BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

O Is for Outlaw (Kinsey Millhone Series #15)

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

If you haven't given Sue Grafton a try, it's not too late!

I have read all: from A to U. ... and loved them all.

posted by Avid_Reader_TC on April 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Grafton

Sue Grafton reveals a part of private Investigator, Kinsey Millhone's past we did not know about. Her first husband, Mickey Magruder, features in this latest crime thriller. He does not personally have a large part to play in the action but Kinsey's case is built arou...
Sue Grafton reveals a part of private Investigator, Kinsey Millhone's past we did not know about. Her first husband, Mickey Magruder, features in this latest crime thriller. He does not personally have a large part to play in the action but Kinsey's case is built around him. The story opens neatly with a sales scavenger offering her a box of her personal effects that had to have been put in storage by Magruder. He has been shot a week before this event with a gun registered to Kinsey. This puts her in the frame for his shooting. The real shooter also went to the trouble of making a phone call to her apartment from Mickey's place the day before the shooting. Kinsey follows the trail her ex. has left behind, uncovering another crime before she tracks down the gunman.

posted by Anonymous on December 18, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    If you haven't given Sue Grafton a try, it's not too late!

    I have read all: from A to U. ... and loved them all.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    O is for Outlaw

    I liked the change of pace on this one because it was more personal. Kinsey gets a call regarding her first husband that she has not spoken with in years. No one hires her on this case, but Kinsey decides to work out a case that was long since buried that her ex was working on. I love this series and after the last book Im glad to see it pick back up!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Kinsey never disappoints me!

    I love O IS FOR OUTLAW, just as I've loved all the other alphabet mysteries by Sue Grafton. Can't say there were any big surprises in this well plotted formula book--yet it's one more page turner under Ms Grafton's belt. If you're a Kinsey Millhone fan, you will love this book, too!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very good

    I loved this book way more than the last one. It was nice to get a little more info about Kinsey's past. Very good book!


    Through fourteen books, fans have been fed short rations when it comes to Kinsey Millhone's past: a morsel here, a dollop there. We know of the aunt who raised her, the second husband who left her, the long-lost family up the California coast. But husband number one remained a blip on the screen until now.

    The call comes on a Monday morning from a guy who scavenges defaulted storage units at auction. Last week he bought a stack. They had stuff in them--Kinsey stuff. For thirty bucks, he'll sell her the lot. Kinsey's never been one for personal possessions, but curiosity wins out and she hands over a twenty (she may be curious but she loves a bargain). What she finds amid childhood memorabilia is an old undelivered letter.

    It will force her to reexamine her beliefs about the breakup of that first marriage, about the honor of that first husband, about an old unsolved murder. It will put her life in the gravest peril."O" Is for Outlaw: Kinsey's fifteenth adventure into the dark side of human nature.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    O is for Old

    In this book Grafton offers an extensive peak into Kinseys paat. This gives the reader a better understanding of Kinseys present day habits, although sometimes one may feel dissapointed in her. Another book to add to the list of good books by Grafton.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2002

    Another great book by Grafton!

    I really liked this book. I'm a newbie to th alphebet books but this was really great. In this one Kinsey sorts through her past to get a grip on why her 1st ex was shot. I found it very interesting to explore her past as previosly it was only mentioned.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2000

    Great Grafton

    Sue Grafton reveals a part of private Investigator, Kinsey Millhone's past we did not know about. Her first husband, Mickey Magruder, features in this latest crime thriller. He does not personally have a large part to play in the action but Kinsey's case is built around him. The story opens neatly with a sales scavenger offering her a box of her personal effects that had to have been put in storage by Magruder. He has been shot a week before this event with a gun registered to Kinsey. This puts her in the frame for his shooting. The real shooter also went to the trouble of making a phone call to her apartment from Mickey's place the day before the shooting. Kinsey follows the trail her ex. has left behind, uncovering another crime before she tracks down the gunman.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2000

    I bow to Ms. Grafton

    I have read many mystery series but Sue Grafton's Alphabet series is by far the greatest ever !! From A to O, thus far, all 15 books have been a HUGE delight. People....thats 15 winners in a row, how many authors can claim that ? And the good part is she isn't showing no signs of losing steam. Her writing is so perfect in this genre, I am already sad thinking about the last book ( Z is for ? ) Sue Grafton, my hat is off to you and I bow deeply. Thanks for all the fun. Kinsey Milhone forever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2000

    Grafton Does It Again!!!

    Anyone who is a fan of Sue's alphabet books will absolutely love this one. It is a brief look into Kinsey's past. If you are like me you will love the suspense, but also Kinsey's quick-wit which Grafton writes so well. I think these books will become American Classics.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2000

    PI Kinsey Millhone Comes to Life via Audio Books

    I don't have the time to sit and read a book, so that's why I fell in love with Sue Grafton's audio books. Her narrator, Judy Kaye, has brought Kinsey Millhone to life for me that has me continually wanting more. I can actually visulize, through Judy's narration, what Kinsey looks & sounds like. Her devotion to friends Henry & Rosie and her remorse when learning that she may have been wrong...yet again. Sue Grafton has done a marvelous job in making Kinsey Millhone a multidemensional character just like the rest of us. If you haven't read any Grafton I suggest you begin at 'A' and enjoy your way through to 'O.' I promise you won't regret it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Loved it!

    Bravo SG! Well done. Loved it. Love Kinsey!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    good mystery quick read

    Sue, please wrap up your characters better. What happens to all of them?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Another great book!

    Off to read the next book.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    O is for Outstanding!!!

    O is for Outstanding!!!
    " If Life is a play, then there's a logical explanation, and underlying tale that pulls the whole of it together, however clouded it appears" Kinsey Millhone

    O Is For Outlaw, Outstanding!!!

    In the fifteenth installment of the Millhone's franchise, Grafton takes us back decades From the Vietnam War to the late Eighties, and again succeeds, this time by giving us an insight into Kinsey's past.
    Only Sue Grafton, can manage with her narrative style to write a slow- paced story for the first half and turn it to a beatiful and well crafted novel with twists and turns and a spectacular and unforgetable ending.
    O is for Outlaw's plot is brilliant. The story begins with a phone call from from Teddy Rich, who offers to sell Kinsey a box of her personal items that he had bought at a repossesion auction. In the box, Kinsey finds a letter that could have provided as an alibi for Mickey Magruder, her first ex- husband years ago, as he was accused of murder, and also marks the time when Kinsey herself walked away from his life.

    " What is it that prompts us to reenact our unresolved issues? we revisit our wounds, constructing the past in hopes that this time we can make the ending turn right" Kinsey Millhone.
    O is for Outlaw is a story about redemption. Fourteen years later Kinsey realizes she was wrong about Mickey, wrong about her marriage, and about all the circunstances that surrounded her at the time. Now as she tries to come to a closure with Mickey, she learns he has been shot, and it is Kinsey's duty to find the person who shot him.

    With a fascinating cast of characters such as: Mickey Magruder, Duncan Oaks, Benny Quintero, Carlin Duffy, Dixie Hightower, Mark Bethel and more, Grafton is able to capture readers with all the twists and turns and unable to guess what lies ahead.
    What is great about O is for Outlaw is that Grafton gives us a glimpse of some of the events and people that shaped Kinsey's life, and made her character more human.
    The novel is touching, funny, but sad and melancholic at times, and Kinsey is at her best. This is a novel you will not forget soon. Definitely , one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2005

    Starts out slow

    I just started to read this book today...and it is really slow. The details are really uneeded and i really don't want to keep reading itt if it's gonna be such a yawn.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2001

    Pleasurable reading

    Yet a again a winner. Keep the letters coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2000

    This is a great book but where is P?????

    It seems like I read this book about a hundred years ago. Where is P and is it ever coming out. I have loved A through O. Will keep waiting and reading other authors.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2000

    Welcome Back, Kinsey!

    Smooth and fast, complex and engaging as ever. Kinsey Millhone never stops moving; Sue Grafton never wastes a word. As the series develops, we learn more about Kinsey's background. Will she, in the final Alphabet mystery, investigate her parents' death? Will she finally uncover the secret that tore her family apart? And last, has any series author ever had the ingenuity and stamina to project a dramatic arc across twenty-six books?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2000

    Sue Grafton does it again!

    Sue Grafton has proved again she is one of the best writers of our day. The story lines are exciting and easy to read. You KNOW the main character, Kinsey. You can feel what is going on inside her. Great book.Would recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2000

    Grafton in Great

    Sue Grafton once again captured our attention with Kinsey's sarcastic yet funny take on life. I can never wait for the paperbacks and I'm glad I didn't with 'O.' If you have a sarcastic sense of humor--you'll love Kinsey Milhone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3