Customer Reviews for

Numbers (Numbers Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

"Numbers" A Fantastic first book from Rachel Ward, so gripping you won't be able to put it down until you reach the final page. It reminds us not to judge things at face value and always to remember that everyone is an individual!

Excellent book for mature teens and the young at heart. A fast paced adventure with a teen romance thrown in. The story focuses on Jem, a misunderstood troubled girl with the power to predict when people are going to die, and her equally misunderstood friend Spider. T...
Excellent book for mature teens and the young at heart. A fast paced adventure with a teen romance thrown in. The story focuses on Jem, a misunderstood troubled girl with the power to predict when people are going to die, and her equally misunderstood friend Spider. The two are caught up in a terrorist act in London and are forced to flee from the police. In their ensuing flight Jem comes to terms with her life and herself, whilst discovering that sometimes people can really be trusted.

Ward is an exciting new talent who writes engaging contemporary fiction. She tackles the complexity of the lives of her protagonists realistically and compassionately. I can't wait to find out what happens in the sequel.

I have given this book as a gift to most of my teen friends in England - male and female and they have all loved it.

posted by FOS on February 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Language problem

I bought it and it was in spanish! So i just lost 12 dollars :(

posted by 10419072 on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    "Numbers" A Fantastic first book from Rachel Ward, so gripping you won't be able to put it down until you reach the final page. It reminds us not to judge things at face value and always to remember that everyone is an individual!

    Excellent book for mature teens and the young at heart. A fast paced adventure with a teen romance thrown in. The story focuses on Jem, a misunderstood troubled girl with the power to predict when people are going to die, and her equally misunderstood friend Spider. The two are caught up in a terrorist act in London and are forced to flee from the police. In their ensuing flight Jem comes to terms with her life and herself, whilst discovering that sometimes people can really be trusted.

    Ward is an exciting new talent who writes engaging contemporary fiction. She tackles the complexity of the lives of her protagonists realistically and compassionately. I can't wait to find out what happens in the sequel.

    I have given this book as a gift to most of my teen friends in England - male and female and they have all loved it.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This book was excellent - 5 stars!!!!

    This book was so good; you have to read it. Jem is a tired and frightened girl going from foster home to foster home. She's sick of seeing people's "numbers" when she looks in their eyes. The "numbers" are the dates of their deaths. But can she change the dates? Can she find love and happiness? Read it, and find out.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    AMAZING!!

    This book is a real page turner. Itll keep you on your toes and very unique ideas. It changed my life..my #1 all time favorite book! My emotions went up and down while reading this. I laughed and cried, and at times I wanted to crawl in the pages and slap a few characters. Amazing book. I dont think its possible to even dislike this book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This book was simply amazing!

    There are no other words to descibe this book! Rachel Ward has a hit on her hands. The concept is imaginative and the writing shapes the plot wonderfully! I finished reading it in a matter of hours and i have loaned it to 4 of my friends so far and they have all loved it too! You must read this book!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    I chose to read Numbers because the summary of the book sparked my curiosity. I thought the book sounded very interesting. I couldn't put it down when I started reading it. Though she can be mean, the main character is very likable. The author did a really great job writing it and the story was never boring. I love how there were several different genres that the book had. It was a great action/adventure sci-fi story, but at the same time it was like the ultimate love story. I loved how personal the characters were and how well described the places in the story and the characters personalities were. I really loved the book because for me it's everything I look for in a good book. The storyline was interesting and got exciting at a lot of different parts. I also like how part of the story was the mystery of the numbers. The mystery was how she found out what the numbers meant and how they work. My favorite part of the book was the ending because for me it was the most exciting part and the most unexpected. I'm glad I chose this book and I would recommend it to anyone. I'm looking forward to reading the sequel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    My very first book I ever finish. This book is very interested.

    My very first book I ever finish.
    This book is very interested. From the very first time I heard the summary, no matter what  I'm going to finish this book. Numbers is about a shy , unsocialize teenage girl: Jem had a unwanted gift (more like a curse) that  she can see people date of death by look into their eyes.She hide away from people and life for avoid her gift.
    Then she met Spider ,and she realize how living & loving are so important. The ending of the book is very predictable, it make me can not sit still . It make me want to read the second book of this series !!!! 
    K.N

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Best Book Ever!!!

    The title says it all!:)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Omg

    So i think if you buy this book here it might be in spanish?? BUT DONT LET THAT STOP YOU! Just get the book out of a liberary or something becaseit is sooooo worth it! Love love love totally recomend it

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    AMAZING

    this book was one of the best books i have ever read it was very hard to put it down it had drama, action and more everything you would ever want into one great book with a major twist

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    WOW! Can't wait for sequel!

    Amazing read that won't let you up for air. Jem and Spider are amazing characters. I read this book in less than 2 days. I am an avid reader; about 2-3 books a week (sometimes more)Rachel Ward did an amazing job for a writer just stepping on to the scene. Kudos Rachel!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Really good.

    The plot is interesting and so is the love story. It is definitely one of my favorite books. Some parts made me cry and others made me laugh. It is worth buying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Loved.

    Okay , This story made me feel soooo good ! I LOVED Britney and Spider and Jem. It was one if those romantic sifi books thst should be a movie or something. I could read this book over and over again. The thing is though she shouldnt have put in the part where Spider slipped to his death. That killed me. But the book is like soo full of feeling. I want to see another one like this. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    THI

    THIS IS A MUST READ BOOK-5 STARS!!!!

    This Is a really good book for mature teens to read, because it is a fast paced adventure that is told in the best way it can be. The story is about Jem a misunderstood teen girl that has the ability to predict the date that people are going to die, and she is very accurate.
    She tries to avoid relationships because she doesn’t wants to fall in love with someone and his date is coming soon to die, she avoids relationship until she meets spider another outsider and takes a chance to be in a relationship with him, but he only has a brief time that remains before his expiration date comes up.
    If you don’t read this book it’s your loss!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Awesome book must read

    Fantastic absolutely gripping

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    "Numbers" a very first book I ever finish 

    "Numbers" a very first book I ever finish 

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    Amazing Book would reccemend it to every teen i know(which is al

    Amazing Book would reccemend it to every teen i know(which is alot). I feel in love with this book since chapter one! I also fell in love Spider, i thought he was the picture perfect boyfriend even though he had his flaws.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Book

    Im reading it right noe,w its so cool

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Loved It

    This book was great but I never read the secimd one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Awesome

    It was soo interesting, i neverwanted to put down the book.deff gonna read the 2nd book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Different!

    This story was a beautiful as well as a terrible read. Jem can see the death date of everyone she meets. She hides away from people and life in order to avoid dealing with her gift. Only when she meets Spider does she realize that living and loving are so important, regardless of how long you have to live.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3