Customer Reviews for

Obama's Wars

Average Rating 3.5
( 356 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(70)

2 Star

(72)

1 Star

(46)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Great, Honest, Unbiased

As a liberal late 20-something liberal I appreciate Bob Woodward's unbiased and incredibly honest and well researched books and articles. This book is a great review of the current problems in Obama's White House. To those liberals who are rating this book low because...
As a liberal late 20-something liberal I appreciate Bob Woodward's unbiased and incredibly honest and well researched books and articles. This book is a great review of the current problems in Obama's White House. To those liberals who are rating this book low because it hurts your impression of someone who made themselves out to be the messiah... get over it, the truth is the truth, ugly or not. Remember cheering him on when he exposed the insanity GW's White House and accepting his writing as gospel truth? Well the same thing applies here. To those conservatives who rate this book highly because it exposes Obama's problems... stop, your people can't get it right either.

What ever happened to reading a book before rating it? Informative and truthful. An easy cover-to-cover read in two days. I felt like I walked away with more information on Obama's White House than I have had to this point. Woodward does a great job of pointing out the issues but also pointing out that not everything is terrible. I highly recommend this book

posted by 1753158 on September 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

Looked at it; tedious...

Woodward seems to me "old news". One may agree, he does a good job of information gathering, but like all muckrakers (the older term for "investigative reporter"), one always suspects an undisclosed and uncriticized set of feelings - values - underlying his accounts. ...
Woodward seems to me "old news". One may agree, he does a good job of information gathering, but like all muckrakers (the older term for "investigative reporter"), one always suspects an undisclosed and uncriticized set of feelings - values - underlying his accounts. Only to be be read cum granum salis.

posted by RRassendyll on September 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 358 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    Sample???

    14 pages and no actual book content... what's the point?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Engrossing fly-on-the-wall reporting on the crafting of the Obama administration's Afghanistan policy

    Hours after his election as the 44th president of the United States, Barack Obama learned details of the top-secret circumstances that defined the Afghanistan conflict, a war characterized by inadequate resources, incomplete planning, inchoate strategy and ongoing bloodshed. Bob Woodward of The Washington Post applied his legendary reporting skills to reams of meeting notes, classified reports and interviews to recreate the often tempestuous policy making on Afghanistan that marked Obama's first 18 months in office. Woodward's trip to Afghanistan and his unfettered access to top officials in more than 100 interviews, including more than an hour with the president, put you at the center of marathon meetings, disputes and discussions peopled by contrasting personalities and their shifting allegiances. getAbstract recommends this masterful work of reporting, an engrossing book on how the US is managing a war "with no good options."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    Unfortunately for Obama...

    This book is well done. Mr Woodward has done an excellent journalist's job of reporting the inadequacies and the stupidity of the members of the Obama administration including the big putz himself, Mr. Obmama. Mr Woodward depicts the nieve approach that Obama and Co. have taken in their approach to Iraq and Afghanistan. God help us.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    great read

    Pure case of rookie President overwhelmed by the complexities of the process and the magnitude of the issues.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2010

    Good view of the interactions between the Miltary, Intelligence, and White House.

    Provides a great context for understanding recent events/changes of personnel inside the Obama Administration/Goverment. Fairly easy read although there are a lot of alot of acronyms to keep track of.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2015

    This is what obama stands for

    One
    Big
    Ass
    Mistake
    America

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    I just noticed something...

    People are brainwashed by this nonsence!!!!!!! And the comment about how republicans who cant spell is because im twelve dummy! Srry i have anger problen but obama is bad news! You will see...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    I just noticed something......

    All the republican people who hate President Obama can't spell!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Obama

    Obamaa
    Awsome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    A very telling insight to politics

    Until I read this book, I had never realized how brutal presidents are. Obama continued the afghan war until 2014 simply for reeelection purposes. Afganistan will NEVER be won, yet our brave young men and women are being killed and maimed just so that a president can be reelected. Shame not only on Obama but many presidents in the past that have done the very same thing. Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, and Bush 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    very well written Book. I would suggest the Obama supporters to

    very well written Book. I would suggest the Obama supporters to all read "A Dream Come True", by Noor F Amin. This author is 17 years old and talks about all the accomplishments of the president and tells the American people why they should vote for him this november.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    Republican Review

    As a republican, I found this book very insightful. You really get a good feeling for the considerations taken into account at high level NSC meetings and perspectives of the different principals (Gates, Jones, Rahm, ect.). Also, a good military perspective and real insight into the relationship between the military and civilian leadership and the dynamic role the Defense Secretary must play in balancing that relationship.

    Great read if you are a political junky of any political ideology.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Dull and Dry

    How can someone take such a fascinating topic and turn it into such a dull and unimaginative book? Easy. You get yourself access, where others can't go, and you're the only game in town to the publishers who want such a book. Had such high hopes for this one. It will present the reader with the dismal options for our country for future commitments in Afghanistan and Iraq but the rest is dull. . . . Did I mention dry? Dull and dry. Bummer.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Useful study of the Afghan war

    The war in Afghanistan has brought only problems without solutions - safe havens for al-Qaeda in Pakistan, government corruption, drug-running, and the failures of the Afghan army and police. As US General David Petraeus said, the Afghan government 'is a criminal syndicate'. Richard Holbrooke, the US Special Representative for Afghanistan and Pakistan, admitted, "Our presence is the corrupting force." As long as Afghan society does not change, its corrupt institutions can't change. Whether Afghanistan achieves development and democracy is up to the Afghan people. Outsiders can never bring either. NATO aimed to defeat the Taliban through counter-insurgency war, but this would require another 100,000 US troops. President Obama has rejected this option. The Taliban do not advocate attacks outside Afghanistan. We should negotiate with them, to isolate and defeat al-Qaeda. Al-Qaeda is the real threat to Britain, not the Taliban, so we should focus on stopping al-Qaeda carrying out terrorist acts here in Britain. NATO has had the wrong strategy, so it uses the wrong tactics. Less than one per cent of the Afghan people live in Helmand, yet 12 per cent of US troops are there. NATO forces are bombing Afghanistan every day (ignored by our media), but as Woodward points out, "The great lesson of World War II and Vietnam was that attacks from the air, even massive bombings, can't win a war." Drone attacks in Pakistan will not win the war in Afghanistan (nor will air warfare alone win in Libya). Some US generals and politicians set conditions for withdrawal, but if withdrawal depends on achieving development and democracy there, the troops will stay forever. Some say, if we pull out, our soldiers will have died in vain. But how would making yet more soldiers die in vain add meaning? Only if continuing the war brought victory, which it won't. President Obama has pledged that in July this year the USA will begin withdrawing its troops, without conditions. We must do what we can to ensure that this happens, to successfully end the war.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    An Ok Book

    This book was ok. I really wasn't surprised by some of the things said in it. Another book that was recommended to me when purchasing this book was "Life After Foreclosure" by Dean Wegner. Both books together really show very informative information about today's times.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    dcfc

    OBMA Sucksscvvd

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 358 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18