Customer Reviews for

The Obama Diaries

Average Rating 3.5
( 300 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(116)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(69)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

Thanks for NOT waiting until the book comes out to review it...

Typical left-wing douchebaggery. The book hasn't even been released and someone gives it a 1 star review. So.... I'll give 5 stars just to even things out!

posted by TheBamaSlamma on July 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

It's not actually his diary, people!

First of all, I would like to say that I am truly distressed by the level of intelligence displayed here. The people giving this book a five-star rating seem to believe it is a work of non-fiction. This book is a political commentary expressing the author's views on t...
First of all, I would like to say that I am truly distressed by the level of intelligence displayed here. The people giving this book a five-star rating seem to believe it is a work of non-fiction. This book is a political commentary expressing the author's views on the current administration. Several of the reviews currently listed mention how the book 'shows America just what kind of person the President really is' and such. It's a bit disturbing that there are people out there who are willing to believe the President actually said the things attributed to him by this work of fiction.

Setting aside the issue of whether or not it is seemly for the public to poke fun at the office of the Presidency, or whether it is morally right to make up a fake diary of a real person-- as a satire, I give this book one star. Satire should be amusing and enlightening. This is just mean, and not particularly insightful. There's nothing original or incisive in this book, just a series of cheap shots on topics that have been exhaustively covered by other commentators.

posted by Panda on July 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    A excellent read

    Well worth the time invested,every bit of information in this book is worth gold in that it reveals this White House & its inhabitants for what they really are. The left will be slamming away at the author & the book, as well as those like me who like it, but those of us who can read without having the media interpret for us will see that the author is on target in defining this Presidency. Keep up the good work in getting books like this published, we have to try to preserve the Constitution for the next 3 years at least. When this President can't control the media source, he is truly a sore, sore loser. Sure does hurt when that bright light shines on the White House and the antics of the occupants....especially when they have no respect for the office or the people they are supposed to represent. The disrespect for the American people by Obama, his wife and those surrounding them is so profound that it is terrifying. A great read for the englightened.

    32 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    WE NEEDED THIS BOOK! THANKS LAURA!

    The American people have been lied to over and over by this President, and those in his Administration. I never thought I would live to see the day, of having such a hypocritical President. It makes me ill just to call him our "leader." The American people are smart enough to see through all the glossy words and well written speeches. Judgment day will occur in the mid term elections in November, and better yet, in 2012.
    Thank you Laura, for such an insightful and honest approach to the writing of things we may not want to hear, or believe. Americans are now "on alert" concerning this Administration, and will do the right thing when the time comes for the election(s).

    30 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    Laura ingraham is number 1

    ingraham is wonderful insightful funny and by far the most intellengent women on the radio hence why she's the most listen to I pre ordered this book at bn 3 months in advance and negative reviews make me laugh please are you serious

    25 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    change?

    he gave us change alright! only his change was not to stand with us AMERICANS! Anyone who can't see how pathetic this man is, is wearing the blinders. HE IS THE WORST THING THAT COULD HAVE HAPPENED TO US! this book just confirms some of the things we have already seen, and known, but some things that came more of a shock!

    24 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    serious look into the obama administration

    "the obama diary" is a very indepth bestseller that documents the many follies of the obama administration and gives many remarkable accounts of how they have misused the tax dollors of the american people laura ingraham has found many intresting facts that I did not about this is a great book and would be a wonderful gift for a friend or family member.

    23 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    OBAMA PRESIDENCY

    Laura, wonderfully written book, very insightful. There seems to be much self congratulatory talk coming from the supporters of the President. I find Obama's race totally irrelevant. The important point is that we have elected the most ultraliberal, leftist, socialistic president in all of history.
    America is waking up..........the majority of Americans know exactly what is going on.......and will make sure the fabric of the Socialistic trends, will change in the next election! We all love this country way too much to let a few ultra liberals in Washington destroy what our forefathers worked hard to establish and create. People, continue to have hope........it will not stay this way for long! It will turn around, and we will make our founding fathers proud again!

    19 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Super

    What's not to like. A very intelligent lady tells it like it is

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    Funny and Honest

    Laura Ingraham's The Obama Diaries is a funny satire of the Obama Presidency.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this book!

    Bought this for my mom. She is a big Laura Ingraham fan! This country is in deep trouble with our current liberal president. America was founded on principles that are being rocked by Obama's administration and their socialistic views in attempting to reform this country. Here's a hint Mr. President, this country doesn't need to be changed or reformed in any way. It is the greatest nation ever created and we need to kick this president out along with Nancy & Harry and elect a president and congress who believe in this country and who are proud of this country. As Michelle Obama said, "For the first time I am proud of this country."- referring to her husband's nomination for president. For the first time..Michelle???? She shows so clearly her deep rooted hatred and resentment for this county. And why? She was privileged to attend the most prestigious law school and has lived a privileged life as well. Why is she not proud of her country????? Michelle and her husband needs to go! Thank God for people like Laura Ingraham! Keep it up Laura! Recommend this book to all people who love America and who are proud of America!

    14 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Real Page Turner

    Okay I will be the first one to admit. I don't know if the diary entries of all of the cast of characters are true or not. I don't really care the book is it is VERY plausible. This was the first book I purchased for my new Nook and I simply could not put the darn book down. It takes a heck of a book to get me so involved and this one did just that. Laura Ingraham is a good writer and her commentary and insights are fair, accurate, and are well documented. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is interested in what this administration and congress is all about. A true eye opening read. I highly recommend it.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    Don't put down book till you've finished

    I did and now can't get back as my friend picked up and won't give back till he finishes. However he does stop occasionally and recount laughable incidents that I'm now getting secondhand. This book would be much more amusing if there wasn't so much truth in Laura's account. Could the "Rangel Diaries" be next year's best seller?

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    TERRIFIC BOOK, LAURA!

    WONDERFULLY ENLIGHTENING BOOK! NEWT GINGRICH IS RIGHT....OBAMA IS LIKE A TEENAGER........USING THE GOVERNMENT'S FEDERAL MASTERCARD AND VISA CHARGE CARDS TO SEND US ALL TO OUR GRAVE! ALL OF YOU WHO SUPPORT HIS SPENDING OUT OF CONTROL POLICIES........JUST WAIT UNTIL WE ARE ALL STANDING IN FOOD/BREAD LINES WAITING TO GET A FEW SLICES OF BREAD FOR OUR DAILY MEAL!
    ANY RESPONSIBLE PERSON KNOWS THAT YOU DON'T MAX OUT YOUR CREDIT CARDS, AND CHARGE EVERYTHING THAT YOUR HEART DESIRES. THIS IS THE MOST IMMATURE, "I'LL DO WHAT I WANT" PRESIDENT THAT AMERICA HAS EVER HAD. HE IS RUNNING US ALL INTO THE GROUND........AND TO OUR ULTIMATE DEMISE.

    11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2010

    Too Funny

    Laura does an absolutely great job of mixing truth and satire. If anyone has the option, purchase the CD version. The people Laura has reading the diaries of Obama, Biden, Rahm, and especially Michelle almost made me run off the road with laughter. Then I realized that what she was writing about was true - it is unbelievable that these people made it into the White House.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2010

    It was a good read

    I liked the book, some say this material was covered already, it was but only on fox news..............

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2010

    The Best

    Oh my gosh! An eye opener EVERYONE MUST READ!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    WHY

    Why is it so hard to believe this? She only reports the truth and I found it to be a wonderful book. Its about time people wake up and see what is going on in America and how we are being sold down the river. I found it eye opening to say the least.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    It was a very good read. Not too long, but very informative, excellent

    I could not put this book down once I started reading it. I thought it was well put together, and I thought the research was pretty accurate. If a person, who is conservative wants to know what the other 1/2 thinks, by all means, this is a must.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2010

    Very Funny

    This was an incredibly funny read! I read it in one sitting.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    Great Read!

    Laura has the major players in this national tragedy down to a tea--easy and amuzing to read

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    totally recommend this book!

    This was a fascinating read. I enjoyed every moment of it! Laura Ingraham is so intelligent and this book was what you would expect of her. Could hardly stop reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6