small town and its inhabitants.

    Filled with touches of Queenie's unique humor, Nowhere But Home is actually a coming of age story, for Queenie, her sister, her nephew, their friends, Everett and even the town mean girls, who after all these years, still try to intimidate the Wake sisters until their own pasts catch up to them.

    Liza Palmer, in a wonderfully written contemporary story, reminds us that no matter how old we are, there is still growing up to be done, and that love, in the end, can conquer all. It's a potent recipe for a very satisfying read.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    Awful book

    Unlikeable protagonist, lazy writing, vulgar. Avoid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    great book

    my granddaughter bought this book and is really enjoying it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Pat

    I dont fuc.king like you you who.re

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Prim

    ?........

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Sport

    I think they need more nascar books

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    I question that death rows have their own cook

    As it is possible to be there for years can each meal a request?

    0 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2