Customer Reviews for

The O'Reilly Factor for Kids: A Survival Guide for America's Families

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good Lessons

I got this for Christmas (Merry Christmas!) from my Grandparents! It was an easy read. I liked how he didn't push, but guided you. He told his story and uses it for life lessons. Here is a quote that is a good picture of what I think of this book. 'Some things you may ...
I got this for Christmas (Merry Christmas!) from my Grandparents! It was an easy read. I liked how he didn't push, but guided you. He told his story and uses it for life lessons. Here is a quote that is a good picture of what I think of this book. 'Some things you may never understand But knowledge from lessons not your own Can save you from the unknown Which may stop your fall'(Kutless, Mistakes) I recommend it!

posted by Anonymous on November 1, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

what a hypocrite

This guy is so full of himself. He thinks he is a moral authority, an expert on decent behaviour. Meanwhile he gets caught sexually harassing a coworker by performing lewd acts while on the phone. Not the kind of guy I want gving advice to my kids.

posted by Anonymous on October 30, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 5, 2009

    great book

    I got this book for our twelve year old son and he has LOVED IT.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2007

    Wholesome

    Anyone who counts out this book because they dislike O'Reilly can't be very open minded. You should read the book if you're going to make an opinion. Truth be told, the book is solid and good for young audiences as family is the basic building block of society.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2006

    Good Lessons

    I got this for Christmas (Merry Christmas!) from my Grandparents! It was an easy read. I liked how he didn't push, but guided you. He told his story and uses it for life lessons. Here is a quote that is a good picture of what I think of this book. 'Some things you may never understand But knowledge from lessons not your own Can save you from the unknown Which may stop your fall'(Kutless, Mistakes) I recommend it!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2005

    O'reilly puts teenage life in perspective.

    O'reilly was never someone I thought would write as helpful a book as this one was. It put most of if not all of the components that make up a teenage life in perspective. It explained how to deal with parents, friends, smoking (which i don't do by the way), and tells how to deal with all these situations. Definitley a great book for teens. Don't let the 'for kids' fool you. The book deals more with teenage life then a regular young kid's life. If you are a teen that needs help or thinks it wouldn't hurt to learn more about how to deal with your everyday life then buy this book for sure.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2004

    A guide for youth

    As usual, Mr. O'Reilly gives kids no-nonsense, clear, and helpful advice about what happens when kids ignore red flags and potentially dangerous situations. He tells it like it is which is the way it should be. He's proven his advice is good to take as he himself has become a successful citizen. I like his traditionalist AND moderate view of the world. I'm happy that it comes at a time when my son can use it as a guide before high school.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Not Impressive

    The O'Reillyy Factor for Kids was at best like a trite after-school special, and at worst kind of weird. Not worth the money, and DEFINITELY not worth the time.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2006

    Lillixgurl

    This book is moderately good. people i know have read it and say it is wonderful. i have to say props to Mr. O'reilly. its great how he's comfortable speaking his mind!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2004

    Awesome book!

    I thought this book really talked about how the world really is, and what us teenagers have to face. He takes the mask off of life and helps us understand. I connected with this book and it has helped me when I encounter conflict. I encourage all to read it-especially us confused teens. Love O'Reily, I get a kick out of him.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2004

    what a hypocrite

    This guy is so full of himself. He thinks he is a moral authority, an expert on decent behaviour. Meanwhile he gets caught sexually harassing a coworker by performing lewd acts while on the phone. Not the kind of guy I want gving advice to my kids.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2004

    A Great Book ***********

    Mr. O'Reilly did a fantastic job on this book. Very blunt and in kids language. I highly recommend.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2004

    The man's an authority on everything!

    Lord knows, it must be tough to be infallible. O'Reilly uses his own life and experiences as a model for kids to follow - nothing wrong with this guy's ego.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Life Lesson in a Book

    My parents never told me how to think, what to set as my views, and I never let anyone tell me what to think. I know O'Riley from Fox News and his award-winning books, and I know that he's lived quite a life and he's learned from it, he's made his mistakes; now he's trying to prevent today's kids from making those mistakes. We already have huge bucks to pay over our lifetimes, we can try to avoid some trivial mistakes, and that's O'Riley's aim with this book.

    I respect him to no end. I like his way of thinking; and I can relate to him, too. I saw this book, and I, by myself chose this as my next read. I loved it. I cannot tell you how much I appreciated the fact that someone was trying to provide kids truth, which we are not provided with these days. When teachers teach us this stuff, they present them in their own light, not how it is, no sugar coating, just the good ol' tarnished truth.

    The book tells us the facts in a bold, loud and clear way, with O'Riley's opinions included, though not cloaking the truth, which I especially like. Among my peers and me, we do have a whirlwind of confusion confusing us; and no-one tells us everything there is; no full story, just one side of it -- in different versions. And though most adults think that they know how the teenage mind works, their ideas are pretty darn foggy and wrong. They don't understand what some of us deal with -- worse than what they had to deal with in their day. Modern times heavily affect children. For some kids, it's war.

    Reading this pretty much cleared my head. I was lucky enough to experience and learn life early and well, so I tend to do well in school, with friends, good relationships with adults, etc. Sadly, some of my friends are not as lucky. I recommend this book to all of my friends if they want to know about truth and clarity.

    It's a great way for kids to learn and know about the world. The real, true, tarnished world. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2006

    GREAT BOOK

    Mr. O`Rielly does an exceptional job on this book. The actual reason he tells you about his own story is because he wants to tie in an example so the kid understands the topic. I would recommend this to any teenager looking for something to read. I definitly loved it and I hope you will to.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2004

    Great book to help parents who really care about their kids!

    The book helps young people look at things from a realistic perspective, not just from the usual sources. It will be really helpful in affirming what most parents would like their kids to understand, but may have a problem getting the point across. Mr. O'Reilly has no problem with words. I read the 'Rules' for writing a review and they specifically state reviews are not for making comments about the authors themselves. There are two reviews posted before mine by Spike and someone who calls themselves an 'ethics' teacher. They both attack the author. My gut instinct tells me neither of these reviewers have ever read Mr. O'Reilly's book(s)... they just hate him.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2004

    Stright and pithy truth

    Bill O¿Reilly has a way with words, that¿s a large part of the reason he¿s a television media star. What O¿Reilly talks about is far more important than his good-humored down to earth delivery. Bill O¿Reilly discuss loftily abstract ideas about ethics, morality and politics, while his unique style makes what is usually boring or difficult; enjoyably clear, concise and entertaining. The O¿Reilly Factor For Kids is written for teenagers. O¿Reilly uses many of his teenage experiences and perspectives to illuminate that times have changed from the 1960¿s to now, but the issues facing teenagers remain the same in every generation. Tough, difficult and deeply troubling issues are taken on and shown that they can be made manageable as each challenge is weighed. This book directly addresses the basic human issues that we all must face to live and prosper in modern society. How to choose good friends and why good friends are so important in our lives is the opening chapter that will be engaging for youth throughout their lives. In the next chapters O¿Reilly goes on to identifying the human failings that should be blinking warning signs of human characteristics. O¿Reilly explains why certain signs are so dangerous. Then he explains what to do about them leaving no doubt in the readers mind about what to do and why. The beginning of each chapter has an e-mail/ IM style ¿Eyewitness Report¿ submitted by youngsters of issues that form the basis for the next chapter. The book has a two-page glossary of the Instant Message abbreviations used in the e-mails submitted & also used throughout the book. This coded communication is a particularly engaging literary device akin to O¿Reilly¿s hallmark breviary in going to the heart of any subject. Throughout the ¿¿The Factor For Kids¿ each issue raised is addressed twice. Once in O¿Reilly¿s forthright style of factual clarity and analysis, then again by O¿Reilly telling ¿My Story¿ that relates to how he dealt with that issue in his youth and what resulted from it. There is a wealth of wisdom in this book. It¿s a training guide to a good life if the advice is followed. At the very least it should serve to help youngsters avoid some of the pitfalls they might not recognize, or know how to handle the first time they come up against them. After reading ¿¿The Factor For Kids¿ you are armed against being blindsided by some of the hazards that life may hold in store for the teenage generation.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2004

    BILL IS REALLY LOOKING OUT FOR YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    WEATHER YOUR A FAN OF THE FACTOR OR A LIBERAL,CONSERVATIVE,GREEN,OR INDAPENDENT, REPUBLICAN OR DEMOCRACT YOU OUE IT TO YOURSELF TO GET A COPY OF BILL O REILLYS NEW BOOK 'THE O REILLY FACTOR FOR KIDS' IT IS A REAL WAKE UP CALL FOR TEENS AND ADULTS AND NOT ONLY THAT IT IS A WONDERFUL BOOK FOR PARENTS CAUSE THIS BOOK CAN SHOW THERE KIDS THAT THERE ARE CERTAIN THINGS IN THIS WORLD THAT ARENT GOOD FOR THEM AND IF YOUR NOT A PARENT LIKE MYSELF AND DONT HAVE KIDS BUY THE BOOK ANY WAYS LIKE i DID CAUSE THIS BOOK WILL SHOW YOU HOW TO MAKE THE WORLD A BETTER PLACE AND iAM SURE YOU HAVE SOME NIECES AND NEPHEWS AND COUSINS THAT THIS BOOK COULD HELP YOU BE A GOOD EXAMPLE TO THEM. BUY THE BOOK AT www.bn.com

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Granja.fatima@yahoo.com

    Add me :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    As always

    As always Bill is being a great wise man. He wants everyone to make their own decisions and opinions. I highly recomend all of Bill's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Great!

    I think this is agreat book! I am twelve and watch the factor with my dad and loved the book. It has many life lessons andnways to guide you through life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Mom

    I am a mom and i read this to my kids great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2