Customer Reviews for

O Pioneers! (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 214 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 217 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    Wonderful!

    This was the first Willa Cather book I have ever read, and I was not disappointed. This novel is short, but spans over a woman's life from teenage years past her forties, with love stories, conflicts, murders, sweet characters, strange characters, mean characters. I just loved it. Not to mention that Willa Cather's view of America's land is beautiful to read. It gives you a sense of appreciation for things that you may have overlooked, or that you could never quite put into such words as Willa Cather. I got the sense that Alexandra was greatly inspired by Willa Cather herself, which also adds to the book. This book was a very quick read, but one I am sure I will read many times. I also plan to give her other writings a read as well!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Poignant frontier tale

    Will Cather's O Pioneers! certainly left an impression on me, as any good book should. The novella, a haunting, even troublesome, story of the life of European immigrants in Nebraska at the end of the 19th century, belies Cather's simple, casual style by providing deep insights into the human condition and life itself. Cather claimed she "wanted to let the country be the hero," and she definitely succeeds in her purpose. In fact, none of the characters--least of all Alexandra Bergson, the protagonist--display profound depth or dynamism in and of themselves, but Cather places her "human characters" in the background for a reason. Her story ultimately focuses on the interaction between Man and Nature, as well as humanity's continual struggle against perceived "fate." Deeply tragic yet (paradoxically enough) hopeful and satisfying, O Pioneers! takes the reader on a journey through the melancholy regions of life, refusing to glamorize pain and hardship. However, Cather finally concludes that loss constitutes an integral part of the human experience and essentially serves to refine each individual. Recommended!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Touching- Makes you think.

    I read O Pioneers for school but quickly found it was more of a for-fun read- I enjoyed every page and only wish it were longer. The characters are so amazingly real that the reader becomes easily attached to them. I really felt as though I was in the book as I experienced this amazing tale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Cather paints with words

    I bought this book as a gift for my niece who is a book worm. Willa Cather paints her stories. She is a wonderful writer. Great stories, great characters. This is a classic of the pioneering days in the Midwest. I highly recommend all her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderfull story

    I read this in High School and 40 plus years later my Book Club decided to read it. Got so much more out of it now - It is a wonderful easy yet very deep meaning story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Enjoyable

    An ok read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Very good.

    I liked the part where Emil was fussing about his kitten.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    Truly a Classic

    If you have never walked the hills and fields of grass in Webster county nebraska smelle,d touched and felt the land the way Cather did the you owe it to yourself to do just that. Located a short 2 hour drive from Lincon here is a 1 or 2 day, 1 tank trip to see much of rural America as it was 120 years ago. Some of the best preserved sites and buildings anwyhere and the are in our back yard. OH and the book Love, Murder, Adultry it is all there and even better today than when it was new. Interesting how times change but the stories continue!

    Been There

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It's a classic so it's kind of dry

    I had no problems getting through the first half of this book. As I progressed in the novel I had a hard time getting through the rest. It just drags on in some spots. I appreciate the classic writing and storytelling and all that but I totally get why I had problems reading it in high school.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    I LOVED this story

    Perhaps because I was born and raised on a farm in Canada, I related to this story. I understand the hardships associated with farm life, and the tolls it can take on a family.
    The characters are so well defined, they virtually step out of the pages and into your life.
    I recommend this to anyone who enjoys reading about the breaking into the midwest, how people survived and the hardships they endured. Though at times it may read like a history book, it opens the readers mind to what it was like to live in those times. The story helps us to experience the deep family bonds, the test of wills, and the liberties and constraints people lived with, both personally and culturally. A very good read; I only thing I disliked was having to put it down for mundane things like, sleep, meals and general household tasks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    wow!

    I really loved this book. It could have been written yesterday instead of decades ago. The characters are strong and the story goes at a good pace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2010

    A good book!

    Somehow I missed reading this one in high school. Even though this book is almost a century old, the story of love, loss, and determination is timeless. The writing style is easy to read, characters are believable, and the descriptions of the prairie are lovely. I recommend this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    WONDERFUL

    I'm not a Willa Cather fan but I have nothing by praise for this book. <BR/>Other works by Cather have failed to move me, so I expected little from O Pioneers! <BR/>There's an economy of words, but each one paints a very thorough, detailed and imaginative picture. This book is meant to be read several times.<BR/>A true classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2008

    Slow at first, then haunting

    Alexandra grows up in frontier Nebraska on the brink of what appears to be a wasteland. Through forward, perhaps wishful, thinking - Alexandra conquers the plain but at the expense of her distrustful family. The story has an unexpected, haunting conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2007

    A reviewer

    A bit slow at first, then the reader's interest is entwined with concern for the characters' survival. Like many classics, values and ethics are presented as story and develop into life's lessons that all should consider, but rarely pay any attention to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2007

    O Pioneers (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

    I loved every page in this book. I don't want to ruin the ending, but it is one i will not soon forget. It left me thinking for a long time. This book has many lessons and ideas buried within. Overall, a fantastic book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2007

    O Pioneers (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

    I wasn't looking for this book when I found it, but it turned out to be better than any others I bought that day. The story goes quickly through the life of a woman named Alexandra. This book ended fantastically and I will always treausre this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2005

    Struggle on the Frontier

    This short to the point story about a woman challenged by the Nebraska farm land. It is amazing what she went through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2004

    A wonderful book!

    I stumbled on this book one day entirely by accident, and I'm so glad I did! It is a very engaging book. Cather's flowing style and her mastery of descriptive writing made this book especially enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2004

    Great Classic!

    I really enjoy reading about pioneers and frontier life. I have bought classics in the past but they have just ended up on the my bookshelve because I have a difficult time getting into them. I didn't have any problems with this book. It reads very smoothly and it holds your interest. I look forward to reading Cather's book, My Antonia, next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 217 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11