Customer Reviews for

Numbers (Numbers Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 122 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

"Numbers" A Fantastic first book from Rachel Ward, so gripping you won't be able to put it down until you reach the final page. It reminds us not to judge things at face value and always to remember that everyone is an individual!

Excellent book for mature teens and the young at heart. A fast paced adventure with a teen romance thrown in. The story focuses on Jem, a misunderstood troubled girl with the power to predict when people are going to die, and her equally misunderstood friend Spider. T...
Excellent book for mature teens and the young at heart. A fast paced adventure with a teen romance thrown in. The story focuses on Jem, a misunderstood troubled girl with the power to predict when people are going to die, and her equally misunderstood friend Spider. The two are caught up in a terrorist act in London and are forced to flee from the police. In their ensuing flight Jem comes to terms with her life and herself, whilst discovering that sometimes people can really be trusted.

Ward is an exciting new talent who writes engaging contemporary fiction. She tackles the complexity of the lives of her protagonists realistically and compassionately. I can't wait to find out what happens in the sequel.

I have given this book as a gift to most of my teen friends in England - male and female and they have all loved it.

posted by FOS on February 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Language problem

I bought it and it was in spanish! So i just lost 12 dollars :(

posted by 10419072 on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 12, 2014

    Review copied directly from my blog: thepopcultist[dot]blogspot[

    Review copied directly from my blog: thepopcultist[dot]blogspot[dot]com

    I really love the whole concept behind this book. There is a lot of potential in a story about a girl who can see the date of a person's death simply by looking at them. For me, though, this book fell a bit short.




    The synopsis is incredibly misleading. When I bought the book I was expecting  it to be an action packed thriller about Jem realizing something horrible was going to happen and then trying to stop it, or something along those lines. In reality, however, the terrorist attack on London, while an important plot point, holds very little significance to the story as a whole. Her realization that numerous people have the same number to when the actual attack takes place takes up only a few pages. And to be honest it was pretty anti-climactic as a whole. She notices the numbers, they run, a bomb goes off, and that's it. I hardly felt anything because the book is told through first person perspective and Jem hardly reacts at all; maybe 2 sentences tops. Then they just go home.




    So if the book isn't about the terrorist attack what is it about? Well, as it turns out running away from a location just minutes before a bomb goes off looks pretty sketchy, and soon Jem and Spider are being flashed across every television screen in the country. What Numbers is actually about is Jem and Spider living on the run after the attack. I'm not sure if knowing this ahead of time would have changed my opinion about the book or not, but  as it was I was pretty disappointed.




    I did enjoy Jem's first person narration. I'm a sucker for bitter and sarcastic narrations, so in that respect Jem was right up my alley. If you don't like this type of narration, the book probably isn't for you. I do wish we could have seen her anger fall away a bit from time to time, though. It seems unrealistic that anyone, even someone with so cruel circumstances as Jem, could be that angry all the time. But for the most part that is really the only emotion we see, aside from a few touching scenes with Spider. 




    Despite the actual plot steering off from my initial expectations, this book was looking at a three star rating for most of the read through. And then the ending happened. I will be frank: I hated the ending. I was really angry with the turn the story took and it kind of ruined it a bit for me. I understand why it ended the way it did, but I still just did not like it. And it seems like it has set up the second book to be essentially the same story with different characters, so I'm not in a huge hurry to go pick it up. I might at some point, though, because the synopsis for book 3 sounds promising.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I'll be honest & say up front that I did not finish this boo

    I'll be honest & say up front that I did not finish this book. This review is based on the first half, almost exactly & that is as far as I got before I didn't want to read any more of it. It started off really well. I loved the entire idea of the story & the set up of the characters was pretty good. They were earthy, well-described kids from inner-city London & they felt very real to me. I could appreciate the roughness around their edges because of their backgrounds & upbringings. It all made sense to me.

    The idea of the numbers, of being able to see the date someone is going to die by looking in their eyes, was pretty inventive. I hadn't seen any other book like it before & it definitely started out with some great instances of the numbers causing Jem distress as she sees them in the eyes of everyone from her drug addicted mother to her new best friend & possible love interest to everyone waiting in line to board the London Eye before a tragedy strikes.

    Jem's world "explodes," as the synopsis above states, about one quarter of the way through the book. Then the two characters go on the run, afraid that they are going to be blamed for the incident they narrowly escaped thanks to Jem's gift. Which is when the plot ends, the numbers cease to be of any consequence, & we become immersed in the raw essence at the bottom of the barrel for both Jem & Spider.

    Neither of the teens has any sense of how to make it on the run. Spider steals cars & picks fights with other motorists while speeding down the road, bringing far too much unwanted attention to them but he can't seem to help it. Jem whines incessantly & takes every single thing Spider says to her as a reason to start a fight. For the rest of the portion of the book that I read it was basically a non-stop exercise in pure frustration as I watched the characters who treat each other like their least favorite brother or sister somehow manage to discover they are in love & have sex. No plot. No numbers. No character development. Just hormones & fights & really bad dialogue. I had enough & put it down when it felt like it was never going to end or if it did end I wasn't going to care what happened to the characters anymore.

    I can't say what happened through the rest of the book. Maybe it was fantastic in the second half but I didn't like having to slog through to get to it. I would recommend this book to people who are not averse to threadbare plots when excitement is promised. Perhaps this book was meant to only be a slice of life but the publishers needed to market it differently to get more sales, I don't know. The writing was pretty good. The story, when there was some, was good too. It just wasn't for me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    sucky

    wasn't that great, the ending makes you wish you never even picked it up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    Great idea, execution just meh.

    I just (3/23/10) finished this book and it made me angry. The writing never drew me in enough to really care about the characters until the very end of the story. Then at the end it just made me angry. In thinking about this and another book that made me have this strong a reaction, I'm realizing that the flaw in the stories is that there was no hope. In real life, there is ALWAYS hope. This is a fundamental belief in my life and yet I can read science fiction and fantasy and the like and suspend my reality enough to enjoy them. It's when there is no hope in a story that I just really can't accept the story and really dislike the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1