Customer Reviews for

Nuclear Jellyfish (Serge Storms Series #11)

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Standing ovation

    Every book better than the last. From Jacksonville to the Keys there is never a dull moment. Serge and Coleman are clear in your imagination. You feel as if you are there.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    summertime reading

    A fun book to take to the park or the baach

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Florida history with a little mayhem thrown in for good measure

    For those of you who have had a chance to read Tim Dorsey's work in the past this latest installment of florida history and murder won't disapoint. For those of you who haven't had a chance to read this authors work let me give you a little taste of what you will experience. Surge and Coleman are this wacky duo that stand up for people who can't stand up for themselves and along the road this time I-95 they run into several of the landmarks that are true Floridania. They start in Jacksonville and head south through the state of florida tracking a diamond smuggling operation that revolves around coin fairs. I know it sounds crazy but you have to read it to believe it. You will laugh outloud and wonder how anyone could come up with such a dramatic plot with crazy characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    AWESOME FUN

    Serge Storms, one of the most unique fictional characters of our time. This book, once again, brings you through a whirlwind of historical Florida trivia, along with funny, wacky characters that make (Evanovich's) Stephanie Plum and her Grandma look like cartoon characters. If you love Florida or love to laugh, read this book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is the usual insanity as Serge takes readers on a bloody unique tour of Florida.

    In Jacksonville Serge A. Storms becomes unglued, which seems strange as he is always unglued, when he sees a couple of skinheads dispatching a pair of skinheads beating up a homeless person. Feeling a need to right this wrong, he takes care of both punks, Serge style. <BR/><BR/>However, Serge needs some spending money so he and Coleman head to an Internet job fair as he has become quite good on-line especially with his rants. He obtains two jobs: check streets for a GPS system and evaluate motels for a travel club. His new work introduces him and his traveling buddy to a con dealing gang who make more money illegally bringing in diamonds, but as always he rights the wrongs of cheating discount motel owners, thugs preying on the hopeless and having sex with a Viewmaster-loving stripper. In other words Serge takes out miscreants who scorn society.<BR/><BR/>This is the usual insanity as Serge takes readers on a bloody unique tour of Florida. Fans of the series will enjoy his latest escapades as he doles out punishment with gizmos like a hose to reprobates used to bullying their way without regard. Though more of a road trip series of escapades without an overarching plot, readers will enjoy riding the highways and byways as Serge provides his usual enthusiastic bloody tour.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Not his best,..or his worst.

    Nuclear Jellyfish is a very good book, chock full of humor and horrible imagery. Having read all of Tim Dorsey's work, I can say that this one is in the top 5. The first one I read, Triggerfish, I purchased in the gift shop of the hotel we were staying at while on vacation in Miami. I read that in less than a day by the pool then had to find a bookstore to get another. In that one, the name slips me, Serge (one of the most likeably murderers along with Dexter,..who also happens to be a Floridian,..mmmm?), takes Coleman and friends to the very hotel we were staying in, the Sheraton Bal Harbor (formally the Americana). Serge gave me numerous historic references and stories about that hotel, ones I told at the bar that evening, impressing all that would listen. "There were really monkeys in this lobby?" Yes, there were!
    Jellyfish has a good, almost believeable storyline. Some of his books, well, they come off like he was just writing to write. This one, it feels he was writing because he enjoyed doing it. And I very much enjoyed reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    For fans of off-beat Florida murder and mayhem

    Tim Dorsey is one of my favorite authors, hands-down (and I'm a bookseller of 15 years, reader of 40). He writes with a maniacal energy and sly tone that perfectly suits the genre. Imagine if Douglas Adams, Dashiell Hammett, Edward Abbey and Terry Pratchett had a love child (testing your imagination here) and that poor bastard grew up hooked on history and crack. Yeah...that's Tim Dorsey. An excellent expansion series for fans of Carl Hiaasen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Dorsey never disappoints

    Another crazy adventure for Serge and his gang of lunitics. Just love the guy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Serge is Back for More of the Same

    I have read all of the Dorsey offerings featuring Serge, the serial killer with a heart of, well at least green. With some exceptions, the earlier works are better with more edge and more suspense. Serge was not really a sympathetic character in the earlier works but he assumes the status of folk hero in later books.

    Many series authors tend to grow too fond of their characters and Dorsey is no exception. Serge drives around the state- again- encountering and dispatching in unique fashion- again- various Florida-style 'villians'.

    On the plus side, this book is like all of Dorsey's works in that it is fast-paced and well written, with humorous commentary on people and issues. There are even a few laugh out loud moments. I would recommend Nuclear Jellyfish as a beach read, a gift to a casual reader, or to anyone who hasn't read the Serge series.

    Florida is an interesting study in contrasts, only the Los Angeles area is a more obvious example of man ruining paradise in this country. Most of the numerous Florida mystery writers touch on the issue of corruption and greed versus the environment and Dorsey weaves this into his plot lines as well as anyone. For this he should be commended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2