Customer Reviews for

The Obama Nation

Average Rating 3
( 138 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(60)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

A Must Read Before You Vote

This book is an eye opener. If you read Obama's autobiography, you will be 'hoodwinked' into believing he's something he's not. Then look at the real person through Obama Nation where this author's investigative research reveals all. Look seriously at the association...
This book is an eye opener. If you read Obama's autobiography, you will be 'hoodwinked' into believing he's something he's not. Then look at the real person through Obama Nation where this author's investigative research reveals all. Look seriously at the associations Obama has presently, and has had in his life and you will believe the adage 'birds of a feather, flock together. This book is full of things that make you go hmmmm about Obama. A must read before you vote.

posted by Anonymous on September 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Horrendous

If anyone knows anything about credible journalism or the writing that is researched (ie: scholarly journalism), one should know that they cannot cite themselves as a source. This book claims that is it 'meticulously researched.' One look at the notes in the back will r...
If anyone knows anything about credible journalism or the writing that is researched (ie: scholarly journalism), one should know that they cannot cite themselves as a source. This book claims that is it 'meticulously researched.' One look at the notes in the back will reveal a very different story. Not only does Corsi cite HIMSELF 9 times in the prologue alone, but two further citations are of interviews done WITH him by other people (who is going to say they are not a credible source?). Beyond those issues, he cites miscellaneous blogs and youtube videos that could have just as easily been produced by my uncle as they could by a truly credible source. So, problem 1, his sources are not credible. Problem 2, he takes quotations out of context. When he cites certain speeches and quotations they are taken out of context, they are therefore easily manipulated into exactly what he would like you to believe they mean. problem 3, beyond the credibility of his sources, the sources themselves are often incomplete. A hard look at the notes section of the book will reveal it for what it truly is: propagandist lies. This book is in no fashion 'well researched' or 'Well documented'... quite the contrary. It is full of conservative blogs, FOX news-driven opinions, and out-of-context quotes. Quite frankly, we have seen him attempt this little stunt before with his Swift Boat book in 2004. Sorry Corsi, it's not going to work this time. Well some people may believe this as 'truth,' the 'research' alone proves otherwise. This book is nonsense, pure and simple. This book is not scholarly, beyond poorly cited and full of lies. If there was a rating below 1 star...I would have given it that. If you are trying to fact-find, do not count on this ridiculous piece of trash for anything. If you do waste your money on this rag, the first thing you should do is look at the notes in the back and pull up his sources...find out who this guy is citing as the 'truth finders,' you may be shocked by what you find.

posted by Anonymous on October 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2008

    Horrendous

    If anyone knows anything about credible journalism or the writing that is researched (ie: scholarly journalism), one should know that they cannot cite themselves as a source. This book claims that is it 'meticulously researched.' One look at the notes in the back will reveal a very different story. Not only does Corsi cite HIMSELF 9 times in the prologue alone, but two further citations are of interviews done WITH him by other people (who is going to say they are not a credible source?). Beyond those issues, he cites miscellaneous blogs and youtube videos that could have just as easily been produced by my uncle as they could by a truly credible source. So, problem 1, his sources are not credible. Problem 2, he takes quotations out of context. When he cites certain speeches and quotations they are taken out of context, they are therefore easily manipulated into exactly what he would like you to believe they mean. problem 3, beyond the credibility of his sources, the sources themselves are often incomplete. A hard look at the notes section of the book will reveal it for what it truly is: propagandist lies. This book is in no fashion 'well researched' or 'Well documented'... quite the contrary. It is full of conservative blogs, FOX news-driven opinions, and out-of-context quotes. Quite frankly, we have seen him attempt this little stunt before with his Swift Boat book in 2004. Sorry Corsi, it's not going to work this time. Well some people may believe this as 'truth,' the 'research' alone proves otherwise. This book is nonsense, pure and simple. This book is not scholarly, beyond poorly cited and full of lies. If there was a rating below 1 star...I would have given it that. If you are trying to fact-find, do not count on this ridiculous piece of trash for anything. If you do waste your money on this rag, the first thing you should do is look at the notes in the back and pull up his sources...find out who this guy is citing as the 'truth finders,' you may be shocked by what you find.

    12 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2008

    A Must Read Before You Vote

    This book is an eye opener. If you read Obama's autobiography, you will be 'hoodwinked' into believing he's something he's not. Then look at the real person through Obama Nation where this author's investigative research reveals all. Look seriously at the associations Obama has presently, and has had in his life and you will believe the adage 'birds of a feather, flock together. This book is full of things that make you go hmmmm about Obama. A must read before you vote.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    Nobama

    After listening to just minutes of a Reverend Wright sermon, I realized what Obama was really about. The truth hurts, but Corsi is man enough to reveal it!

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2008

    REQUIRED READING FOR ANYONE CONSIDERING VOTING FOR B.H.O.

    An amazing read, thoroughly documented. I highly recommend it to anyone wondering who Barack Obama really is and what he will do to this country if he is elected president.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2008

    I searched The Weathermen Underground

    I searched for books about the radical group the weathermen, and this book came up 1st on the search. I just thought it was funny.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    Bias presented as 'Truth'

    This book was extremely disappointing. As an independent, wanting more information to determine who to vote for, I read this hoping to gain relevant insight into Obama. Instead, it was like reading the authors autobiography without knowing it. It said more about the author, then Obama, in the weak facts and research. this guys motives are seriously questionable. When a person says he's not bias--- guess what---they usually are. Save your money

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    Transparently Xenophobic

    Transparently Xenophobic Whoa. I have to say I opened this book out of objective curiosity, and found myself appalled and offended by the transparently xenophobic (if not outright racist) vernacular used by the author. The language he uses to describe Obama's childhood in Indonesia and criticize his mother's marital history is specifically chosen to incite feelings of fear against the foreign. Referring to 'another third-world' choice in Obama's mother marrying an Indonesian man, or asking if as a child, Obama was 'trained in Islam' are rich examples of the author's obvious attempts at associating Obama with radical Islam. Clearly, the verb 'trained' is meant to link him to a military image. Are we 'trained' in Christianity or Hinduism or Judaism? It's sad that we can't appreciate Obama's experience as a foreigner in a Muslim country, with relatives from many distant cultures, and what that understanding could possibly bring to the presidency at this time in our history. I wish the author would have stuck more to reportage and less to editorializing. Pathetic.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2008

    Nice job.

    This a really informative book. There are so many rumors flying around about Obama that I found this book well researched and Corsi writes with a well thought out sequence of Obama's life shaping experiences. I did come away understanding Obama so much better and having a real sense of where he would take our country. Mr. Obama is truly a socialist and I think he believes that his way is best for America. The problem is it is not the America I know and love. <BR/><BR/>The book exposes Obama and answers the questions that Obama skirts. <BR/><BR/>The book held my interest and would recommend all on the fence to read it.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2008

    Great Book

    Makes you think about electing this guy for dogcatcher. Never held a job in his life

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2008

    great book, doing the work the msm won't do

    the main stream media will not investigate obama's current and past associations with terrorists, slumlords, drugs, so corsi had to do it

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2008

    A Great Eye Opener for All!

    This book is great. It tells of all the connections Obama has to Libya, Iraq under Saddam, Islamic Kenyans, domestic terrorist William Ayers, and how he got a sweet deal on his house. All of which makes you wonder why these people keep coming up and how the media sweeps it under the rug. Why haven't we heard more? Also goes into the word's 'Change' real meaning. It is a bit dry at the start when it talks about him growing up but the book is well worth it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2008

    Learning More About the Candidate

    Everyone should read this reader-friendly book about this candidate. There are many things about the candidate personally to consider. There are many of his stands on issues that are discussed and should be considered. The author has done an excellent job of putting information in this book for voters to consider.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2008

    The Truth Be Told┬┐

    I went in to reading this book with an open mind and I can tell you that it is a true eye opener. Being able to slice through the left wing evening news and really get a true prospective was refreshing. This is a must read for anyone who is planning to vote and cares about this country. Read it and come to your own conclusion.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2008

    Avid Reader

    I'm sick of only reading stuff about Obama that his camp has approved of. In other words sanitized. Call it what you like, it makes you stop and think. I think people need to look a little deeper than what's on the surface. I think people should formulate their own opinions and not take on that of newscasters or famous people. I guess Obama can dish it out but he can't take it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    The real Barack Obama, finally revealed.

    This book examines presidential candidate Barack Obama more thoroughly than any reporter in the mainstream media. Dr. Corsi raises some brow-raising questions about the integrity of Barack Obama and his incapability of assuming the world's most powerful office. 'The Obama Nation' talks about Senator Obama and his questionable activites as a community organizer in Chicago. The book also examines the disturbing relationship between Obama and radicals like Jeremiah Wright and William Ayres. 'The Obama Nation' strips away the rock-star mystique that liberal-democrats find mesmerizing, and exposes readers to the real Barack Obama. An outstanding, well researched book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2008

    'Enlightening'

    Very informative,lots of facts,footnotes,and it brings to question Obama's REAL background.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2008

    Dangerous bigotry

    This book is dangerous. Corsi has blatantly lied and is appealing to religious bigotry. Corsi is not a political analysist. He is a demagogue, playing on fears for the political benefit of the Republican Party. He did it with his Swift Boaters untruths, and that seemed to work in 2004, but McCain and the National Republican Party should condemn this book and this man. If this is the only way they can win the presidency, then God help us all!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Contained more than I thought it would.

    When I picked this up I was expecting a layout of his policies, but the author also includes a short bio on Barack at the beginning of the book, which was great because it opened my eyes and helped me understand our president's up-bringing. I wish I could give more but there's too much to compliment. Great research and resources. So many little (and BIG) nuggets of information.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Right On!!

    Reading this book 6 months after Pres. Obama has taken office I think validates everything the author has written He is abosolutely a Far to the Left Radical

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Still Up in the Air

    As a Libertarian, I guess you could say I don't have a dog in this hunt. I'm a little queasy with McCain's view points or I should say lack thereof. But I believe this book's premise is right on the money. For some time now I have wondered what this Obama fellow is all about. <BR/><BR/>I really appreciate Jerome R Corsi doing the research and writing this book. I really do. As the years go by and I get older, I find less people working and more people taking. I find that many citizens have the "I am a victim" mind-set. I see children raised without the benefit of a father in the home. I find the Chinese are making all of our products and Wal-Mart is selling all of our products. Suffice to say, I am finding and seeing a lot of things that cause great concern. Indeed, our downfall. Now, who are we going to choose to lead us? <BR/><BR/>I read this book with interest and trepidation. The research, both political and personal conducted by Corsi seemed to be valid. While I knew about some of the items contained in this book (Jeremiah Wright), many of them were news to me. Here is a sample of what the book told me that I didn't know: <BR/><BR/>* His father and stepfather's connections with extremist. <BR/>* The association with William Ayers and Bernadette Dohrn. <BR/>* Tony Rezko helping Obama with his mansion purchase. (Why is he ranting about McCain's houses - poor judgment?) <BR/>* Obama's tax plan for global-poverty-reduction program <BR/><BR/>What is truth and what are lies. The challenge would be to go to the sources and root out the truth. If these are lies, someone needs to set us straight real soon; like before November. Oh, and by the way, here is a safety tip I picked up from the book. If Obama wins, you really should cancel that sightseeing trip to Israel you planned for 2009. <BR/><BR/>Michael L. Gooch, SPHR

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7