Customer Reviews for

The Oath (Dismas Hardy Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    powerful medical thriller

    In San Francisco, Parnassus Medical Group CEO Tim Markham is a victim of a hit and run accident. Tim dies in his company¿s Portola Hospital, but the autopsy reveals that his injuries did not kill him. Instead Tim died from an overdose of potassium. <P>San Francisco homicide detective Abe Glitsky believes that the doctor of record Eric Kensing killed his boss because Tim was having an affair with the prime suspect¿s wife and the HMO¿s cut costing measures threatened the lives of his patients. Attorney Dismas Hardy thinks someone else is the killer. Soon evidence surfaces that a serial killer has made the CEO victim number twelve. Now the two best friends Dismas and Abe work on uncovering the identity of a murderer before the toll reaches a baker¿s dozen. <P>THE OATH is a powerful medical thriller that will please fans of John Lescroart for returning Glitsky and Hardy to the front of a strong insightful story line. Though Eric fails to appear as a viable villain and the culprit seems obvious, the plot cuts like a surgeon¿s knife without unfairly lacerating HMOs like many similar novels do today. Medical thriller readers will vow that this tale is non-stop action winner. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    Read the Dismas Hardy series!!

    John Lescroart is a brilliant writer. I really like his characters and story lines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2011

    Another entertaining Dismas Hardy thriller

    Follow the intrepid Dismas Hardy as he unwinds another story of crime and punishment in his favorate city, San Francisco. Lescroart continues to spin a fine yarn filled with very believable and engaging characters. You'll be rooting for them right up to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Good story line but dragged out

    Love this author in the past with other novels. This one had too many characters that was fragmented throughout the book. Too long

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2009

    Quick read

    hard to put this down. well told with just the right pace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2005

    Sleepy, this deserves less than one star

    I was looking for something new to read and this book was rated highly. I hadn't read anything from this author before and now I know why. The story jumps around, there are way too many characters who are called by several names. One of the main stories from the beginning doesn't appear again until the last 50 pages. You could probably cut out about 150-175 pages and have a good little story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2003

    John Lescroat's masterpiece

    This is a drama about greed in the health industry which every american should read. After reading this book it left a bitter taste in my mouth knowing that hositals will submit phony bills as well as transferring patients with non prime care health to bring in patients with prime care for the sole pupose of bigger proits. John Lescroart set up the story brillantly to show the readers that a killers plan can change with one big accident.In this case the killer will now have the opportunity to plot the murder faster than expected and not be blamed.In the end the plotter's carelessnes wll get him caught,but perhaps one of the great parts of the book was who was the hit and run driver?and why did the accident occur? This is a perfect job of writing a book.I will tell everyone about this masterpiece.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2002

    An explosive thriller

    When Tim Markham, the head of San Francisco¿s largest HMO dies in his own hospital, no one doubts he died of the massive injuries inflicted by a random hit-and-run car accident. But soon an autopsy reveals he died of an overdose of potassium, and the attending physician Eric Kensing becomes the prime suspect. Kensing, desperate, and in need of an attorney, turns to Dismas Hardy for his defense. Going head-to-head with long time friend Abe Glitsky, and the two bumbling detectives assigned to this case, Dismas knows he has a tough battle to win, and when he finds information that further cements the hatred between Kensing and Markham, Dismas begins to question his client¿s innocence. The deeper Dismas digs into Markham¿s twisted past, he finds no one is exactly who they say they are, and everyone has something to hide, but nothing can prepare him for another shocking murder that will start to unravel a conspiracy of violence that takes the lives of those it has sworn to protect. `The Oath¿ is a sure bet for a wild ride of page-turning excitement. The mixing if medical science, and legal thrills makes for a perfect read that will surely entertain. With many novels of it¿s kind out there, `The Oath¿ stands far ahead of the rest for it¿s twisting plot, fleshed out characters, lightning fast pace and surprises along the way. John Lescroart is one of the masters of the legal thriller, and his newest novel will give his fans something to cheer about, and earn him a slew of new ones. Mr. Lescroart is never at a loss for creating suspenseful, original plots, and `The Oath¿ will further prove his knack for writing blockbusters as it rockets up all the bestseller list¿s. A MUST read! Nick Gonnella

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2002

    Oath

    I love legal fiction. This one started slow; I tend to prefer the 'hit the ground running' thrillers like those written by a Norm Harris, or a Nelson DeMille, or even some of Grisham's books. But 'The Oath' did end strong. So I was eventually satisfied. The opening scene is seen through the eyes of Mrs. Lopez, the worried mother of a sick child. Here John Lescroart makes a strong statement as we see a concerned mother manhandled by a less than caring HMO system. I have long held the opinion that the term 'health care' has become an oxymoron. In the next scene a man is killed by a hit and run driver. Enter Lescroart's protagonists Dismas Hardy and his best friend, homicide cop Abe Glitsky. In this story we know whodunit early on. One of the early reviews of this book pointed this out, saying that knowing who the killer is '...cuts down the suspense.' It was my understanding that when we know who the antagonist is from the onset of the story, that the story is a thriller. When we do not know who did the deed until the end of the story, then it is a mystery. This is a thriller, so I had no problem with knowing whodunit early on. John Lescroart is a master of characterization and dialogue. From the book: (Luz tried to smile. She couldn't help but worry. Ramiro was no better. In fact, she knew that he was worse. Despite her resolve, a tear broke and rolled over her cheek. She quickly, angrily, wiped it away, but the doctor had seen it. 'Are you really so worried?') That's great stuff. If you love legal thrillers, as I do, then you will love this book. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2002

    Oath

    I love legal fiction. This one started slow; I tend to prefer the 'hit the ground running' thrillers like those written by a Norm Harris, or a Nelson DeMille, or even some of Grisham's books. But 'The Oath' did end strong. So I was eventually satisfied. The opening scene is seen through the eyes of Mrs. Lopez, the worried mother of a sick child. Here John Lescroart makes a strong statement as we see a concerned mother manhandled by a less than caring HMO system. I have long held the opinion that the term 'health care' has become an oxymoron. In the next scene a man is killed by a hit and run driver. Enter Lescroart's protagonists Dismas Hardy and his best friend, homicide cop Abe Glitsky. In this story we know whodunit early on. One of the early reviews of this book pointed this out, saying that knowing who the killer is '...cuts down the suspense.' It was my understanding that when we know who the antagonist is from the onset of the story, that the story is a thriller. When we do not know who did the deed until the end of the story, then it is a mystery. This is a thriller, so I had no problem with knowing whodunit early on. John Lescroart is a master of characterization and dialogue. From the book: (Luz tried to smile. She couldn't help but worry. Ramiro was no better. In fact, she knew that he was worse. Despite her resolve, a tear broke and rolled over her cheek. She quickly, angrily, wiped it away, but the doctor had seen it. 'Are you really so worried?') That's great stuff. If you love legal thrillers, as I do, then you will love this book. Highly recommended. Cammy Diaz, lawyer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2002

    Must read

    I have lescroart name in my folder of authors to read. He did not disappoint me in one bit. I love his writing. Looking forward to future books. Good stuff menard!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1