Customer Reviews for

Oath of Office

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Entertaining book with a disturbing premise

I've been a big fan of Michael Palmer's since discovering his writing some years ago, and this one didn't disappoint. In the interest of full disclosure, this review is based on a complimentary advance copy of Oath of Office, furnished without any expectation of how wel...
I've been a big fan of Michael Palmer's since discovering his writing some years ago, and this one didn't disappoint. In the interest of full disclosure, this review is based on a complimentary advance copy of Oath of Office, furnished without any expectation of how well or poorly I'd treat the book in my review.

Michael Palmer's last three books have not only featured medicine but have a political bent, and this one goes them one better. It not only has a doctor as a protagonist (two, if you count the President's wife, a no-longer-practicing pediatrician) and is set in Washington DC with a President who has a rather unusual mindset, but it also discusses a social issue that most of us don't even think about: genetic modification of the food we eat. Frankly, I had never considered the implications of this, but after reading Oath of Office, I certainly will.

Michael juggles all these subjects superbly, and keeps the reader turning pages--at least, that's what I did. The action is rapid, the scenario chillingly believable, and the end was unexpected but satisfying. The book occasionally makes use of a few words you didn't hear in Sunday school, but the plotting is excellent and the message of the book makes worthwhile reading.

posted by Richard_Mabry on February 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

It's a pretty corny story, and chock full of gibberish-sized eve

It's a pretty corny story, and chock full of gibberish-sized events that defy reason and probability. But once again author Michael Palmer has tied a doctor to the White House and made a story out of it. I give it three stars, which translates as good, but it is not gre...
It's a pretty corny story, and chock full of gibberish-sized events that defy reason and probability. But once again author Michael Palmer has tied a doctor to the White House and made a story out of it. I give it three stars, which translates as good, but it is not great.There are so many taut thrillers out there that don't have the holes this one does; I reserve five stars for those.

posted by KenCady on March 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining book with a disturbing premise

    I've been a big fan of Michael Palmer's since discovering his writing some years ago, and this one didn't disappoint. In the interest of full disclosure, this review is based on a complimentary advance copy of Oath of Office, furnished without any expectation of how well or poorly I'd treat the book in my review.

    Michael Palmer's last three books have not only featured medicine but have a political bent, and this one goes them one better. It not only has a doctor as a protagonist (two, if you count the President's wife, a no-longer-practicing pediatrician) and is set in Washington DC with a President who has a rather unusual mindset, but it also discusses a social issue that most of us don't even think about: genetic modification of the food we eat. Frankly, I had never considered the implications of this, but after reading Oath of Office, I certainly will.

    Michael juggles all these subjects superbly, and keeps the reader turning pages--at least, that's what I did. The action is rapid, the scenario chillingly believable, and the end was unexpected but satisfying. The book occasionally makes use of a few words you didn't hear in Sunday school, but the plotting is excellent and the message of the book makes worthwhile reading.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Rarely do I find a novel that tackles a unique issue, provokes t

    Rarely do I find a novel that tackles a unique issue, provokes thought, educates without preaching, and also manages to entertain. With 'Oath of Office', Michael Palmer does all these things masterfully.

    This book is a combination medical and political thriller, but is not defined by either genre. The characters are rich in dimensions, the plot multi-layered and fast-paced. At times the dialogue made me laugh, other times a scene had me cringing. I was captivated from start to finish, and can only complain that the story had to end.

    ** I noticed a few negative reviews criticized the plot for being far-fetched. I'd suggest some reading on the truth of genetically engineered foods. **

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    thought-provoking thriller with amazing twists

    I’ll admit that although I love TV shows and movies that deal with political scandals and medical mysteries and dramas, I have not read many books in this type of genre. However, when I read the synopsis for Oath of Office, I was intrigued and requested an Advanced Reader Copy of the book. I thought it was interesting that the book was released on Valentine’s Day because it is definitely not a Valentine’s story!! It is a thought-provoking page turner with amazing twists and unexpected revelations with every turn of the page.

    In the letter I received from the author with the book, he wrote that the book was inspired by the documentary Food, Inc., and states “My hope is that my book will make readers more aware about the importance of being educated in the areas of labeling and the genetic modification of what we eat.” I have not looked into more about our food in the past, but after reading this book I do want to learn more about what is put into our food. I hope that it opens other people’s eyes too and that others don’t just read it strictly as a fictional book. Although it is fiction, if we are not careful we could easily have some kind of similar situation on our hands, especially with the way our economy is currently. I know that what we eat and medicines we take can influence our thoughts and actions. I hope that we never have to deal with some of the extreme examples of loss of reason that occur in the book. I don’t want to give anything away, but there was one situation in the book that was so extreme it almost caused me to stop reading. However, at the same time, it made me want to read more to find out what happened in the end and how things were resolved. Oath of Office is one of the most eye-opening and reflective books I’ve read in a while and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Spine-Chillingly Excellent!!!

    When Dr. John Meacham goes on a shooting spree killing his partner, staff and two patients and then turns the gun on himself all the blames falls to Dr. Lou Welcome. Dr. Welcome was working with a group that helps doctors regain their licenses. In this case the doctor’s license had been removed for alcoholism and losing his temper with a patient. He had worked with Meacham for years and knew Dr. Meacham was an excellent doctor and advocated strongly to have his license returned. When he learns about what happened he is shocked like everyone else but he believes the authorities are missing something. Dr. Welcome just can’t let it go so he starts to investigate himself. What he discovers is truly terrifying.

    Dollycas’s Thoughts

    This is quite a suspense thriller. I used the terms “scary good” back in 2010 to describe The 19th Element by John L. Betcher and this story tops that. Betcher’s story was about Al Quada terrorists striking in the Midwestern United States. Oath of Office is about Americans terrorizing other Americans through products we need to survive. All in the name of greed and the path leads directly to the White House.

    I would say it is Spine-Chillingly Excellent!!!

    The truly scary part is that if you do an internet search for the scientific terms in this book they are out there. Hopefully we can trust that they are being used for good and there are regulations in place to save us from something like this occurring. But with all the deregulation talk spinning around Washington could make this story more fact the fiction.

    Michael Palmer is a bestselling author for very good reason. He writes an extraordinary story. This book will hold you in its grasp tightly from the first page until the very last word.

    I never thought of myself as a squeamish person but chapter 39 almost did me in. That’s my only caution about this book. The book is fabulous and I give it my highest recommendation. I can honestly say this is the best book I have read in a very long time.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This is a splendid blend of medicine, research and corrupt politics. The mix of these topics is complicated yet simplistic. The ending was unexpected, yet believable. There must be a follow-up with these characters.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Dr Lou Welcome, unusual name for an unusual man. When Dr. Meacha

    Dr Lou Welcome, unusual name for an unusual man. When Dr. Meacham,
    who is under Dr Welcome's care for abuse problems does something completely out
    of character, Welcome is not as fast to judge as some others. He races to the
    hospital where Meacham had been taken after shooting his staff and then himeself.

    One of the first things he notices is the unusual behavior of the staff
    at the hospital where Meacham has been taken for emergency treatment. There
    was something that was hard to describe, but just a little off. He realizes
    that he is seeing the same thing in Meacham's wife. Behavior that is a little
    off, but hard to explain. She is not the last one to baffle Welcome by her behavior.

    What is it that can affect an entire community? Is there a commonality that he
    is missing? And why is the First Lady of the country doing some investigating
    of her own? Can the President himself be affected, or worse, involved?

    Fast paced read, likable characters and good story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    AS GOOD AS IT GETS...!

    Michael Palmer's novel, "Oath Of Office, is exceptionally well written with enough action and intrigue making it difficult to take a break. The chapters "fly by" so fast that I was disappointed when I read the last page of the last chapter. I kept wishing for another chapter to appear, but alas it was not to be.
    "Oath Of Office" is a winner in every sense of the word, IMHO.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Terrific suspense when normal people act very strange including killing friends

    I have read most of Michael Palmer’s books wondering how he could add more excitement and deeper involvement than in his preceding books. “Oath Of Office” is no exception as I thoroughly enjoyed the entire book wondering while advancing through the book how the author can be so knowledgeable as he delves into so many subjects in various fields and subjects? The story begins as Dr. John Meacham has a huge verbal fight with a patient, certainly not the type of thing he would normally do. As that patient stormed out of his office he started thinking beyond the normal box that all those in the office would give him trouble reporting the incident to the hospital and other boards. He decided he would just stop any of them from hurting his future and started shooting and killing any patients in the office and waiting room, his own staff, and any doctors in the immediate vicinity, followed by shooting himself. Dr. Lou Welcome was a good friend of Dr. John Meacham and couldn’t believe that this man could take the actions he had taken with such finality to everyone involved. Dr. Meacham had barely survived the bullet he put in his head and despite all the medical attention he was given, including some from Lou, he didn’t make it. The wife of the President of the United States, Darlene Mallory, was a good friend of the Secretary of Agriculture, Russell Evans, and was hurt that he had been caught with a hooker and had to resign his cabinet job. She needed to find out if the story was true or not. Their meeting was done secretly, planned well with the help of one of the Secret Service agents assigned to cover Mrs. Mallory, Victor. Victor was a very good agent but also was top notch at helping the presidents’ wife do almost anything she wished to do, outright or secretly. Lou was beginning to suspect something was going on affecting the minds of some causing them to do some outlandish and not near normal activities that had started with his friend killing so many and Dr. Meacham’s wife not acting normal also. Lou had been taking boxing lessons from a good friend, Cap, and had for some years. This helped Lou stay in good physical shape and he loved the action and boy, did he need some relaxation now after all he had been through the past few days. He and Cap worked out and had a good chance to talk. The town of Kings Ridge was the closest populated area and Lou went there to meet Chief Stone, Chief of the Kings Ridge Police force. Lou told Stone that he was suspicious of some strange things going on in the area with people doing and saying some strange things, some things from their local hospital, the local doctors, and the actions of Dr. Meacham. The chief took note but did not feel there was anything wrong. Action really picks up even more so involving all of the above, the President of the United States who was involved in a reelection campaign so did not have much time for close friends or his wife, Lou’s friends and associates, Secret Service agents, and many more. As I said, Michael Palmer has spun a great tale in this book and to try to tell you any more than I have would ruin your enjoyment while reading the book. The writing is excellent, the plots are great, and the characters are very real. When the book gets into genetically modified goods, we enter a current problem facing our world right now. How dangerous are these GE products?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Great Read

    Love the characters in the book. Any Michael Palmer book featuring his character Barrington is a great read and worth picking up.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Recommend highly.

    Got my attention with the first chapter and held it to the end. Didn't want to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    One of Michael Palmer's best

    If you like medical mysteries then this one is for you! I was hooked after the first page. I have read all of Michael Palmer's books and this is one of his best. You can kind of figure out what has happened but how it evolves keeps you on edge.
    junebug1228

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It's a pretty corny story, and chock full of gibberish-sized eve

    It's a pretty corny story, and chock full of gibberish-sized events that defy reason and probability. But once again author Michael Palmer has tied a doctor to the White House and made a story out of it. I give it three stars, which translates as good, but it is not great.There are so many taut thrillers out there that don't have the holes this one does; I reserve five stars for those.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    slow start

    Story started slowly, but got more and more interesting a it went on,,,, makes you wonder about the food industry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Hector

    Works on paperwork

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Boston Bob reviews

    Awful, terrible and a total waste. Like reading the "Hardy Boys". A
    Save your hard earned money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    GREAT READ

    As a fan of medical mysteries and Michael Palmer, this ranks near the top. Lou Welcome was introduced in this book and is an ongoing charachter in two later books so you should read this one first before Political Suicide and the latest Palmer book released 5/20/2014. If you read them out of order,go ahead with these. It's worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    Well written

    This is well written and a very good story. I really enjoyed reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Ummmmmmmmm,,,,,,,,,,,

    No

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Wasted potential

    Good characters and good plot idea but,come on. Mutated corn from carnivous termites? Really? The First Lady running around DC aided by her secret service guard and chief of staff and a budding love affair with the too good doctor.? Way too hokey.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    great book

    Love it...Just got back into reading his books...this one was very good worth the moneyyes I would read more of his books..be great for a book discussion or book club

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4