Customer Reviews for

Numbers (Numbers Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 122 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

"Numbers" A Fantastic first book from Rachel Ward, so gripping you won't be able to put it down until you reach the final page. It reminds us not to judge things at face value and always to remember that everyone is an individual!

Excellent book for mature teens and the young at heart. A fast paced adventure with a teen romance thrown in. The story focuses on Jem, a misunderstood troubled girl with the power to predict when people are going to die, and her equally misunderstood friend Spider. T...
Excellent book for mature teens and the young at heart. A fast paced adventure with a teen romance thrown in. The story focuses on Jem, a misunderstood troubled girl with the power to predict when people are going to die, and her equally misunderstood friend Spider. The two are caught up in a terrorist act in London and are forced to flee from the police. In their ensuing flight Jem comes to terms with her life and herself, whilst discovering that sometimes people can really be trusted.

Ward is an exciting new talent who writes engaging contemporary fiction. She tackles the complexity of the lives of her protagonists realistically and compassionately. I can't wait to find out what happens in the sequel.

I have given this book as a gift to most of my teen friends in England - male and female and they have all loved it.

posted by FOS on February 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Language problem

I bought it and it was in spanish! So i just lost 12 dollars :(

posted by 10419072 on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 12 of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Good

    I read this book in school and its a good book but it has some weird stuff in it not from kids from 12 and under

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    ????

    Why is the description in spanish??? The spanish version's description is in english too!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    This was a very interesting read. Not quite original but interes

    This was a very interesting read. Not quite original but interesting none-the-less. It kept things exciting throughout the book. The ending to me was predictable but then again I am 31 years old. It was good enough to move on to series 2 for sure.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    It was good, but A LOT of swearing

    *Please don't read this if you're under the age of fifteen*

    I liked this story but there was too much swearing for me to give it a better review. Plus, there was sex, and I'm one of thos people that doesn't want to read about sex. I want to read about deep romances that actually mean something.

    Anyway I really liked the concept of seeing people's deaths. It was very moving because it made you think of how you will go and where and when.

    Based on this book, I would not read any more of Rachel's peices. But i will finish the series, because I'm one of those people that always has to finish the series. I hope it's better than the first.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A new direction for YA fiction

    The two main characters of this book are Jem and Spider, troubled teens who are in danger of being left behind in life. Spider is an orphaned boy who lives with his gran and has too much energy and too little interest in expending any of it at school, except to cause mischief. It is there that he meets Jem, who is completely without any living relatives (to her knowledge, at least) and is a part of Great Britain's foster system. Jem has purposely kept herself seperate from the rest of humanity since her mother's death, because she has a terrible secret to hide. She sees numbers whenever she is close enough to look in another person's eyes; numbers that represent the day on which that person will die. So far, at the age of fifteen, she's never been mistaken--at least not that she knows of.

    While playing hooky from school, Jem becomes closer to Spider than she'd like, and soon they become fairly good friends. Unfortunately, she sees his numbers, and knows he'll be gone soon...and maybe this has something to do with their unprecedented (for her, at least) friendship. One afternoon the two decide to use some of Spider's newly ill-gotten (will this cause his demise? Jem wonders) gains to ride the London Eye. However, while waiting in line Jem realizes that all of the people waiting around them have the same numbers--that day's date. Panicked, she and Spider run from the scene, just minutes before a bomb goes off. Soon they're wanted for questioning by the authorities and on the run for their lives.

    During the course of their flight Jem becomes closer with Spider than she's ever been with another human being. Even when seperated, his influence encourages her to open up to more and more people, and by the end she has come into contact with a number (pun not intended) of people whom she has come to care about and who care about her in return, including a surprising one she never expected. I did enjoy this book quite a bit--it offered a totally new concept in YA fantasy fiction, in a market that is really starting to seem a bit oversaturated with similar stories. The pacing, though, did seem a bit uneven in parts. In all I am looking forward to the second book in the series, though I need to read a few more lighthearted books first.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    NICE

    some parts in the book amazingly grabs the reader's attention, and in other parts just made the reader want to scan through... the areas that grabs the reader was really good. i loved how everything comes together! i couldn't believe the out come. i recommend for people to read this book, b/c their is more attention grabbing then eye closings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    Half good, Half bad

    I really liked the idea of this book. It stood out and it dealt with death which is something that will eventually happen to all of us. Rachel Ward dealt with it in a new original way. However the writing was poor english, nothing that can improve your reading skills (since i learn new stuff everytime i read a new book).
    The characters were good however, i never really figured out Spiders real name. Jem is a young character and it is really worrying that she smokes, drinks and has sex at this age. It is understandable that she is a trouble child, but this isnt a very encouraging book for those who arent that well off in life.
    Ending was a surprise and it was sad. I think on a emotional level, this book really reached deep and you were able to understand why each character was like this or that. I do recommend this book, i finished it in a couple of days cause i was so curious. But the author could have done a better job with the writing =P

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Good story, difficult characters

    It was a very interesting story, but the main character was 15 and smoking, drinking, and having sex. Those are not characteristics I think are good in a 15 year old teen. She and her boyfriend even drop out of school. I know the character had difficulties, but abandoning education only continues the cycle created by her drug-addicted, uneducated mother. The book seems to approve of these actions. The ending was slightly more hopeful. I think it would have been better to make the character a little older, maybe 17.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 12 of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1