Customer Reviews for

The Number Devil: A Mathematical Adventure

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Awesome book.

    Number Devil is a really good. It had good illistrations and was really funny.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    Illustrations are great in the book.

    Dallas Grant
    Mrs. Lasley
    5B
    8 April 2011
    Book Review
    The book, The Number Devil, by Hans Magnus Enzenburger is about a boy struggling in math class. Once he goes to sleep, he has dreams about a number devil that helps him learn math. The book is pretty good to me because I struggle in algebra at times. The author does a good job by showing different illustrations of math problems to Robert. This book shows a lot of imagination to help you understand math. It helps students to develop a direct and fun approach about math. The number devil never gives up on Robert to understand the concepts of math. The ending is great because the dinner and the teacher's reactions are excellent by rewarding Robert at the end. I would recommend this book to middle school students and give this book an excellent rating. I like the book because it has interesting settings and conflicts throughout the book for a reader that's going through a struggle in math.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2006

    Number Devil is an Angel of a Book

    This is a fabulous book for students even if they do not particulalary like math. When I read it myself, I particularly enjoyed it because since I enjoy math I could follow along with what the Number Devil was saying. Adding to the mathematical benifit is the hiarious terms the number devil uses to describe different mathematical terms. My math teacher reccomended this book to me and I now read it every oppuritunity that I can. I would recomend this book to ant students whether they like math or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2005

    Discrete Mathematics

    As a recent graduate of cognitive science I picked up this book to have a fun read. What I got was way more than I originally thought. Hands down, this was the best book of discrete mathematics I have ever read. To anybody who has taken the subject or intends to this book will both clarify the confusing nature of the subject and make the study more enjoyable. I loved this book and strongly recommend it to anybody with or without a mathematics background.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2004

    I LOVED this book!

    A perfect book for a middle school math teacher. It gave me so many ideas for teaching. It was also just fun to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2002

    A great and interesting math book.

    'The Number Devil' is a fun and educating math book about a boy named Robert who hates math but then likes and enjoys it because of the Number Devil. The Number Devil makes Robert love learning the great wonders that mathematicians discovered by teaching Robert very awesome math. For example, did you know that if you add the dots and spaces of a 2-D shape and subtract the number of lines used to make the shape you get 1? I recommend 'The Number Devil' to anyone who likes and hates math and everyone in between. 'The Number Devil' is a great book for all ages. I'm only 10!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2002

    ~Outstanding Book!!!~

    THIS BOOK IS THE BEST I'VE READ IN A LONG TIME. I HIGHLY RECOMEEND IT FOR ANYONE FROM AGES 7 TO 407. THIS BOOK IS ESPECIALLY GREAT FOR PEOPLE WHO ENJOY MATH OR ENJOY READING. READ THIS BOOK, YOU WONT BE SORRY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2000

    A good book!

    This is a real good book! I really liked it and I learned alot from this book. I'm only 10 and I hate math but this book is just plain fun! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1