Customer Reviews for

The Obama Diaries

Average Rating 3.5
( 300 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(116)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(69)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

Thanks for NOT waiting until the book comes out to review it...

Typical left-wing douchebaggery. The book hasn't even been released and someone gives it a 1 star review. So.... I'll give 5 stars just to even things out!

posted by TheBamaSlamma on July 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

It's not actually his diary, people!

First of all, I would like to say that I am truly distressed by the level of intelligence displayed here. The people giving this book a five-star rating seem to believe it is a work of non-fiction. This book is a political commentary expressing the author's views on t...
First of all, I would like to say that I am truly distressed by the level of intelligence displayed here. The people giving this book a five-star rating seem to believe it is a work of non-fiction. This book is a political commentary expressing the author's views on the current administration. Several of the reviews currently listed mention how the book 'shows America just what kind of person the President really is' and such. It's a bit disturbing that there are people out there who are willing to believe the President actually said the things attributed to him by this work of fiction.

Setting aside the issue of whether or not it is seemly for the public to poke fun at the office of the Presidency, or whether it is morally right to make up a fake diary of a real person-- as a satire, I give this book one star. Satire should be amusing and enlightening. This is just mean, and not particularly insightful. There's nothing original or incisive in this book, just a series of cheap shots on topics that have been exhaustively covered by other commentators.

posted by Panda on July 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 302 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    WHY

    Why is it so hard to believe this? She only reports the truth and I found it to be a wonderful book. Its about time people wake up and see what is going on in America and how we are being sold down the river. I found it eye opening to say the least.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Poor Taste

    This book is horrible. It put me to sleep in 10 minutes.

    6 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    It was a very good read. Not too long, but very informative, excellent

    I could not put this book down once I started reading it. I thought it was well put together, and I thought the research was pretty accurate. If a person, who is conservative wants to know what the other 1/2 thinks, by all means, this is a must.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2010

    Very Funny

    This was an incredibly funny read! I read it in one sitting.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    A work of fiction from an idiot woman

    what kind of pap is this? laura ingram is an idiot and this book is a result of that.

    4 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    Great Read!

    Laura has the major players in this national tragedy down to a tea--easy and amuzing to read

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Right Wing hating progaganda

    Anything this lady has to say about President Obama, has to be taken with a grain of salt. I address her as this lady because this is someone who praises former President George W.Bush intelligence while calling President Obama a buffoon. Need I say more, anyone who has that train of thought not only doesn't deserve to be called by their name They don't deserve to have a published book. But in the era of the internet even the most radical of Americans has the means to spew their twisted logic.

    3 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    Seriously?

    This book reads as if it were penned by an angsty teenage girl making fun of a classmate. Pure drivel. Clearly a juvenile attempt to discredit an administration by means of paltry partisan foolishness. Add to that the fact that it's a complete fabrication...makes me wonder about the future of journalism and responsible writing. I can't believe Ingraham is even jokingly promoting this piece as non-fiction.

    3 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great read, the format is fantastic

    Ingraham does an excellent job mixing her witty and humorous satire with sharp commentary that was logical and thought provoking. I thought that Ingraham did a masterful job with "diary entries"; you could easily imagine Biden tripping over his words or Rahm Emanuel unleashing a profanity laden tirade. The pace and the format of the book was the real strength, the balance of the commentary and the diary episodes was perfect.

    Unfortunately, I am going to have to deduct one star for the following reason: When Laura Ingraham was in high school, I was the goalie for the soccer team at Windsor Locks High School. When we played Glastonbury High away I was subject to unrelenting verbal hooliganism that I can still recall to this day. While I am sure that Ingraham had nothing to do with this outrageous behavior, it is still difficult to disassociate the two.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Ingraham would need to practice for months just to be an awful comedian

    Michele Obama, chocolate, Ray Nagin, chocolate...My White sides they be a splittin'

    2 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    totally recommend this book!

    This was a fascinating read. I enjoyed every moment of it! Laura Ingraham is so intelligent and this book was what you would expect of her. Could hardly stop reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    Anything by Laura Ingraham is worth reading. She is awesome and

    Anything by Laura Ingraham is worth reading. She is awesome and so is this book! Needs to be on national news!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Black

    Just because hes black doesnt mean you vote for him! HE IS RUINING AMERICA AND ISAREL!!! And you know what im mixed withvblack and im 12! ITS SUPRISING THAT A 12 YEAR OLD IS SMARTER THAN YOU STUPID IGNORANT ADULTS!!!! Im not being racist but hispanics and blacks voted for him just because hes black! WHEN HIM AND ROMNWY WERE GETTING AT EACHOTHER WITH ONE OF THE DEBATES, OBAMA SAID HE WILL LOWER TAXES FOR THE MIDDLE CLASS BUT 3 WEEKS AGO HE SAID HE IS RAISING TAXES BY $2,000! AND THEN YOU GUYS WANT TO VOTE FOR HIM BECAUSE OF HIS COLOR? LOOK AT HIS RIGHTS! HE IS A EVIL MAN WHO IS MUSLIM!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    What a shame

    Whoever wrote bad rewiews on this book are a bunch of pansies I mean i'm 15 and I thought the book was incredibly hilliarius

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    This is now my favorite Conservative view book

    Laura knows how to make things understandable. Comical and yet very real. She puts into words what most of us know.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    highly recommend

    very clever and kept my chuckling... Chew

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    Great book

    This is certainly insightful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Waste of money.

    This book was such a bunch of drivel that it's difficult to put into words. Who made this author, and I use the word loosely, an expert on government policies, procedures and rule making. Can we say poor loser Republican? Her hate of all things Democratic is psychotic and dangerous. I could not finish reading it due to the mean spirited and hateful progression of her words. This woman needs help and not in a good way.

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    Impossibly facile

    One of the most irritatingly annoying tomes I've yet to toss before reading through and through. If you like mean spiritedness that isn't funny this is your selection.

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Great book

    I totally love and respect laura.i was so excited to read this book. To be honest i've already suspected a few thins in the book but a great book nonetheless. Enjoy! :))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 302 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16