Customer Reviews for

The O'Reilly Factor: The Good, the Bad, and the Completely Ridiculous in American Life

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Great book

    This book is very satisfying to any decent person who enjoys politics. I may be young, but even I like it. Is very humorous, with opinions backed by information. This book is written for

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2006

    Basic O'Reilly

    ...for those of you who don't know him well! To build on Bill's fundamental beliefs about the Judeo-Christian origins of the USA and whether we really are not: 1) Interest on loans is contrary to both teachings, as it preys on people who are in financial need. Also, in Deuteronomy every debt is to be forgiven every 7 years this also means any debt must be repayable within 7 years. Now look at the credit system in all areas of American life-- Judeo-Christian?? 2)Employers should not exploit employees by paying them poorly.We all need to eat-- hence our daily bread.How many go hungry or don't know where their food will come from? How many barely survive or survive by intermittent homelessness in the USA because of a minimum wage and federal poverty level that is grossly inaccurate? How many executives make hundreds or thousands of multiples in salary of the lowest paidworkers? Does Bill Gates of Microsoft give 500,000 times the value that the receptionist does? Does Bob Nardelli of Home Depot provide 500-1000 times the value your ordinary employee in the store gives? Ths system Jesus described under Caesar kept the poor from thriving -- sound like the U.S.? Examples of exceptions can be found but the average American has little chance of seeing true prosperity. 3)If you are wronged in America and it is civil, you must first have money to recover your losses in most non-personal injury areas. The monies to obtain representation are not cheap. For say an average Walmart employee ,the 'retainer' might be 1/4-1/2 of their gross annual income just to get started. Law is big business in the USA, a source of wealth building unto itself.Judeo-Christian??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2006

    An introduction only, not the Compleat O'Reilly!

    This will give you a flavor for Bill's humor,priorities and qualms! But as a reader and viewer seeing how Bill looks down on the unsuccessful in American society, i must wonder how Bill would receive someone such as Jesus if he suddenly appeared today? Jesus was homeless,jobless and itinerant while generous to a fault and highly intelligent. In the material hierarchy of this society or most others( exceptions being 'aboriginal' cultures) Jesus might be labeled a failure in material terms by hardliners. If Jesus lived a less than socially acceptable life and did not judge those in that state, who among us is to judge? I like Bill and have enjoyed his past shows and admire his courage in bringing topics to light largely ignored by the mainstream but hope he can find more compassion in his heart. Not everyone who does not prosper is a loser and failure, Mr. O'Reilly. Do you consider Jesus a loser?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2004

    About Life

    Bill O'Reilly discusses life issues. His opinions are just common sense. People need to listen to that little voice in side of them, which is Mr. O¿Reilly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2003

    No Spin Whatsoever

    I'm a huge fan of The Factor and can tell you I wasted no time whatsoever in reading this book cover-to-cover. Even if you hate the man, you gotta admit that he does make some good points and makes you think. Enjoyable and to the point! I have a feeling I'll be a lot like him when I get a little older.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2003

    The FACTor

    The O'Reilly Factor is a very opinionated book, however the opinions are back up by facts. It doesn't drone on forever, it's short, simple, and to the point. Very imformative without being too wordy. Covers everything from morals to facts on drugs, parenting, jobs, to dating and sucess.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2003

    Great Book

    Bill always is on target. I am an avid watcher of the O'Reilly Factor, and I can honestly say he holds a lot of my respect on his show and in his book. Thanks Bill for always being truthful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2003

    Great Book!

    Whether you like him or not, you can't deny the fact that he makes you question your own beliefs. I respect him as an intellect and as a journalist. Even though I may not agree with him on all issues, I enjoy hearing what he has to say. I think this is a great book that should be in everyone's library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2002

    Situation Report

    There is no revolutionary philosophy here, just old fashioned common sense! O'Reilly is patriotic but ignores the fact that our government has let us down repeatedly.. Under Hoover the FBI ran rampant blacklisting such individuals as E.B. White,William Faulkner, Hemmingway.. Under the CIA's MK Ultra, prisoners like Whitey Bulger and unsuspecting military personnel were subjected to non-consenting drug experiments. The IRS, NSA and who knows how many agencies have been described as politically controlled in various media news programs. All sorts of illegal criminal operations from gambling,prostitution and drugs enjoy the support of local,state and federal law enforcement and their complements in state and federal corrections systems. Our churches shun far more than they serve and help and our policymakers export jobs to other countries such as Canada,Mexico and China under Nafta, which has taken many jobs away from Americans. In China, where much of the goods may well come from prison labor in a politically oppressive regime. Our Justice Department allows large amounts of foreign immigrants to come to the USA , enjoy education at our finest schools then allow them to return to their countries who many times later use such education against us or stay here and enjoy a prosperity that escapes perhaps 50-90% of the natural U.S. citizens. What say you, Mr. O'Reilly?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2002

    Shallow but good for a hearty laugh

    This book is basically an overview of his general philosophy. There are many topics O'Reilly could tackle. One such example is how even though the Fed lowered interest rates, interest on credit cards for millions of consumers did not fall accordingly. Many credit cards have a prime rate + a certain percentage and it follows if the prime falls so too should the interest rate. But banks like MBNA for example didn't lower their rates but raised them. There are cases where MBNA raised individual cardholder rates by 10% for no apparent reason! Or another topic: ignorance of the law is no excuse yet if you break the law it costs major dollars to defend yourself. Should we as Americans tolerate a government which makes the laws and which also knows that those laws can force many people into severe financial jeopardy or deny them justice outright simply because of finances? Another topic: is it possible that any major figure affecting public policy has first to be cleared by the intelligence community first? This,if true could signify that judges, politicians,celebrities, highest level law enforcement are in fact extensions of the intelligence community,contradicting separation of powers?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2002

    Bill O'Reilly: The Fighting Irish

    Bill O'Reilly, possibly one of the best journalists in the media today, dares to go where others won't even talk about. He touches on issues that make you think. O'Reilly is obviously a moral man that simply wants to make the world a better place. In this book, O'Reilly takes another step in making America a country of moral values.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2002

    Fantastic Book

    I always heard how Bill O'Reilly was somone who didn't like Democrats and took shots at celebrities. So I read the O'Reilly Factor and I was impressed. It is such a good book. There are a lot of great 'factor' chapters in the book. Whether you like or dislike O'Reilly, you should give the book a chance, it will open your eyes and make you think. I am now a regular watcher of the O'Reilly Factor

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2002

    Good but shallow

    O'Reilly hints at a class system in America but does not fully develop this thesis. O'Reilly appears to be constructively criticising America while acknowledging its demonstrable past present and prospective future potential. O'Reilly however does not mention things like how the credit scoring system in this country is a tool for social and economic stratification. One can have years of good credit followed by a time of hardship and doors will shut for that person for years because of the time of hardship. Good credit means little and bad credit means a lot. O'Reilly does not address how the credit system is often used by lower income people as supplemental income for wages out of sync with the cost of living and median incomes for their region of the country. Nor does O'Reilly address the hypocrisy of social programs, such as 'free care' in health care. In Massachusetts an individual can be homeless and earn less than $10,000 per year and still be hit with a $500+ medical bill after the free care petition is filed.This is because for 'free care' to kick in, a deductible is derived on extrapolated FUTURE earnings potential. One can be homeless and say find work at the end of the year, make less than $10,000 but have a mandatory 'deductible' of several thousand dollars BEFORE the 'free care' kicks in. Who do social programs cost,Mr. O'Reilly? O'Reilly is a big one on government responsibility and oversight. But O'Reilly does not discuss how the nature of many government agencies is not proactive but REACTIVE; meaning that these agencies will not act unless some outside catalyst is involved, such as a whistleblower complaint. The way courts and society treat whistleblowers, it is no wonder more people do not come forward in helping serve the public interest. Mr. O'Reilly discusses the generally pervasive apathy towards issues of broad social concern. Mr. O'Reilly, why not have some shows educating people how they can participate in government? Why not discuss the Federal Register and how this details inner workings of government? Or how accessible is the law to ordinary Americans? Law libraries are not so readily accessible as many have hours of use that bar normal working people from being available to use them.In one local district court, there is a law library in the court supposedly available for public use but when you go to use it you are kicked out because you are not an attorney.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2002

    Not profound in the least!

    Although Bill O'Reilly seems to be a decent individual, I was thoroughly disappointed with this book. Most surprising is that Bill O'Reilly could have gotten as far as he did in the journalism business while being such an aweful writer. I try to finished every book I start even if it's not all that enjoyable to read, especially if I'm going to criticize it later. But I've read several different books by political writers all over the spectrum, and Bill O'Reilly's book is by far the least enjoyable to read and certainly among the least inciteful or profound. An alternative title for this book could be 'A List of Bill O'Reilly's Opinions Excluding Any Significant Analysis or Reasoning'. This was a BORING, UNENJOYABLE book. If you feel you must buy this book because it is too important not to read you're mistaken as I was, but buy a used copy so you can save a buck. Whatever you spend it's too much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2001

    Pithy.... and Fantastic for ALL to read!

    Each chapter is short and to the point. Even if you are a huge Fox News Channel O'Reilly Factor fan you will learn, more in detail, Bill O'Reilly's opinions-- short and sweet-- on so many topics relating to today--family, religion, success, the media, etc. He makes some great points. If you don't like O'Reilly I still recommend you read this book. I saw his book as informative because he's an 'insider' in the media and opened my eyes as to who is influening whom in modern day America. This book is well worth the read. The O'Reilly Factor is a book that will get you thinking and talking...and hopefully, more involved in the direction our country is moving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2001

    Fellow traveler

    Mr. O'Reilly discusses his hard upbringing and hard work it took to get where it is and he did, especially when compared to peers in his success group. Mr. O'Reilly also was able to attend 2 of the finest schools- Boston University and Harvard. Here is an example of another: A man i'll call ' Tom' was put into state child care at 1 year old or so. The child later turned out to be cripple and spent more than a couple of years alone in the hospital with no visitors while being treated. On release to his biological mother, the child was released into a home where drugs,alcohol, suicidal and homicidal impulses raged between mother and stepfather. The stepfather was an outpatient at mental hospitals. Tom spent the next few years graduated from full-length wheel chairs to full leg braces (see 'Forrest Gump') to crutches. It would be ten years before the boy was given a clean bill of health. At 'home' , of which the child was not even aware who these people were, the child was beaten,tortured and perhaps sexually abused by the stepdad. Time and time again Tom,age 4, had to call in the fire dept for help as his mother collapsed in substance-related stupors. The family was forced to leave after the apartment caught fire one night By age 5 Tom was attempting suicide by throwing himself down stairs or trying to jump out of cars on the highway.Finally Tom was permanently removed from 'home' after police stormed the apartment to remove the stepdad attempting to stab death the mother with a large kitchen knife. For a couple of years Tom had spent an aggregate of perhaps 6 months total with the mother and 18 months bouncing around various foster homes or emergency placements. Over the next few years Tom was placed with a foster family where he was beaten, humiliated,burned and constantly told he and his family were no good. At school ,administrative personnel ' had to get him under control' by whipping him with a belt about the face,chest - anywhere. But some teachers did show kindness and this was the beginning of a change. Tom showed some signs of possible sexual abuse and was beaten for it.Tom was eventually moved after a few more placements to a residential program. On initial testing, Tom showed gaps in education from all the bouncing around but exceeded the scale of the tests on reading and vocabulary. Tom showed and was encouraged with special tutoring at the program. Several more foster placements put Tom in a home where they expected Tom to work at the family business, almost never did anything recreational and where the parents harped constantly about how much it cost to feed and clothe Tom even though the state reimbursed the mall or most of the expense. Again, the foster father suggested ' maybe he needs a good beating from time to time'. Another placement put Tom with a seasoned foster family who constantly belittled Tom's educational achievements and refused Tom to date and allowed Tom recreation only if he worked a job to pay for it. At 14 ,Tom was working fulltime during school vacations while other kids in the home were given money and allowed to date. If Tom objected to the constant ridiculing and harassment, he was told 'how about we smash your face in?'. Tom eventually attempted suicide and came very close to succeeding- so despairing was he in this home and his complaints of constant harassment and ridicule fell on deaf ears. Tom bounced around some more and ended up in a shelter for homeless teens. Testing on entry brought strong recommendations by the testing staff that Tom be enrolled in college immediately. Instead of college, Tom was sent to a hard labor camp breaking granite boulders with sledgehammers 12-15 hours per day in the hot summer sun at a program for kids in trouble with the law.Tom had no trouble with the law- he was just homeless. Tom was strip searched and had all his clothes and personal belongings taken from him and all communications were banned- no phone calls and only letters once pre-s

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2001

    Pithy!

    I liked this book and O'Reilly 's show but must point out some things. In the book, O'Reilly suggests a system in place that works to keep 97% of the population, the 'average' American, down. On his show, however, he had on an economic analyst (Heather Boushey)from the Economic Policy Institute who discussed study findings that at least 4 million Americans cannot make do on even $30-40,000 per year income because of high cost of living. O'Reilly said he does not believe it, preferring to take the standpoint that all individual failures to prosper are the fault of the individual. O'Reilly did not take into account some people really do have bad luck, have been blackballed, or that through no fault of their own external circumstances have thrown them into poverty. To make a blanket statement that all poor people are mentally ill,substance abusers,criminals or other defectives without reviewing each specific situation is judgemental and contradicts one of the beliefs he expounds in his book- that the system by its structure automatically creates a poverty class. O'Reilly has criticised many politicians but does not have on experts in non-political ,non-legal disciplines to comment. Mr. O'Reilly, why not have on sociologists, psychologists, psychiatrists, social workers, police officers, college professors to discuss who really is in power or to what degree 'the system' creates a casualty class? Politicians and lawyers are by and large in the power class and less objective. Once it is established that a poverty class exists by design, the questions that follow include: 1) who occupies it?, 2) what decides who will occupy it?, 3) are the means of escaping it practical and realistic? Bill discusses education concerns. Prior to the French Revolution, the population had a very high literacy rate but low living standards and a revolution was spawned. In Norway literacy is 100% but the quality of life is very high and no revolution exists. Is it in the genuine interest of America to have a very high literacy rate if the quality of life cannot be ensured? Bill appears to feel that too much emphasis is put on ' the kids' as a bargaining chip in sociopolitical matters. It does stand to reason that help is needed for kids but parents need it too in their ability to provide high quality care for those kids. The bible says to be 'fruitful and multiply' but does this still hold true when the global population reaches 9 billion or more and scarcity of resources threatens all? Shouldn't prospective parents honestly evaluate their ability to bring kids into the world and provide some reasonably high expected living standard for those kids before just doing it? At what point does the selfish need to have the parenting experience outweigh the feasibility of giving the child a decent life and not burdening the society as a whole with the child's care? Such generic care provided by society seldom conveys a high standard of life. Standard being a measure of happiness, not wealth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2001

    Great Book!

    This book was a great read! It was 'Pithy!' I think everyone who is interested in the O'Reilly Factor or just plain interested should sit down with it. You'll enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2001

    Our kids be chattel

    I watch O'Reilly's show every day and got some great laughs out of his book. One thing Bill has had stories on is foster kids but he seems to take the approach of foster kids as essentially bad kids. As an unwanted kid for almost 18 years, was i so bad to want a normal upbringing? Were years of neglect,abuse,humiliation, bouncing around,choppy education all my fault? Is it my fault i was born? How many nights as a young child did i cry myself to sleep, alone and afraid, until one day there were no more tears, just an emptiness inside.. that in one of the greatest countries on earth i could not find parents who really loved me? Did i have problems? For sure! Were they unsolvable? I don't think so. Mr. O'Reilly, in my experience i must have had no less than 60-75 state and state-subcontractor caretakers. A small percentage really cared about me and i could see that and that is what i responded to. But for a kid growing up under these circumstances, they forge real bonds with people in their lives while the caretakers there are in fact paid. On the side of the child, the bond is real but on the caretakers it more often than not is not real- it is an artificial relationship. In coming out of the system over the years my efforts to keep in touch with certain critical 'handlers' was not viewed as a good thing but as an 'unhealthy attachment'. So you also have kids looking for solid relationships unable to establish them by the professional parameters emplaced. Each child that successfully survives the rigors of navigating the system and is well-adjusted can in turn become a tax-paying, revenue-generating contributor of society. When i became an adult ,seeking answers about my own origins, i ran into a bureucratic roadblock worthy of a Dave Schippers or a Bill O'Reilly. Of files maintained to be in the hundreds of pages, 20% of the files were released and redacted sometimes up to 90%. This was the result after Ted Kennedy and many politicians' offices got involved. The amount of redaction suggested that the sanitization of records was not to protect me but to protect my handlers. Want a real challenge Mr. O'Reilly? The failures of our legislators,policymakers, economists, social engineers might be as simple as throwaway children and the circumstances that got them there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2001

    best book i've read in a long time

    if you love his show, you will like this book he still stats his opinion strongly and puts some good stories in there along the why. for anyone in politics, you must read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6