Customer Reviews for

Obama: From Promise to Power

Average Rating 3.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The real Obama

I am not a Democrat, but I wanted to get to know the real Obama by an objective source because I think he will be our next president and if not next then some day. David Mendel writes an objective and very interesting look at Obama and how he came to run for president....
I am not a Democrat, but I wanted to get to know the real Obama by an objective source because I think he will be our next president and if not next then some day. David Mendel writes an objective and very interesting look at Obama and how he came to run for president. I am a political junkie but not a political insider. Mr. Mendel writes for the novice in a captivating way that keeps one entertained by what could be a really boring subject.

posted by Anonymous on December 23, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Rater

The only interest I have after seeing him up close as presidemt is to see him GO AWAY!

posted by musacusa on October 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Rater

    The only interest I have after seeing him up close as presidemt is to see him GO AWAY!

    4 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2007

    The real Obama

    I am not a Democrat, but I wanted to get to know the real Obama by an objective source because I think he will be our next president and if not next then some day. David Mendel writes an objective and very interesting look at Obama and how he came to run for president. I am a political junkie but not a political insider. Mr. Mendel writes for the novice in a captivating way that keeps one entertained by what could be a really boring subject.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2015

    Puhlease! This entity is the worst person ever to inhabit the w

    Puhlease! This entity is the worst person ever to inhabit the white house! The only true thing he has ever said is that he planned to fundamentally transform America-what he didn't tell us is that his plans are for our harm-not our good. I (and over 50% of the population at this point) cannot even think of one good thing to say about this man-he has left us vulnerable to terrorism, racked up more debt than all other presidents combined, shown a blatant disrespect for the sanctity of life and manipulated and lied his way to buying minority votes, pandering and dancing to the strings of the late saul alinsky and the evil George soros, not to mention the Bilderbergers and other not so secret any longer societies. 'nuff said.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Go Mitt romney

    Obama needs to go! THE PERSON WHO SAID THE STUFF ABOUT THE TREES AND BABYS IS SO RIGHT? I WHIS THST I DIDNT HAVE TO GIVE THIS STAR BUT I HAVE NO CHOICE

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2008

    Great book!

    Written from a journalists' perspective during Obama's early days, his rise into the state senate and eventually on to the US Senate. Great 'behind-the-scenes' stories.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    -.- really people? -.-

    You couldnt even spell 'Romney' right. You know, I am 14 years old, but still im amazed how stupid how people can be.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    DOWN WITH OBAMA

    UP WITH ROMNY(IS THAT HOW YOU SPELL H NAMR)VOTE VOTE VOTE

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2007

    A reviewer

    Read David Mendell¿s intimate portrait of Barak Obama and `change the way you look at things ¿ so the things you look at will change.¿ Obama: From Promise to Power by David Mendell (Amistad 2007) Going from obscurity to star of the 2004 Democratic National Convention, he may become the next President of the United States, yes Barak Obama. One of the most charismatic democratic contenders is reveled by David Mendell who has chronicled Obama since the beginning of his campaign for the Senate. Obama: From Promise to Power provides a unique insider perspective of the man who may become the next President of these United States. David Mendell is a journalist for the Chicago Post Tribune.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Obama

    Great book to know the individuals that helped Obama behind the scenes. Gives a glimpse as to what he is like and what his vision is for the future of the United States.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2015

    Very Informative

    Informative, behind the scenes look at one of the best presidents this country's ever had. He's had the courage to make powerful changes that this country desperately needed and someday history will prove him vindicated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2015

    Dull

    Adull book about a dull subject.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1