Customer Reviews for

O Pioneers! (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 215 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    Wonderful!

    This was the first Willa Cather book I have ever read, and I was not disappointed. This novel is short, but spans over a woman's life from teenage years past her forties, with love stories, conflicts, murders, sweet characters, strange characters, mean characters. I just loved it. Not to mention that Willa Cather's view of America's land is beautiful to read. It gives you a sense of appreciation for things that you may have overlooked, or that you could never quite put into such words as Willa Cather. I got the sense that Alexandra was greatly inspired by Willa Cather herself, which also adds to the book. This book was a very quick read, but one I am sure I will read many times. I also plan to give her other writings a read as well!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Cather paints with words

    I bought this book as a gift for my niece who is a book worm. Willa Cather paints her stories. She is a wonderful writer. Great stories, great characters. This is a classic of the pioneering days in the Midwest. I highly recommend all her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Very good.

    I liked the part where Emil was fussing about his kitten.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    Truly a Classic

    If you have never walked the hills and fields of grass in Webster county nebraska smelle,d touched and felt the land the way Cather did the you owe it to yourself to do just that. Located a short 2 hour drive from Lincon here is a 1 or 2 day, 1 tank trip to see much of rural America as it was 120 years ago. Some of the best preserved sites and buildings anwyhere and the are in our back yard. OH and the book Love, Murder, Adultry it is all there and even better today than when it was new. Interesting how times change but the stories continue!

    Been There

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    I LOVED this story

    Perhaps because I was born and raised on a farm in Canada, I related to this story. I understand the hardships associated with farm life, and the tolls it can take on a family.
    The characters are so well defined, they virtually step out of the pages and into your life.
    I recommend this to anyone who enjoys reading about the breaking into the midwest, how people survived and the hardships they endured. Though at times it may read like a history book, it opens the readers mind to what it was like to live in those times. The story helps us to experience the deep family bonds, the test of wills, and the liberties and constraints people lived with, both personally and culturally. A very good read; I only thing I disliked was having to put it down for mundane things like, sleep, meals and general household tasks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2008

    Slow at first, then haunting

    Alexandra grows up in frontier Nebraska on the brink of what appears to be a wasteland. Through forward, perhaps wishful, thinking - Alexandra conquers the plain but at the expense of her distrustful family. The story has an unexpected, haunting conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2007

    O Pioneers (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

    I loved every page in this book. I don't want to ruin the ending, but it is one i will not soon forget. It left me thinking for a long time. This book has many lessons and ideas buried within. Overall, a fantastic book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2007

    O Pioneers (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

    I wasn't looking for this book when I found it, but it turned out to be better than any others I bought that day. The story goes quickly through the life of a woman named Alexandra. This book ended fantastically and I will always treausre this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2004

    A wonderful book!

    I stumbled on this book one day entirely by accident, and I'm so glad I did! It is a very engaging book. Cather's flowing style and her mastery of descriptive writing made this book especially enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2004

    Great Classic!

    I really enjoy reading about pioneers and frontier life. I have bought classics in the past but they have just ended up on the my bookshelve because I have a difficult time getting into them. I didn't have any problems with this book. It reads very smoothly and it holds your interest. I look forward to reading Cather's book, My Antonia, next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4