Customer Reviews for

An O'Brien Family Christmas

Average Rating 4
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    can't wait

    I have read all Sherryl Woods's books. They are hard to put down. Can't wait to read the next.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    charming christmas

    What a great story makes for a charming christmas.

    The O'Brien family is all going over to Ireland taking Nell and all the extended family thier for two week visit.

    Laila own brother is going with his wife and two stepdaughters. Her best friends are going with thier families. Even her exboyfriend is going Mathew. Laila has been staying away from everyone scince her fight with her father and quiting her job at the family bank. Her friends try and convince her to come so she won't be alone for Christmas.

    Mathew would not mind he had wanted to propose to her in Ireland and even get married thier while on vacation. It was not his idea to break up.

    Laila has gone through a lot of changes and she still wants Mathew but doesn't see away for them to be together. Especially with her older than him.

    Finally Laila decides to go and Mathew promised no sex or pressure if she goes. Mathew wants to show her that their can be more to their relationship than steamy sex.

    Nell at 80 is seeing her old boyfriend Dillion before she went back to America and got married.

    Her three sons are thier with thier wives and children and grandchildren.

    I have not read any of this series but I would love to go back and read them. It is a charming family with lots of issues and lots of love.

    Its fun to see all the couples and hear little bit about what they went through and changes they have in thier lives now.

    I was given this ebook in exchange for honest review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Highly recommend- Sherryl Woods is a fantastic read.

    Have read quite a few of her series and this one is one you want to just keep reading to get to the end. I can't wait to see the next one in her series the characters are so real and very heart warming. She has a way of making you chuckle at what happens yet not want to quit reading till the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book was a lot of fun.

    This is one of those series that you can pick up in almost any book and not feel like you’re missing something – but still want to read more.
    It’s also one of those books that has all of the fun and magic of Christmas inter-mingled with the love and scheming of a closely knit family.

    It's a bit steamy but not more than an older teen could handle.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    super series!

    An O'Brien FamilY Christmas by Sherryl Woods
    Laila Riley's father ran the bank. She used to have a job there til she hooked up
    with playboy Matthew O'Brien. Now she will work at the Inn doing their accounting
    The whole family each had their turn at talking to her to get her to change her mind and go with the family to Ireland for Christmas.
    It finally worked and she just loved Ireland and how Matthew was the tour guide and knew so much about the country. All of them would show up, 1/2 of them in the first batch. Other half in a few more days.
    Love how throughout the whole book I am updated on the other members of the families and their lives as it's all intertwined. I know I've missed a few in the series but I can kinda catch up with them anyways.
    Love how the scenery is described, makes me feel like I'm on the
    trip with them.

    And Nell, the leader of the O'Briens meets up with an old boyfriend while in Ireland and they spend some time together and even have a coming of the clans-a huge dinner party. One rebellious woman has been settled by one of the O'Briends much to everybodys astonishment.

    Even though some in the family thinks there will be a wedding in Ireland there are just too many problems and obstacles to overcome with Liala and her father.
    Crackers-all right! Love those things! Ah the Christmas Blessing, what a treat!
    Wow, always something going on: Christmas morning announcements: a wedding, one is expecting a baby, donating gifts to the less fortunate, and another wedding in the works.

    i rate this book a 5 for all the down to earth things that occur, just wish I had a fairytale wedding day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A classic Christmas love story in old Dublin Town

    Matriarch Nell O¿Brien wants to spend Christmas in her beloved Dublin, she hasn¿t been since she was a girl and her entire family want to make sure it happens, she also wants to put her matchmaking to work for her grandson Matthew and Laila Riley. Laila Riley gave up her dream job of working in her father¿s bank after the explosion that was her announcement of being involved with Matthew O¿Brien, her father was not happy not just because he¿s younger but because he¿s a known rake and rascal and decided Laila¿s judgment is flawed because of her choice. So what¿s a girl to do other than storm out, quit her job and as a direct result break it off with the man who if truth be told takes her far out of her comfort zone. She¿s been invited to Ireland for the O¿Brien family celebration, but how can she go knowing that Matthew will be under foot the whole trip and she¿s not sure she has the willpower to resist him. Matthew O¿Brien never wanted to break up with Laila, he loved her and still does and wants nothing more than to convince her that he is her one and only and in spite of the interference of his family he¿s bound and determined to make this happen, but first he needs to get her to Ireland. Let the games begin is a perfect description of this mêlée called a family holiday with many different personalities and opinions it makes one wonder if Dublin is big enough for all of them. Ms. Woods does herself proud with this classic tale of Christmas love, what little girl doesn¿t dream of her prince charming and what big girl hasn¿t dreamt at least once of being a Christmas bride or at least finding a certain bling under the tree. The characters are all old friends from her previous catastrophic O¿Brien family sagas with a few new ones to shake up the plot. The love story is also classic, two people who are reunited and will bring a tear to any romance lover¿s eye. Ms. Woods also brings us the sights, sounds and smells of an Irish Christmas scene and I swear I could smell the evergreen and see the lights blinking in the windows, she also gives us an easy to follow and fast paced dialogue. The love scene is pretty smokin, but in a very veiled and indistinct way and will not offend any reader. All in all it¿s the perfect start to the most written about holiday. Will they ride off into the Irish sunset, oh me dearies for that you¿ll have to read the book. Thank You Ms. Woods for an enjoyable read, a memorable romance and a breathtaking journey to the Emerald Isle.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    very good series

    i ENJOY READING THIS SERIES

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Loved this series Highly recommebded s

    Awesome series wish there was more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Feel good holiday love story

    This was a nice reminder of how love and family make the
    holidays so special


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Book Review: An O'Brien Family Christmas by Sherryl Woods

    This was a very entertaining holiday read. I loved the fact that there was an important family element and adored the setting. What could be better than a trip to Dublin, Ireland for the holidays??


    The characters were all incredibly likable if not terribly well developed. I fear that reading a book in this series out of order may have been a disservice to the author as there are so many characters who very obviously have been previously introduced and developed. I admit that I had a bit of a hard time keeping track of who was who...but it barely detracted from the story at hand.


    The main story line with Laila & Matthew developed nicely and kept me rooting for the couple until the end and the secondary story lines (especially that of the grandmother Nell)provided sufficient information about the other characters to tempt me to pick up another in this series. I'd definitely advise reading them in order however.


    All in all, a fun easy holiday read with a wonderful setting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Series Reading

    Thouroughly enjoyed this series based in Maryland

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    boring

    This book is very boring

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Ok read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Good

    Sounds good if you li it are doint send feedback thanks

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Wonderful story

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Great Book in the O'Brien Saga!! Highly Recommended

    I enjoy all of Sherryl Woods books, but the ones on the Chesapeake Shores and the Fools Gold series are the best!!

    You won't be able to put it down once you start reading it!

    Love her books....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Can NOT get enough of the O'Briens

    This is book number eight in the Chesapeake Shores Series. I LOVE this book. Just when I start to think that the previous book/books can't be topped, Sherryl tops them.

    I found myself relating a great deal with Laila Riley, we're very much alike in a lot of ways. Christmas is my favorite holiday and what could be more special than to spend it with the entire O'Brien family in Ireland of all places.

    I didn't quite shed a tear, but I came close a couple of times.

    You will love this book as much as I do. If you haven't read any of the other books in this series, be sure to read them. You can not go wrong with these books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Magical Read

    A torrid love affair with a younger man cost banker Leila Riley her job and her father's respect. Was it just a fling? In retrospect Leila thinks so...and she breaks it off with Matthew O'Brien.

    All her life Leila has felt she never measured up to her father's expectations. Her affair with the much younger Matthew, regarded as a player by many including her father, cost her the career she wanted so badly. Resenting her loss, she breaks up with Matthew and takes an unfulfilling job as an accountant.

    Matthew, however, is deeply in love with Leila and determined to get her to Ireland for the O'Brien family Christmas. Leila is close to Matthew's family, partly because her best friend Abby is married to Leila's brother Trace. And apparently the lovable, but at times meddling, O'Brien clan has decided that Leila needs to patch up whatever differences she has with Matthew. A little manipulation from Nell, the O'Brien matriarch, convinces Leila that she should go along.

    Matthew had planned to propose in Dublin, now he rethinks his plan, this time determined to let their courtship proceed at a slow pace, something that, at times, is frustrating to both himself and Leila who is desperately trying to convince herself that they're not suited for each other. Meanwhile Susie and Mack enjoy a honeymoon they never managed to take because of her illness and Nell encounters a former flame. All makes for great adventure amid the background of delightful Dublin.

    In this charming Christmas tale Ms. Woods brings out the irrepressible O'Briens and their machinations. I loved every minute of the story with its warmth and the humor as only Sherryl Woods can provide. Strong writing and likable characters is a keynote of the Chesapeake Shores series, and An O'Brien Family Christmas is one of my favorites.

    I loved Laila and Matthew. I had a quibble with the validity of a special license wedding since all weddings in Ireland require at least a three-week residency and the petition for such a license must be delivered in person by one of the parties being married. However, the wedding, even though not possible under the current governmental regulations, still made for a magical story.
    Originally posted at The Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    the usual charming tale

    In Chesapeake Shores, Laila Riley ended her relationship with younger Matthew O'Brien but paid the price for what she declared a fling. Her parents condemned her and after a fight with her father she left the greatest position in the world at his bank. Only Trace her brother seems to support her emotionally and with customers as she opens up an office in The Inn At Eagle Point. Matthew is heartbroken as he wanted a permanent relationship with the love of his life, but honors her wishes to stay away from her as he knows she resents him for what their tryst cost her.

    The O'Brien clan believes Laila and Matthew are soul mates and plan to act on it while on a two week Christmas vacation in Ireland in honor of the family octogenarian matriarch Nell. Knowing her estrangement with her parents, Laila's friends persuade her to come on the trip as they do not want her alone over the holidays. Although she has trepidations of seeing Matthew who will be going too, she travels to Ireland for an O'Brien family Christmas. Meanwhile Nell sees her pre American marriage Irish boyfriend Dillon.

    The latest Chesapeake Shores family drama (see A Chesapeake Shores Christmas) is the usual charming tale. Part of the pleasure is to observe what has happened to former lead protagonists and Nell's second chance romance. However, the main story line is the relationship between the older Laila and Matthew whose game plan is to prove to his beloved they can have more than just the greatest sex he ever has known.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5