Customer Reviews for

O Come All Ye Faithful: Christmas Carols at King's College, Cambridge

Average Rating 5
( 4 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 3 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer


    I own dozens of classica and Baroque Christmas music albums and collections. Yet, in my opinion this recording remains THE single best of its genre ever made. "The Seven Joys of Mary" is nothing short of amazing, as is "Coventry Carol."<BR/><BR/>Light a fire in your fireplace (real or electric!) turn this on, stare at your Christmas tree and think about the message of this hauntingly beautiful and moving music.<BR/><BR/>It also harkens those whose minds have not been clouded by the social disease of political correctness to stop and think about just how heavily British culture and Christianity influenced both the creation, and coming of age of, America.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Still the Finest Selection of Carols for the Season

    Though released in 1990 this collection of carols from the inimitable King's College Choir, Cambridge, England as conducted by Stephen Cleobury for this listener is the CD that comes out first once the Christmas season begins. The selection of carols is unabashedly British and the atmosphere form the introit through the entire concert echoes that special mystery of the acoustic of the chapel in which it was recorded. Included in this fine collection are Once in a Royal David's City, Up! Good Christian Folk, and Listen, On Christmas Night, Ding Dong! Merrily on High, O Little Town of Bethlehem, Silent Night, In the Bleak Midwinter, The First Nowell, Hark! The Herald Angels Sing, Away in a Manger, The Seven Joys of Mary, The Infant King, God Rest You Merry Gentlemen, The Holly and the Ivy, I Saw Three Ships, and O Come All Ye Faithful. Each is fresh, especially with the composition of the choir being boys and men. The organ balance is excellent - but it is the reverberations within the hall that makes this recording indispensable for the mood of the season. Grady Harp

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010


    This is the best christmas album I've heard. Each performance is flawless and the selection of carols is excellent. The greatest performance, however, is 'Once in Royal David's City.' The soloist is angelic, and the performance stirring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 3 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1