Customer Reviews for

The Obamas

Average Rating 3.5
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Good

really an interesting look at the Obama's. I'm a republican, and there are some things about our president that I find a bit unsavory, in regards to his political agendas, but this book was a decent read. I recommend it.

posted by B-Caddy on January 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

?

I find the book not well written but what troubles me are the disrespectful, unpatriotic people who have probably never done a civil duty more than maybe jury duty who say they hate their president. They use words like hate and worst president. Have u forgotten the reas...
I find the book not well written but what troubles me are the disrespectful, unpatriotic people who have probably never done a civil duty more than maybe jury duty who say they hate their president. They use words like hate and worst president. Have u forgotten the reason we r in the hole is due to past administrations' decisions and sleepimg on the job citizens? Or maybe you just cant get past his skin color. Whateve
r the reason, I'm sure it has no logical reason except pure selfishness or prejudice. There were far more worse president ls than Obama. People need someone to blame i guess. America is a democracy but we are too busywatching tv or slaving for our toys to contribute more than negativity....

posted by megamomDC on January 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    Good

    really an interesting look at the Obama's. I'm a republican, and there are some things about our president that I find a bit unsavory, in regards to his political agendas, but this book was a decent read. I recommend it.

    23 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Read more, learn more, complain less.

    Before you blast one of America's greatest assets, try reading a little more about American Politics, from various publications, and perhaps you may finally grasp that one man who has been in office for a brief time did not tank this country. What saddens me is that the very people President Obama is trying to help, are often the ones who have allowed themselves to be easily influenced by the media, etc. to believe he is the enemy. Research political issues yourself, using various sources, and you just may become enlightened.

    22 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    ?

    I find the book not well written but what troubles me are the disrespectful, unpatriotic people who have probably never done a civil duty more than maybe jury duty who say they hate their president. They use words like hate and worst president. Have u forgotten the reason we r in the hole is due to past administrations' decisions and sleepimg on the job citizens? Or maybe you just cant get past his skin color. Whateve
    r the reason, I'm sure it has no logical reason except pure selfishness or prejudice. There were far more worse president ls than Obama. People need someone to blame i guess. America is a democracy but we are too busywatching tv or slaving for our toys to contribute more than negativity....

    14 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    C Beard

    Sorry I bought it!

    13 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    A piece of history

    CAN NOT WAIT FOR MY COPY

    13 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    An okay book.

    I had many emotions as I read this book. When I finished it, I realized that it was very disturbing. This president is clearly racist in his philosophy and uses any trick in the book to get what he wants - no matter what the American people want. How dare they resent the loss of their privacy. They chose this ascent and now that they have it, they want their personal time - and nothing no one is going to keep them from having it. I was more disgusted after I finished the book than I was when I opened it. This guy and his 'first lady' are not patriots.................

    12 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    So a quick question

    I have yet to finish this book, yet as I look at some of the reviews I wonder what anyone's personal belief and observation on the presidency have ANYTHING to do with this book?? Agree or don't agree with how he is running the country, but that doesn't reflect on the book itself. Educate yourself about all the politital parties and then cast your vote accordingly!

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2012

    Looking forward to reading

    Will take this book with a grain of salt, (or many grains of salt) as I doubt it is a true representation, but I LOVE political biographies, so will read it anyway. It will not color my feelings about this wonderful couple, I think very highly of both of them, and think the President has done a terrific job. Mrs. Obama is an intelligent woman, and I am very suspect of any derogatory things this book might say about her.

    12 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Skip it!

    This was a waste of money. It's so far from reality that I couldn't finish it.

    10 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Anon

    Interesting, but the author omitted a lot. Dream house in Chicago, no mention of Rezco. Healthcare, no word about the 2,000 unread bill. A lot of balanced info was missing.

    9 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    don't waste your money

    Read exerts of the book. Terrible book. Suggest the author get her facts straight and also she never intereviewed the Obamas. Very one sided.

    8 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    @2 comment

    Worst president ever would be George W. Bush

    7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    Fiction

    The fact that the author never interviewed the First Lady certainly is a very troubling thing to me. Should I believe hearsay from just about anybody EXCEPT the First Lady? I would not even check this out from a library, much less pay for a copy. Looks to me like Ms. Kantor is just trying to make money at Mrs. Obama's expense.

    7 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Obama fan

    Good read, the first family has a right to as much privcacy as possible, especially with all the hate regarding the president, first lady, and even their daughters, i think the president has done a remarkable job considering the negitive and hatefull enviornment in which he is sourrounded by, these other clowns who want to be president think its so easy, like waving a magic wand and poof our countrys problems are gone, jobs galore, families who have lost their homes will all own homes again, etc, etc give president obama a break at least he is trying i am glad i read this book, because it gives a little insight as to what the president is up against
    I think the author did a good job in her research and writing this book

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    About time

    Finally my first purchase and a book with the juicey details

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Great read

    Wonderful insight into the Obama WhiteHouse. If you already are fan of our President, this fabulous book will only help increase your admiration for him.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Really Good book

    Found this book very interesting. Great read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    Recommended Reading

    The overview is a good description of the contents of the book. I am enjoying the book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    The cover makes me want to gag.

    That's all. I would give it 0 stars if I could.

    3 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    ........

    Why is there a book about the worst president in history??? Who would read this garbage?!?

    3 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4