Customer Reviews for

Number the Stars

Average Rating 4.5
( 1557 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1134)

4 Star

(251)

3 Star

(84)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

113 out of 136 people found this review helpful.

Very good

My fifth grade class started to read this and I thought it would be a horrible book!I was so wrong!!!! I was one of the best books I have ever read!!!!!!!!! I think everyone should read this !!!! :D

posted by Anonymous on January 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Number the stars

Number the stars is a real page turner. This book is so decriptive that I almost cried at the end of the book. This book is definetly for people that like suspence. You'll really love this book.

posted by Anonymous on March 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1566 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 79
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Very good

    My fifth grade class started to read this and I thought it would be a horrible book!I was so wrong!!!! I was one of the best books I have ever read!!!!!!!!! I think everyone should read this !!!! :D

    113 out of 136 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2009

    Number the Stars by Coby Percy

    I recently read the book Number the Stars by Louis Lowlry and I thought it was a great book. The setting takes place in Copenhagen, Denmark in 1943 during World War II. This story is about a young girl named Annemarie who, with the help of her family, is trying to save her best friend Ellen and Ellen's family, who are Jews from being discovered by the Nazis. My favorite part of the book is when Ellen and AnneMarie are looking out over the bay and they say that's Swedan over there. The fact that they talk about Swedan shows me that they are hopeful, curious, and anxious.<BR/>Anyone who is interested in the Holocaust or the lives of Jewish families and their friends should read this book. I think this is a book I will always remember. I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone who is looking for a good read.

    91 out of 107 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    I like yogurt

    Thii,s story is to die for! Discriptive,lot of climax, and shows the true meanig of friendship.

    60 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it

    Very good read- you will not forget this one

    56 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    :)

    I read this book in school, i recommend it to anybody!

    51 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Amazing

    Impossible to put down, difficult to forget.

    48 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Eeeeeeeiiiiiiiiuiuuuaaaaaaaaa!!!!!!! Great book!

    I could read this book five times in a row without getting board of it. My favorite tipe of story is books with brave people and i love the hollocast.this book is both of those put together! I love how annemarie stands up for ellen.my favorite charicter is kristie. She reminds me of my sister when she was little.it was sad they drugged the police dogs because i like dogs but they were bad dogs anyway . Eeeeeiiiiuuuuaaaa!!!#1!

    46 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Awesome

    Very compelling, once you start you cant stop

    34 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    Great introduction to the period of WWII for the future history buff.

    My 8 year old grandson wanted to read about WWII and the holocaust but I felt that he was too young to read about the full horror of the time. This seems to have been a wonderful compromise. He was totally absorbed in this and will read further later.

    33 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2009

    wow

    i loved the book number the stars because it captures you!!! i didn't want to read it at first but after the first page i was hooked!!! (the reason i didn't want to read it was because it looked like a depressing book)!!! but i really enjoyed it!!!

    28 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Number the stars

    Number the stars is a real page turner. This book is so decriptive that I almost cried at the end of the book. This book is definetly for people that like suspence. You'll really love this book.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    J

    This book was dramatic and amazing i could not put the book down

    12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Loved it

    BEST BOOK EVER !!!!!!!!!!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    a MUST READ BOOK!

    I read this book for a class in school, and i really enjoyed it. I highly reccommend this book for people who are interested in World War II and The Holocaust. There are moment of suspense, sadness, and even fear. Not being able to know what happens next keeps you excited to just keep reading and reading.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2009

    very intersting

    Lois Lowry's Number the Stars
    Lois Lowry's Number The Stars is a Historical fiction book about the Jews and Germans. In Copenhagen Denmark in 1943. Lois Lowry wrote the book because she wants to tell the world that the Danish families risk their lives for the Jews. They hide Jews and they smuggled them out of the country. They got involved with this issue because they were good neighbors and their neighbors were Jews.
    This book tells the story the story about one family that helped a Jewish family that was in trouble. The dans risked their life just to help the families. I learned that the Danish families accomplished the trip of families to their destination. The book was interesting and suspenseful. A car pulled outside the car doors slammed everyone was tense no one spoke. The soldiers were pounding on the door, and then the heavy frighteningly familiar staccato of the boots on the kitchen floor.
    The women with the baby began to weep. The male voice from the kitchen was loud. The soldier said we have observed "he said, that an unusual number of people gathered at the house tonight. The Danish said there has been a death. That is our custom to gather and pay our respect. I am sure you are familiar with our customs. The officer pushed one of her ahead of him and entered the living room.
    The officer looked for a long time at the casket. When his eyes reached her she looked back at him steadily. The officer asked who died he asked harshly. The girl answered "my great aunt Birte" she lied in a firm voice. The officer moved forward suddenly, across the room to the casket. He placed one gloved hand on its lid. Poor great aunt Birte" he said in a condescending voice. I know it is the custom to pay one's respect by looking your loved one on the face. It seems odd to me that you have it closed this coffin up so tightly." I was stuck to this book because it had me wanting more about what was going to happen next. The author did a good job. Explaining the story.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Best book

    I read this in 6th grade because the techers read it to us. Every body liked it and the wanted to keep reading. It my favorite book. You should totally get no matter what the other people say. It is enjoyable

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Amazing

    It is soooooo amazing you should tottaly read it or you'll be missing out:)

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Number the stats

    This book has a brave and touching story I would strongly recommed it.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Mad

    Its only 89 pages

    7 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    The first time I read this book was in fourth grade English clas

    The first time I read this book was in fourth grade English class. This book is still a favorite and I am now about to be a Senior in high school. This book is short, but very touching. Number the Stars is filled with suspense and you won't want to put the book down. I typically finish it in a matter of hours. I would recommend this reading to anyone.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1566 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 79