Customer Reviews for

Nutshell Library

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2007

    This book has it all

    Contains counting, rhymes, months, alphabet and lots more. As a child, 'Chicken Soup with Rice' was one of my favorite songs, and that is contained here, too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2003

    Stories you will always remember!

    I loved all of the stories, but 40 years later, 'Pierre', is still my favorite. I plan to purchase these for my young nephew and for a good friend's daughter. I hope the lessons and memories will last a lifetime with them, as they have with me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2000

    These books are timeless

    I read these books to my students as a kindergarten teacher some 30 years ago. I am particularly fond of The Cautionary Tale:Pierre. Kids and adults of all ages can relate to it. I read these books to my own children when they were young and even re-introduced Pierre to my son in his late teens. (-Still seemed appropriate.) You'll enjoy these books at any age, if you're still a 'child at heart'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    absolute must

    The Nutshell Library is a classic & an absolute for any child's library. Children love tiny books & these will surely delight. The illustrations as in all Sendak books blend seamlessly with the story & each little book is a delight. Highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    A favorite with my children and grandchildren.  Strangely enough

    A favorite with my children and grandchildren.  Strangely enough, when my two-year old d granddaughter  insisted  on taking the boxed set to bed with her every night, not a page was torn nor were the dustjackets.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    One for the Ages

    Just read of Maurice Sendak's passing. To me, these four little books - much more so than the more widely referenced "Wild Things" - are the perfect representation of his greatness. After so many bed-time readings, I think all of us memorized "Chicken Soup with Rice," and Pierre is still one of my favorite characters from a children's book. Even the packaging is perfect - the tiny box with the witty illustrations featuring all the characters from the little books inside.

    Gone but not forgotten.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Very highly recommended!!!

    These small wonderful books have been given , by me, to every new born in our family for the past 40 years. Every child seems to adore first, having the stories read to them and later, holding them comfortably in their own little hands and reading the stories independently. They are small treasures, filled with humor and wisdom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I have such great memories of these books!

    These were some of my favorite books when I was a kid. Despite the fact that our copies were battered from years of handling during my mother's childhood, I loved that they were small, just the right size for my own little hands. Maurice Sendak's illustrations were always welcoming, and the text, with its clever rhythm and rhymes, never failed to make me laugh. Even the lion eating Pierre was more amusing than scary, especially since I found Pierre just as annoying as the lion did! I'm so glad these are still available to buy, and I've given them as gifts to adults and children alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Classic books in a portable size.

    Our 2 and 4 year old grandsons enjoy the stories in this Sendak series. They also love the fact that they can carry the small books anywhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    This small collection is the perfect gift for any young child!

    Maurice Sendak's nutshell library is almost 50 years old, but it is still fresh and charming. These four little books are a perfect choice for a child from 3 to 6. With an alphabet book and a book of months and a counting book, the collection is a learning experience that is fun. The fourth book is a story about Pierre, who learns about the importance of home in a most unusual way. Although these four books are also available in larger formats, these four small books delight children, who enjoy the size and the little container which safely stores the treasures. Every family needs this lovely collection in their home library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2003

    Info for Mr. Pew

    Just wanted to let you know that the Nutshell Library I have is published in October 1962.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2001

    Loved it when I was young, now I am reading them to my daughter!

    Seeing as how this was published in 1976. . . I enjoyed reading these some 24 years ago! (not 30 or 35)... Still wonderful, as all Sendak's work is!!!! Can't recommend it strong enough!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1