Customer Reviews for

Obama's Wars

Average Rating 3.5
( 354 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(88)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(70)

2 Star

(71)

1 Star

(46)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Great, Honest, Unbiased

As a liberal late 20-something liberal I appreciate Bob Woodward's unbiased and incredibly honest and well researched books and articles. This book is a great review of the current problems in Obama's White House. To those liberals who are rating this book low because...
As a liberal late 20-something liberal I appreciate Bob Woodward's unbiased and incredibly honest and well researched books and articles. This book is a great review of the current problems in Obama's White House. To those liberals who are rating this book low because it hurts your impression of someone who made themselves out to be the messiah... get over it, the truth is the truth, ugly or not. Remember cheering him on when he exposed the insanity GW's White House and accepting his writing as gospel truth? Well the same thing applies here. To those conservatives who rate this book highly because it exposes Obama's problems... stop, your people can't get it right either.

What ever happened to reading a book before rating it? Informative and truthful. An easy cover-to-cover read in two days. I felt like I walked away with more information on Obama's White House than I have had to this point. Woodward does a great job of pointing out the issues but also pointing out that not everything is terrible. I highly recommend this book

posted by 1753158 on September 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

Looked at it; tedious...

Woodward seems to me "old news". One may agree, he does a good job of information gathering, but like all muckrakers (the older term for "investigative reporter"), one always suspects an undisclosed and uncriticized set of feelings - values - underlying his accounts. ...
Woodward seems to me "old news". One may agree, he does a good job of information gathering, but like all muckrakers (the older term for "investigative reporter"), one always suspects an undisclosed and uncriticized set of feelings - values - underlying his accounts. Only to be be read cum granum salis.

posted by RRassendyll on September 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 7, 2010

    A Never Ending Quagmire??

    I will confess up-front that I am not a fan of our President, nor did I vote for him, however, as a retired military person, I can appreciate the difficulty in dealing with issues that are inherited by virtue of being placed in or obtaining a new position or promotion. I have always felt that leadership is important, but so are those individuals filling key positions of trust, which can help or hurt one in getting a job done. Clearly, a President has a tremendous amount of responsibility and those he choses for his cabinet can have an incredible effect in carrying out and determining policy, thus aiding in success or leading to failure. Mr. Woodward's book does a good job in presenting the difficulties of a new administration dealing with an on-going war, and in this case, two wars. As with any government buracracy, there are differences in views of individuals, however, in this book one can see how these differing views complicate defining solutions. I certainly appreciate all those who have sacrificed in our recent wars, but I more than ever, think we need to figure a way out of the Afgahnistan quagmire. This book is definitely worth the read.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2010

    Well Written

    Typically, unless you have a genuine distaste for the person who is the subject of policital books, it provides for really dry reading. For this book, that is not the case. I have found it to be a very interesting behind the scenes drama between the President of the United States and the people who guide him towards both success and failure in his new leadership position. The average American has no idea what goes on in the closed meetings between the POTUS and the Cabinet. This book sheds light on this and so much more.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    Interesting

    Contrary to popular belief, Bob Woodward was a republican when he broke the Watergate scandal when he was writing for hte Washington Post. he is NOW a Democrat becasue of the failings of George Bush Jr. (ironic though isn't it?) Considering the awe inspiring similarities between the foreign policy platforms of the two administrations? I mean Bush acted more like a modern democrat during his two terms than he did a traditional republican and this book shows it! ALso like Bush Jr. Obama shows a lack of critical analysis skills, particularly inhis ability to comprehend the "nitty Gritty" of what is happening on the ground militarilly ini the middle east, despite the fact that he has a background in the culture and religious aspects of the middle east, in the book he refers to it "off the record" through the filter of chicago politics. (I WAS DUMBFOUNDED that such an eloquent speaker could not com up with a better way to phrase his thoughts on the middle east) Well I suppose that I cannot say however that I expected much more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    Reading History

    This book confirms again the reason why we should not be in Iraq and the lies perpetrated by George Bush and his administration. As usual Woodward is very thorough in his research and his writing. It still doesn't take away the fact that America should not have invaded that country. I do not envy Obama and what he has to do to get us out of there. All Americans should read this book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    very well written Book. I would suggest the Obama supporters to

    very well written Book. I would suggest the Obama supporters to all read "A Dream Come True", by Noor F Amin. This author is 17 years old and talks about all the accomplishments of the president and tells the American people why they should vote for him this november.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    Republican Review

    As a republican, I found this book very insightful. You really get a good feeling for the considerations taken into account at high level NSC meetings and perspectives of the different principals (Gates, Jones, Rahm, ect.). Also, a good military perspective and real insight into the relationship between the military and civilian leadership and the dynamic role the Defense Secretary must play in balancing that relationship.

    Great read if you are a political junky of any political ideology.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Useful study of the Afghan war

    The war in Afghanistan has brought only problems without solutions - safe havens for al-Qaeda in Pakistan, government corruption, drug-running, and the failures of the Afghan army and police. As US General David Petraeus said, the Afghan government 'is a criminal syndicate'. Richard Holbrooke, the US Special Representative for Afghanistan and Pakistan, admitted, "Our presence is the corrupting force." As long as Afghan society does not change, its corrupt institutions can't change. Whether Afghanistan achieves development and democracy is up to the Afghan people. Outsiders can never bring either. NATO aimed to defeat the Taliban through counter-insurgency war, but this would require another 100,000 US troops. President Obama has rejected this option. The Taliban do not advocate attacks outside Afghanistan. We should negotiate with them, to isolate and defeat al-Qaeda. Al-Qaeda is the real threat to Britain, not the Taliban, so we should focus on stopping al-Qaeda carrying out terrorist acts here in Britain. NATO has had the wrong strategy, so it uses the wrong tactics. Less than one per cent of the Afghan people live in Helmand, yet 12 per cent of US troops are there. NATO forces are bombing Afghanistan every day (ignored by our media), but as Woodward points out, "The great lesson of World War II and Vietnam was that attacks from the air, even massive bombings, can't win a war." Drone attacks in Pakistan will not win the war in Afghanistan (nor will air warfare alone win in Libya). Some US generals and politicians set conditions for withdrawal, but if withdrawal depends on achieving development and democracy there, the troops will stay forever. Some say, if we pull out, our soldiers will have died in vain. But how would making yet more soldiers die in vain add meaning? Only if continuing the war brought victory, which it won't. President Obama has pledged that in July this year the USA will begin withdrawing its troops, without conditions. We must do what we can to ensure that this happens, to successfully end the war.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    An Ok Book

    This book was ok. I really wasn't surprised by some of the things said in it. Another book that was recommended to me when purchasing this book was "Life After Foreclosure" by Dean Wegner. Both books together really show very informative information about today's times.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4