Customer Reviews for

O Little Town: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 126 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful Book

My husband and daughter gave me this book for Christmas. Don Reid is from my hometown so I was excited to read his first novel. Although the town is not identified as Staunton, I find myself picturing "our town" in my mind as I read and get involved in the lives of the ...
My husband and daughter gave me this book for Christmas. Don Reid is from my hometown so I was excited to read his first novel. Although the town is not identified as Staunton, I find myself picturing "our town" in my mind as I read and get involved in the lives of the characters. Since I have not lived there since 1986, the memories are sweet. This book is a must read for all small town Southerners - and others too - who want to escape in a beautiful character-rich story. Enjoy.

posted by MuffyBelle on January 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good book

I had a hard time getting into it at first, asit jumped around a lot, but by the middle i wanted to see what happened next. Good read overall!

posted by 472157 on December 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 5, 2009

    Wonderful Book

    My husband and daughter gave me this book for Christmas. Don Reid is from my hometown so I was excited to read his first novel. Although the town is not identified as Staunton, I find myself picturing "our town" in my mind as I read and get involved in the lives of the characters. Since I have not lived there since 1986, the memories are sweet. This book is a must read for all small town Southerners - and others too - who want to escape in a beautiful character-rich story. Enjoy.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book takes place in 1958

    A great book by Don Reid, this was his first book and it comes back around every year around Christmas. It is set in 1958 right at Christmas time and tells a story about different characters. I was a young teen about that time and knew all about a lot of the things that is talked about in this book just not the people. The story takes place in Mt. Jefferson, Va and it switches back and forth between the characters and lets each one talk about their life. There was Walter, he was a sick man and he kept remembering back when he was a young lad and worked in the Crown theater, and about some live actors before the movies came. He was 16 at the time and he really fell for the actress Adrienne. He was the most remarkable character to me. Then there was the police chief, alone with his wife and their pregnant 16 year old daughter and how they handled the teen pregnancy back in the 1950's.

    The pastor had a wife that was more interested in another man than her own family, so the teen daughter decided she would steal from the mercantile. Two of the wives were sisters and the daughters of Walter, one was married to the doctor and the other was married to Mercantile manager.

    As I would think like any small town there were tongues wagging telling this and that, and no always the truth. I don't know this for a fact if that is the way of small towns as I have never lived in town always in the country.


    This book is really a good book and Don did a fine job. Almost as good as his singing you heard I said ALMOST, I loved to hear the Statler Brothers and loved way back when they first got their start. My children grew up listening to the old 33 1/3 lps and me singing alone as I worked in the house.


    This book was sent to me by Jeane at wynnwynn media free for me to post my honest review.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Loved this book!

    This was a quick read, mainly because I couldn't put it down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    A great read...

    I really enjoyed this book ... The point of view it was written from was delightful.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Uplifting!

    This is a truely wonderful story. The characters all feel like old friends that I would love to meet again and again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Great Book

    I was looking for a book to read @ Christmas time. this one was perfect. I hadn't read anything from Don Reid b4 but this was a truely great book. I couldn't put it down I just couodn't wait 2 c what was going 2 happen next. : )

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Excellent Book! Highly recommended!

    This is an excellent book for those that love holiday books, but would love to read one other than the usual kitchy romance holiday books this time of year. This book is about a small town at Christmas time, and the trials and tribulations that some of the families in that small town are enduring.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    wonderful!

    Good read for the holidays, made me think about my own family and the power of forgiveness

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Good Read!

    Loved this! Real issues handled with thought and care. Easy read and gripping story lines.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2014

    I truly enjoyed this story, I like the way the author did not le

    I truly enjoyed this story, I like the way the author did not leave you wondering def must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Very enjoyable

    Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2013

    Great story, wonderful characters! A book I couldn't put down.

    Great story, wonderful characters! A book I couldn't put down. I also agree with another comment..."a must read for all small town Southerners - and others too!"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Great christmas story

    I loved how all the characters lives were mingled together. It makes want to keep reading and reading to see the domino effect.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    GOOD BOOK!!:)

    Good book i would read it a hundred and one times and it would still never get old!!:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Enjoyed it!

    Very much enjoyed reading this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Refreshing Storytelling

    Enjoyed being taken back to a time when the problems were the same, but the life style was less complicated. Author developed the charachters very well and kept me wanting to know how things would be resolved. Forgiveness is integral to life as this author so eloquently pointed out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Great story

    It kept me reading,I didn't want to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    highly recommend

    Enjoyed the book, would suggest ut to a friend

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Do something good for yourself and read this Book!!

    I read 'O Little Town' over Christmas holidays and what a refreshing read it was. This story and characters from simpler times was like balm to my soul. I have recommended it to all my friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    a must read

    a great feel good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4