Customer Reviews for

The Oath

Average Rating 4.5
( 181 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(124)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A 12-Year-Old Mental Image!

I was introduced to this book when I was 11, and it made a huge first impression on me. It was a book on tape (the one read by Joseph Campanella who's voice can be spooky sometimes.) My family and I were on vacation and the book scared me! Actually, it still scares me. ...
I was introduced to this book when I was 11, and it made a huge first impression on me. It was a book on tape (the one read by Joseph Campanella who's voice can be spooky sometimes.) My family and I were on vacation and the book scared me! Actually, it still scares me. Frank Peretti is very good at making your skin crawl, but he doesn't write just to make you scared. He has points that he wants to get across that are artfully done. And they're done in such a way that one of his mental pictures has stuck in my head for the past 12 years, since I first heard it.

(This may be a spoiler if you haven't read it yet!!!) The whole deal with the black ooze has stuck with me, believe it or not. Over the years, I know I've felt like those people who had black slime oozing all over themselves, yet they didn't know or care. And whenever I feel like I "don't care" about anything, I always think of Steve Benson, slapping his chest to make that spot hurt so that he'll care. Because, really, we're ALL human (and if you're not, I'd like to meet you!) and we all mess up and make mistakes and do things we know we shouldn't. And God knows that too. God sees that. But what He cares about most is our hearts, and as long as we care about what we're doing, and we care about Him, well, I think that makes Him glad.

I woke up today actually, and even though it's been a few years since I last read this book, I woke up today feeling like I just don't care about anything and with a "yes I know I haven't been acting very much like Jesus lately" sigh. And again, that image of Steve making himself care came to my head. Yes I have been acting very, well, not nice, lately. But the fact that I don't care is what concerns me. So I had/have to get my butt in gear every time I feel that way and work my way out of it.

And, this may not be a book review in that I've talked about what's in the book, but the way it's impacted me should count for something. This is a book that does have all the elements (love, action, danger, suspense) mixed with a good plot and a skilled writer who really believes what he's writing. One of my all time favorites! But, you know, my mom read it and heard the book on tape too, and it didn't do anything for her, other than be entertaining. So this may just be me :)

posted by Acie on April 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very enjoyable

The Oath has just enough suspence and mystery, plus leaves the reader with a good lesson on life. This one may have a small bit of gore, but not to the extent of other books I have read. I recommend this and other Peretti books to any reader ages teen and up.

posted by READ_MORE_WATCH_LESS on July 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 150 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A 12-Year-Old Mental Image!

    I was introduced to this book when I was 11, and it made a huge first impression on me. It was a book on tape (the one read by Joseph Campanella who's voice can be spooky sometimes.) My family and I were on vacation and the book scared me! Actually, it still scares me. Frank Peretti is very good at making your skin crawl, but he doesn't write just to make you scared. He has points that he wants to get across that are artfully done. And they're done in such a way that one of his mental pictures has stuck in my head for the past 12 years, since I first heard it.

    (This may be a spoiler if you haven't read it yet!!!) The whole deal with the black ooze has stuck with me, believe it or not. Over the years, I know I've felt like those people who had black slime oozing all over themselves, yet they didn't know or care. And whenever I feel like I "don't care" about anything, I always think of Steve Benson, slapping his chest to make that spot hurt so that he'll care. Because, really, we're ALL human (and if you're not, I'd like to meet you!) and we all mess up and make mistakes and do things we know we shouldn't. And God knows that too. God sees that. But what He cares about most is our hearts, and as long as we care about what we're doing, and we care about Him, well, I think that makes Him glad.

    I woke up today actually, and even though it's been a few years since I last read this book, I woke up today feeling like I just don't care about anything and with a "yes I know I haven't been acting very much like Jesus lately" sigh. And again, that image of Steve making himself care came to my head. Yes I have been acting very, well, not nice, lately. But the fact that I don't care is what concerns me. So I had/have to get my butt in gear every time I feel that way and work my way out of it.

    And, this may not be a book review in that I've talked about what's in the book, but the way it's impacted me should count for something. This is a book that does have all the elements (love, action, danger, suspense) mixed with a good plot and a skilled writer who really believes what he's writing. One of my all time favorites! But, you know, my mom read it and heard the book on tape too, and it didn't do anything for her, other than be entertaining. So this may just be me :)

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2002

    amazing masterpiece

    Frank is an amazing writer, the Oath is one of his best works. He portrays how sin can emcompass ones life in an amazing way. I couldn't put the book down and since i read it for the first time, I keep rereading it hoping to get even more spiritual messages. Everyone NEEDS to read this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    Highly Recommend Frank Peretti's Books!!

    I can't wait to read this book since I read "The Darkness, Piercing Of the Darkness, The House" from Frank Peretti. These are books once you open the pages you can't put it down. Love the author great writer.
    Defently these books are more for adults then teens.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2006

    a reviewer

    To be honest, it was so hard for me not to give this book five stars. But, to avoid being biased, I felt that four stars would be appropriate. 'The Oath' was indeed a good novel but I didn't feel as inspired or captivated in the novel like I did in 'Piercing the Darkness' and 'This Present Darkness'. That was one of the reasons I felt it would have been biased giving this novel five stars. Now, to the more credentials of this book. 'The Oath' had wonderful, realistic characterization that a reader could almost feel that he was the character or could somehow relate to him. That is Perreti's strongpoint. The only problem was that in one point in the book, I felt that Steve Benson was a maniac to even think about going to Charlie's Tavern to talk with Harold Bly when he should have known that Harold's over-protective henchmen would be closeby. I wish that there could have been a way for me to mentally tell Steve to not do it (thus forcing the point that I could relate to him). Perreti also has an astounding way of descripting. One description I particularly liked was something like this, 'The sky rippled as if there was a rat moving underneath it.' Though that is not word-for-word, but you get the point. The book's summary and diction was convincing and Perreti had a very good way of almost parabolically setting the mood of sin as if it were a black ooze that streamed from the heart. He interviewed with someone saying, 'Sin is black and oozes from our hearts it smells, it hurts, and someday it will come to get it's pay,' at this he meant that the dragon was the reaper of sinners. A very strong point. That's what I love about Christian novels. Usually they have a message behind the book, and in this case, 'The Oath' had a wonderful message. It is a testimony that admonishes sin, patronizes the One True God and makes you feel that you're glad you're on the good side. I applaud Perreti for this outstanding novel and I hope that the message would be subtleless and easily percieved to other readers. Thank you and grow strong in your faiths. Follow Jesus. Trust God.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    My Favorite Book of All Time!!!

    I read this several years ago and still think about it. The story was scary to me and I would not read it at night, but couldn't wait to pick it back up the next day! The story itself is great but the greater meaning behind it hits everybody where they are, right now. I have friends who swap books all the time, and who don't usually read Christian novels. They all Loved the book and were surprised that I read it since it was quite scary at times. This book changed forever my view of sin and the way it 'wiggles' into our lives only to invade it and destroy it. But it's not a 'preachy' book. The story is full of love and compassion in the midst of evil. Your heart will hurt for the ones who get caught up and lost in the deception. About to read Illusion. I am hoping it will become my second favorite book as First Place is already taken!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Very enjoyable

    The Oath has just enough suspence and mystery, plus leaves the reader with a good lesson on life. This one may have a small bit of gore, but not to the extent of other books I have read. I recommend this and other Peretti books to any reader ages teen and up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    Excellent Read!!!

    I could not put it down! Keeps you reading because you wonder how some of the characters fit into the overall plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 1999

    hard to follow

    being a frank peretti fan, i found this book hard to follow. this is a very complex book and takes you from one situation to another without letting you get a grasp of what is really going to happen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    To tell the truth, the first time I read this book, I had no ide

    To tell the truth, the first time I read this book, I had no idea that it was a Christian thriller. True, there were some messages in the book, but I thought it was normal. So, to find out now that what I read was actually a Christian novel... well, it would be an understatement to say it shocks me. I almost want to read it again to see if it is true. I loved the book overall, though, and I hope to get the chance to read it again. I don't enjoy many Christian novels, but this is definitely on the top of my list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    Dragged on

    It was a good enough book but like a previous posted said, it could have ended at one point but it went on...and on. Some of the middle could have been cut out and it would have been better for it. I did enjoy the story line though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    Amazing Read

    This is a riveting read full of incredible symbalism and a gripping story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My Favorite Book 3 Chapters In!

    This book was the best written book I have ever read! Not only is Frank Peretti's writing style phenomenal, but the plot, spiritual points, and overall applicable nature to everybody's lives.

    In this book, Peretti takes sin, something that we all partake in and struggle with, and shows you how it manifests itself in a very unique way. I have never understood this process and what it does to you spiritually as well as I did while reading this book!

    This book really hit me where I was, just having come out of a situation that I never thought I would find myself in. I did a lot of thinking and analyzing after this situation and then read this book as suggested by a new friend. This book outlined everything that I had gone through, from start to finish. The characters in the book didn't necessarily commit the same acts as I had, but that's what is so amazing about Peretti's writing style. His writing reflects the hearts of us all. Even though these characters came from different walks of life as the reader (me, in this case), I still related to them 100% and even cried at one point in the book because it touched my heart in a way that a book never has.

    This was my first Frank Peretti book and I have since read 3 more and am currently finishing up my 4th! I swear by this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2009

    OUTSTANDING!!!!

    An outstanding THRILLING book!!! I couldn't put it down for anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhmazing

    Dont know what but I couldnt put this book down. Frank Peretti did a great job writing this and other books. Definitly a book that I will keep and let my friends read and enjoy. Some of his other books arent as great as The Oath but they are definitly better than some of the other books I have read. Frank Peretti and Clive Cussler both do a great job at writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing Book

    A friend of mine gave me the book. Once I started to read it, I could not put it down. The suspense in parts was so amazing. I read it about 4 more times after that because I loved it. If you are one that likes suspense, you will love this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2008

    All the elements I like best

    Many of Peretti's fans dislike the idea of introducing something as fantastical as a dragon into a story, but quite frankly I absolutely loved it. The story was engaging from the first, although it did have its dragging points. Peretti also did a good job of portraying sin not so much as breaking rules but as a cancer that consumes. And, of course, an evil dragon, in my opinion, always makes a story better. Great for light reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    I couldn't put it down......

    I picked this up to read while waiting to get my taxes done at our local library. I was absolutely enthralled with it and couldn't put it down. I finished it that day! Interesting, fast moving and easy to read it's great for those lazy Sunday afternoons. Also goes great with cappucino!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    So far...so good :)

    im still in the process of reading this book and i have to admit, it has capture my attention i see by the reviews that this book is well recommend it so i would keep on reading and when im done i would give my opinion of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2008

    Amazing

    The book completely draws you in from the start, and never lets you go. I loved it and strongly recomend everyone to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2007

    Awesome! Great message!!!

    I just finished this book earlier tonight, and it's now my second favorite from Frank Peretti! The Oath is a very thought provoking book that kept me up for several nights in a row. I loved the twist, and laughed at the incredible message Frank gives us with this book. Please, this book may have its boring parts, but the explosive ending makes up for them. Any true fan of Christian fiction should agree with me. Enjoy reading this extraordinary novel as I did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 150 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8