BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Number Devil: A Mathematical Adventure

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Taylor

    This book was ok but after a while it keeps doing the same thing it is getting old

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Awesome book.

    Number Devil is a really good. It had good illistrations and was really funny.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    Really good book

    M.A. I had to read this book for a math project and i thought it was very nice. It is a very short book but it is very funny and easy to read. In this bok a boy has trouble with his math at school and he needs help desperatley. At night he meets the number devil in a weird dream. In that night he teaches the boy about basic math, and night after night the number devil comes backs teaching him proggressivley harder things.By the end he is leaner fairly confusing things, but the book explains them very well. I really liked the pictures and drawings in this book. They were very creative and very accurate descriptions of the book. they helped me very well to understand the book better. I was able to finish this book in one night and complete a whole project on it. I highly advise you to read this book. If you ever need help with math or just want to read a good, funny book, then this is the one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    Illustrations are great in the book.

    Dallas Grant
    Mrs. Lasley
    5B
    8 April 2011
    Book Review
    The book, The Number Devil, by Hans Magnus Enzenburger is about a boy struggling in math class. Once he goes to sleep, he has dreams about a number devil that helps him learn math. The book is pretty good to me because I struggle in algebra at times. The author does a good job by showing different illustrations of math problems to Robert. This book shows a lot of imagination to help you understand math. It helps students to develop a direct and fun approach about math. The number devil never gives up on Robert to understand the concepts of math. The ending is great because the dinner and the teacher's reactions are excellent by rewarding Robert at the end. I would recommend this book to middle school students and give this book an excellent rating. I like the book because it has interesting settings and conflicts throughout the book for a reader that's going through a struggle in math.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Might have some potential.

    I, quite honestly did not enjoy reading this book. I was assigned this book for a math project and found it to be terribly disappointing. The book was designed to teach people about math, but it has no specified age group. The way it is set up is as a children's book, but no small child would understand the concept of the math. And then again, to be old enough to understand the math, you would be utterly bored by the plot. Speaking of the plot, there hardly is one. They talk math for a few chapters then eventually get back to the storyline. Another minus is how they change the names for almost every mathematical word, so if you are trying to teach someone math, they would go back to class knowing names for things completely different than what anybody else is saying. No-one would know what they were talking about. I think that this is a rough draft of a potentially good novel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2006

    Number Devil is an Angel of a Book

    This is a fabulous book for students even if they do not particulalary like math. When I read it myself, I particularly enjoyed it because since I enjoy math I could follow along with what the Number Devil was saying. Adding to the mathematical benifit is the hiarious terms the number devil uses to describe different mathematical terms. My math teacher reccomended this book to me and I now read it every oppuritunity that I can. I would recomend this book to ant students whether they like math or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2005

    Discrete Mathematics

    As a recent graduate of cognitive science I picked up this book to have a fun read. What I got was way more than I originally thought. Hands down, this was the best book of discrete mathematics I have ever read. To anybody who has taken the subject or intends to this book will both clarify the confusing nature of the subject and make the study more enjoyable. I loved this book and strongly recommend it to anybody with or without a mathematics background.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2004

    I LOVED this book!

    A perfect book for a middle school math teacher. It gave me so many ideas for teaching. It was also just fun to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2002

    A great and interesting math book.

    'The Number Devil' is a fun and educating math book about a boy named Robert who hates math but then likes and enjoys it because of the Number Devil. The Number Devil makes Robert love learning the great wonders that mathematicians discovered by teaching Robert very awesome math. For example, did you know that if you add the dots and spaces of a 2-D shape and subtract the number of lines used to make the shape you get 1? I recommend 'The Number Devil' to anyone who likes and hates math and everyone in between. 'The Number Devil' is a great book for all ages. I'm only 10!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2002

    ~Outstanding Book!!!~

    THIS BOOK IS THE BEST I'VE READ IN A LONG TIME. I HIGHLY RECOMEEND IT FOR ANYONE FROM AGES 7 TO 407. THIS BOOK IS ESPECIALLY GREAT FOR PEOPLE WHO ENJOY MATH OR ENJOY READING. READ THIS BOOK, YOU WONT BE SORRY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2001

    An Interesting and Fun Book

    It was a very interesting and factual book. It is a book that is good for math lovers of all ages and a great teaching tool for those who might be struggling in math. The only problem that I had with the book is the renaming of certain mathematical terms, i.e. prime numbers are referred to as prima donnas. Otherwise this book is great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2001

    Amusing introduction to mathematical concepts

    This book covers a lot of topics that aren't generally covered in elementary school, but could be. Despite its obvious didactic intent it is really quite delightful, and the explanations are easy to follow. At first I thought that my son, who is 12, and something of a math whiz, would be bored as he had met most of the material already, but in fact, the author managed to slip in some patterns and concepts that neither of us had met before. I doubt that this book will get math haters to love math, but if you have a kid who loves numbers this is a great book. It will show kids what mathematics is really about, unlike the usual fare that one gets in school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2000

    A good book!

    This is a real good book! I really liked it and I learned alot from this book. I'm only 10 and I hate math but this book is just plain fun! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1