Customer Reviews for

O Little Town: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 126 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful Book

My husband and daughter gave me this book for Christmas. Don Reid is from my hometown so I was excited to read his first novel. Although the town is not identified as Staunton, I find myself picturing "our town" in my mind as I read and get involved in the lives of the ...
My husband and daughter gave me this book for Christmas. Don Reid is from my hometown so I was excited to read his first novel. Although the town is not identified as Staunton, I find myself picturing "our town" in my mind as I read and get involved in the lives of the characters. Since I have not lived there since 1986, the memories are sweet. This book is a must read for all small town Southerners - and others too - who want to escape in a beautiful character-rich story. Enjoy.

posted by MuffyBelle on January 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good book

I had a hard time getting into it at first, asit jumped around a lot, but by the middle i wanted to see what happened next. Good read overall!

posted by 472157 on December 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Good

    I love how all the characters in the book are connected in some way. The only real problem I had was that it was short and if it had been longer more details could have been given and each person's life could have played out more.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Loved it!

    Great story with interesting characters- you can clearly envision the town and its inhabitants, picture the scenes as they unfold. The writing keeps you engaged without the dreaded (at least I find them dreadful!) terribly unrealistic situations or perfect outcomes and yet the story remains upbeat and hopeful. Highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Closely spun tale

    It starts slowly, but wraps around itself nicely by the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    Good book

    I really enjoyed this book and the storyline. It was well written and interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Great read!

    Good story. Great characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Good book

    Really good for being free, wasnt what I expected. But makes you think about life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Nice.

    This made for a nice Christmas read. The characters were interesting. The adultery story was a bit unbelievable in that it was never consummated. However, I enjoyed how it wrapped up with a happy ending for everyone involved. It isn't real life, but I liked it nonetheless.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Recommend

    I liked the dynamics between the characters. Small towns are intriguing and this book was enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Very nice story

    I loved the charactors and the story is very sweet. I enjoyed reading a Christmas story at Christmas time. Will probably read it again next year.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Nice christmas story

    This was a sweet Christmas book that I really enjoyed. Set in a smallish town where you may know who some people are but you¿ve never been close to them. As Christmas comes along these families lives become intertwined and will never be the same again.

    I was afraid at first when it started out with a pastor I thought uhoh it¿s going to be preachy but it wasn¿t at all. This was a story of failures and forgiveness and what family and love mean to you as a person. This book was full of flawed characters all trying their hardest to make it in the world,and to do their best in overcoming everything life throws at them.

    This was a look into the lives of a diverse group of people who are intertwined in ways none of them ever expected. It was like being a fly on the wall and an intimate look into the real lives of people, not just the outside they show other people. I thought all the characters were believable and seemed like people you would know in your own hometown.

    This was just an all around good story and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a good Christmas read!

    4 Stars

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good read

    Nice book easy to read because i could not put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very Nice Story!

    Short story that was very nice to read during Christmas. Very enjoyabe!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    Great Book!

    Easy Read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    Nice Christmas read

    I was surprised by how much I enjoyed this book. It's a cozy, comforting Christmas read-- well-written with very real and surprisingly developed characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    Good read

    Truly enjoyed reading this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Not your usual holiday story

    Not your every day holiday story - but very interesting plot. Each family's story could have made a book on its own. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    very good

    really enjoyable anytime of year

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I just finished this book last night. It was a sweet and bittersweet story of small town life, with exceptionally likeable characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2