Customer Reviews for

Nowhere to Run (Joe Pickett Series #10)

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    Gelati's Scoop

    You may flog me now. This is actually the first time I have read C.J. Box and his hero Joe Pickett. I have no excuses why it took me so long to read my first one, only regrets that I have not been involved as a reader sooner. Maybe I am not the only the one out there that hasn't read the fine works of C.J. Box. If that is the case then let it be known to the uninitiated that he has won numerous awards: The Edgar, Anthony, Macavity, Gumshoe, and Barry awards as well as the French Prix Calibre .38 and the French Elle magazine literary award. His novels have been translated into twenty- two different languages. Not too shabby.
    Nowhere To Run finds Joe Pickett in his last week as the temporary game warden in an isolated town where some funny business has been going on. Instead of just riding out the time and calling it a day, he can't let it go and has to investigate the mysterious goings on. Would we expect no less from the man of more? I don't think so. Being a first timer, I enjoyed the characteristics that make this guy who and what he is. In fiction right now there are very few horse riding, modern time detectives and hero types. I enjoyed the total originality of the character, the manner in which C.J. Box not only constructs Pickett but the surrounding microcosm and the people that inhibit it. This is not an urban affair and for me that was more refreshing than the mountain high air the characters were breathing.
    C.J. Box for me stands apart in the genre, which foot you can say he has it in would be a matter for another discussion. Is he a western, mystery, thriller or action/suspense author? Nowhere To Run is all that and one heck of a fun ride. I plan to backtrack and get my hands on the rest of his work as I feel compelled to find out what I missed before this. What makes Joe Pickett who and what he is? Where did he start and how did he arrive at Nowhere To Run? For me, that is why Box has won all the awards. He has created in me the thirst, the desire to embrace Joe Pickett and inhabit his world and learn as much about him as possible and enjoy the ride with him. I have some catching up to do, how about you? If you have read C.J. Box and his amazing character Joe Pickett, what is your favorite novel? Have you read his stand alone efforts as well: Three Weeks To Say Goodbye & Blue Heaven?
    What are you reading today? Check us out and become our friend on Facebook & Linkedin. Go to Goodreads and become our friend there and suggest books for us to read and post on. You can also follow us on Twitter, and the Gelati's Scoop Facebook Fan Page. Did you know you can shop directly on Amazon by clicking the Gelati's Store Tab on our blog? Thanks for stopping by today; We will see you tomorrow. Have a great day.
    http://www.gelatisscoop.blogspot.com

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    Lovable Loser

    Hapless but resolute hero gets in over his head with the bad guys. I love this frustrating goofball.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    C.J.'s Best so Far

    All of C.J. Box's books have been top notch. This is his best book to date. It begins with an eerie intrique that flows through the story. The plot is intricate and at the same time elaborate. It all ties in so smoothly at the end of the story indicating a true master at his craft. In all the Joe Picket books the more Nate Romanowski the better the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    Best of the Joe Picket series

    CJ Box's best Picket book too date. If you love the West and it's glorious mountains and self sufficient characters, you will like and respect Picket and his family. Quite a gripping tale. A slightly different twist from normal law enforcement types. But the same tiresome buracracy and inept officials they all have to deal with. Good story and well developed characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2010

    Best Joe Pickett yet!!!

    This is my favorite book character and my favorite author. Read his other books. You'll love them!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Nowhere to Run is an exhilarating Picket thriller

    Wyoming Game Warden Joe Picket investigates a hunting complaint in a remote section where a female runner vanished years ago. Entering the woods, Joe feels a creeping sensation up and down his spine that someone is stalking him.

    However, paranoia can prove genuine when someone ambushes Joe. He barely escapes from the woods. Joe reports that survivalists and a female attacked him. His account leads to a media frenzy as a runner's parents pray their daughter is alive as this is the first time they can hope and a horde of rent a soldiers arrive to free the woman from the survivalists.

    Nowhere to Run is an exhilarating Picket thriller that grips the audience once Joe knows he has a stalker tracking him and never slows down until the final climatic denouement. This thriller is fast-paced throughout with terrific twists that hook fans even deeper into the story line. Like Joe, fans will wonder when is government too intrusive yet when must the government intrude on the lives of competent individuals making rational but outside the box choices that places no one else in harm.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    So far I have liked all the books of C.J. Box that I have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2014

    Love

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Jewelpaw

    *whimpers and digs her claws in the groud, but was dragged away*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    Another great addition to this series.

    After reading the first edition in this series; I had to read them all. I have not been dissapointed. This series is great reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    not a stand-alone

    This was the first time I had read a C.J.Box book. There were so many back stories that I was lost. Not knowing the characters' previous relationships, etc., I had a problem caring about what happened to the main characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Joe Pickett rules!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    Very enjoyable reading

    My husband is actually the reader of this book. He is hooked on the series, and the author. Being from MT, he really relates to the settings of the stories, and enjoys the style of the author. He tells me the scenarios are realistic. He usually finishes the book in a day or two; he has copies of all C.J. Boxes books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    Probably the best ever

    Mr Box continues to keep you on the edge of your seat with his plot and involves you personally with his characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Unbelievable

    From the first page, this book grabs your attention and never lets go. This is the first time I have read a novel by this author and I was not disappointed. His skill with descriptive detail makes you feel as though the scene is right in front of you. The plot development is just perfect...I found myself unable to keep from picking up the book, nor put it down. Read this...you will not regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    A MUST READ

    I have read all of C.J. Boxes books and this one is really a page turner. This will definetly hold your interest. I really did not want the book to end it was that good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Best Yet!

    I thoroughly enjoyed CJ Box's latest Pickett book. His best ever. Looking forward to future CJ Box books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Our protaganist needs to quit being the underdog.

    A lot of descriptive wording about the mountains, but the plot was good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    Another Hit from C.J. Box

    This book is another winner from C.J. Box's Joe Pickett series. This one is more disturbing and harrowing than those before.

    Joe Pickett is serving his last week as the temporary game warden in Baggs, Wyoming before returning home. Elk huntere told of their game disappearing and this coupled with reports of looting and other strange occurrences in the mountains causes Joe to make one last trip to check things out. What follows will give you bad dreams.

    What started as the last patrol may become the last of his days. Throw in a missing Olympic female runner and you have all the elements you need for a fantastic read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    *Caution* Reading this book may cause a prickling sensation on the back of your neck while hunting or fishing.

    Box has done it again!
    In his trademark style, Box has you on the edge of your seat.

    This story is a "grim" reminder that things aren't always as they seem.

    Box takes you on a vivid journey that activates all of your senses.

    You can see the trout rising on the lake and feel the breeze on your neck.

    But even the aroma of the pines can't cover the smell of fear in the air.

    Don't start reading this unless you have time to finish it. You won't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4