Customer Reviews for

O, The Oprah Magazine

Average Rating 3.5
( 277 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely love it!

I love reading "O" magazine on my NOOk Color. I always enjoyed reading the magazine but because of the size it would not fit in my purse. Now I pop my NOOK Color in my purse and have "O" available at all times. No more piles of magazines cluttering my house. I Love my...
I love reading "O" magazine on my NOOk Color. I always enjoyed reading the magazine but because of the size it would not fit in my purse. Now I pop my NOOK Color in my purse and have "O" available at all times. No more piles of magazines cluttering my house. I Love my NOOK Color!

posted by 4620779 on January 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Too many ads!

This mag has far too many ads making it not worth the cost of subscription in my opinon. Canceled after first month. Too many ads Oprah, too many ads!

posted by AJonesAJ on April 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 277 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    Absolutely love it!

    I love reading "O" magazine on my NOOk Color. I always enjoyed reading the magazine but because of the size it would not fit in my purse. Now I pop my NOOK Color in my purse and have "O" available at all times. No more piles of magazines cluttering my house. I Love my NOOK Color!

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    Too many ads!

    This mag has far too many ads making it not worth the cost of subscription in my opinon. Canceled after first month. Too many ads Oprah, too many ads!

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2010

    Good Stuff!

    Nice! Loving the $1.99 per month. Now you only have to get People Magazine and I am happy cappy! :-) Bright and sharp just like all the other magazines. Now if I could only stop cluttering up my screen with every single magazine.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    The "article view" makes it so easy to read this awesome magazine. Less than $2 a month for many magazine subscriptions. Thanks Barnes and Noble!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Annoying format

    Very hard to read an article without having to zoom in and slide around. You never see the whole magazine page on the screen unless you have Superhero vision.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    Inspiring - Visually Appealing on the Nook Color. GREAT buy!

    I have been on bed rest and have REALLY enjoyed reading magazines on my Nook Color. The content of the magazine is inspiring. The articles are well written. Yes. There are a lot of ads...as there are in any other magazine. I do not think that the number of the ads was out of place for a publication, at all.

    I was pleasantly surprised by the depth of the content of the magazine. I will definitely be subscribing to "O" on my Nook Color. $1.99 is an awesome price for something that I found so inspiring, interesting, helpful, timely, attractive to look at...and entertaining to boot!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Get a better Digital Edition!

    Oprah, I love you. I am one of your most ardent fans, but it is absolutely inconceivable to me that you do not get a proper digital edition of your magazine. You need to step it up and until you do I am canceling my subscription. For examples of what a good digital magazine looks like please see Vanity Fair and Entertainment Weekly. You are an industry leader and it is unfathomable that you are not leading the way in a tech savvy version of your magazine.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2014

    Where's my third issue?

    I started subscribing to this in Sept. 2014, and received the October and November issues before they appeared on newsstands. But I have yet to see the December, 2014 issue on my NOOK yet - and it has been out on newsstands for weeks now.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Digitial Format Probably Not Best for Magazines

    I like few magazines, but I do like O. BUT, the digital format really makes the ads look HUGE and the print really small. You have to navigate around the screen to read the print, and its not much fun. I do read on my 15.6" laptop, not an e-reader, so I'm going cancel my subscription. If I don't find value in the experience, I really don't want to pay for it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Over rated - shouldn't even get 1 star

    I was totally disappointed in this magazine. It is not worth the money.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Love the print; hate the dig version

    I have subscribed to other mags on my Nook and LOVE them! However, this format was terrible! I had to use Article View on everything but the ads (but those were tiny too). I am very glad this was a free trial, I would have been upset to pay for something I wasn't able to easily read. Hopefully, they will change their format and it will get better. :(

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    printed subscription only

    Will cancel printed subscription since it does not include free nook subscription

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Readability

    Small type too difficult to read on small screen

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Love Oprah...

    Cancelled...too many ads.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    Not for me

    To many advertisements.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    It's an amazing magazine for the price that u are Paying!

    I love this mag since I bought the one that Ellen was on the cover with Oprah. I thought about buying the suscription and I'm happy I didn't cause my husband just got me the nook color and now I'm going to receive it. For all those people who own the ipad I'm sorry that you can not view the magazine but my understanding is that you h
    ave way cooler stuff that you can do with it. I imagine that's why you pay so much money for it! I agree with the nook owners. I think they should be able to buy emag.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Delayed

    Always delivered late to my nook

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Love it, Love it, Love it!

    I enjoy O Magazine and had a regular subscription, but thought I'd try the NC one. I love always having the issues with me so I can read whenever it's convenient. The layout is nice. I love the "article view" and the way you can flip to whatever page you wish to at the bottom.
    Also nice to just pinch or zoom to adjust the size of the pictures which are dazzling and bright. I love the articles and actually enjoy the beautiful ads. I wonder if you can "capture" pictures that you find interesting. I'll have to try. I like to be able to save or "archive" any issues without having lots of old ones taking up space at home. Thanks for the reasonable price although it is more than I paid for the home subscription.
    Keep the good articles coming Oprah! Girl Power!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    So convenient

    I LOVE IT! Makes reading the magazine on the nyc subway fun and the pages are in vivid color, recommend Article View for the smaller feature articles.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2014

    Not authentic

    I see Oprah on tv in the present and she doesn't reflect her true self in the magazine as far as looking like the same person. She is letting us down with the airbrushing and slenderizing of the photos especially on the covers. Oprah looks nothing like that in real life and it makes women like myself feel we are never good enough. That's the message I'm getting when she doesn't reflect the real way she looks weight and all. Why doesn't she let her authentic self come through from the front page to the last page. In person she look fifty pounds heavier than any of her magazine photos reflect. The photos appear to be very altered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 277 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14