Customer Reviews for

Obedience

Average Rating 3.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun house

Reading Obedience is similar to walking through a fun house full of distorting mirrors and churning floors. The premise is a simple one. Professor Williams presents his logic class with a single assignment: to prevent a murder that will otherwise happen when the course ...
Reading Obedience is similar to walking through a fun house full of distorting mirrors and churning floors. The premise is a simple one. Professor Williams presents his logic class with a single assignment: to prevent a murder that will otherwise happen when the course ends. As the students begin to ponder the clues that Williams doles out piecemeal, they grow increasingly uncomfortable with the strangeness of the scenario, and little by little, their abilities to maintain a grasp on reality begin to shred. A few of the students become obsessed, and it is their experiences that form the nucleus of this complicated, sinuous mystery.

There are some contrivances in this plot, but basically, it holds together well, and the reader, if willing, can be easily drawn into the general aura of apprehension that permeates this tale. It's difficult to perceive what logic has to do with the puzzle, but ethics - or lack thereof - do play a prominent role. Obedience is a strong first novel, and I look forward to Lavender's next outing.

posted by katknit on July 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

What a thin, lifeless and airless work this is! The characters are arbitrary, inconsistent and shallow, manipulated throughout by the author to accommodate a plot too obviously impressed with it's own 'cleverness.' And it is a cleverness that exists only in the autho...
What a thin, lifeless and airless work this is! The characters are arbitrary, inconsistent and shallow, manipulated throughout by the author to accommodate a plot too obviously impressed with it's own 'cleverness.' And it is a cleverness that exists only in the author's mind. I persevered through this book only because, after reading a positive review in the NY Times, I was sure that there had to be a payoff. Alas, the end was as unsatisfying and unsuccessful as the begining and the endless middle!

posted by Anonymous on April 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    A reviewer

    What a thin, lifeless and airless work this is! The characters are arbitrary, inconsistent and shallow, manipulated throughout by the author to accommodate a plot too obviously impressed with it's own 'cleverness.' And it is a cleverness that exists only in the author's mind. I persevered through this book only because, after reading a positive review in the NY Times, I was sure that there had to be a payoff. Alas, the end was as unsatisfying and unsuccessful as the begining and the endless middle!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fun house

    Reading Obedience is similar to walking through a fun house full of distorting mirrors and churning floors. The premise is a simple one. Professor Williams presents his logic class with a single assignment: to prevent a murder that will otherwise happen when the course ends. As the students begin to ponder the clues that Williams doles out piecemeal, they grow increasingly uncomfortable with the strangeness of the scenario, and little by little, their abilities to maintain a grasp on reality begin to shred. A few of the students become obsessed, and it is their experiences that form the nucleus of this complicated, sinuous mystery.

    There are some contrivances in this plot, but basically, it holds together well, and the reader, if willing, can be easily drawn into the general aura of apprehension that permeates this tale. It's difficult to perceive what logic has to do with the puzzle, but ethics - or lack thereof - do play a prominent role. Obedience is a strong first novel, and I look forward to Lavender's next outing.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2008

    Compelling Read

    I will not recap the plot of this novel, but I will say it has enough twists and turns to satisfy even the most demanding reader. It is more than that. It is a read that takes you through an amazing journey -- as an academic I really appreciated the scenario--as a reader I appreciated a brilliantly written book. Bravo Will Lavender

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Interesting Book

    I enjoyed reading this book. I tend to find these book predictable but in this case I was wrong. I like the characters and I like the fact that I was wrong in my assumptions on what was going on. It held my interest.It is a good read for a rainy day or while on vacation.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2008

    Disappointing

    I faithfully followed this confusing plot only to be smacked with a highly implausible explanation at the end. Did I miss something? I'd be interested in reading other reviews on this.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    Thrilling Read!

    I started reading this at 3 pm one afternoon and couldn't put it down until I had finished at 10 pm that night! The plot is full of twists and turns, and the mystery is intriguing. The ending is completely unpredictable, but slightly disappointing. There are many characters to keep track of, and it's fun trying to solve the mystery. It keeps you hooked until the very end! Great to discuss with friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ending is disappointing

    While I recommend this book for its multi-layered and suspenseful plot, the ending is a bit disappointing. Nevertheless, I think it is worth the read and I am looking forward to Lavender's next book! Read more of my mini reviews on twitter!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    Excellent plot keeps you guessing!

    I was impressed by the book. I had never read anything by Will Lavender an d it's not typically the genre I would choose first, but the plot sounded interested.

    Throughout the book you are kept guessing as to what is going to happen next. I read the whole book in one day because I really wanted to know. And although I thought I had figured it all out, I was totally shocked by the ending. I never, ever expected it to end as it did.

    Obedience is thrilling, thought provoking, dramatic, and keeps you guessing. I'd highly recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2008

    Excellent Debut!

    This was a great book. The best i read all summer. Loved the twists, and how the characters were all connected in some way. I'll be reading more by this excellent author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2008

    Definite Page Turner

    I thought this book was great. Definitely a page turner and worth reading. The twists and turns are amazing and kept me guessing up until the end. I will definitely be watching for his next novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2008

    ...That's it?

    Not a badly written book- judged fully on his ability to write and structure, I'd give three or four stars. There's some really good, promising stuff in this book. But the plot is often more complicated rather than complex, and some of the character arcs are woefully underdetailed, to the point that portions of the plot fail to work unless you suspend all disbelief for no reason. The whole Summer McCoy plot thread/character is the most glaring example- are we to believe two best friends in college talk so little and communicate so poorly as for this particular turn to make sense? If so, sell it a little better, and flesh Summer out rather than utilizing her as a prop. Finally, the only way this book could surprise you is if you have faith in the writer to NOT give so obvious and cliche an ending, and so unapologetically at that. All of this said, though, there is potential in Lavender's writing, and I wish there'd been another draft or two given to this book before putting it out there.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    FALLEN ANGEL AT

    Res 2 or 3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Iinnbbcd

    She sleeps on.
    ~~Starsky

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    Edge of the Seat Reader!

    You will not be able to put this book down. It is one book that you will not be able to figure out the ending until the actual end!!! So many good and exciting twist and turns! Can't wait until Lavender's next book is released July 5th!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Does not live up to promising premise

    Ok, so the premise was great....College logic class where you have to solve a disappearance or the girl will be murdered. Then, it slowly seems more and more real. Like others said, it was definitely a page turner. I really was hoping that I would not be disappointed. But, just like LOST, there were losts of twists/turns and red herrings that never added up and left me extremely frustrated that I wasted my time. At least this was a week instead of years!

    What I just did not get was why the people were so AFRAID right from the get go. I thought that was completely unbelievable. That and the thought processes about where to go next just didn't fly. I kept coming up with endings in my head and all turned out much better than this sorry mess. (Just like LOST) Ugh....don't waste your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    Dull...

    I really tried to like this book, but it took me forever to get through. It sounded really interesting but it was just lacking "something".
    Seemed really slow and just hard to get into, dull. Maybe it is just the writers style of writing, but I hated it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    Confusing and unbelievable

    Still not sure how this book ended. It would never be allowed at a university. I reread the first 190 pages because I thought I missed the clues. Wasted a day...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thrilling!

    I loved this book. The book differed from other books I've read of this genre. I was very intrigued with it. There are so many twists and turns in it, everytime I took a guess at what was going on, something happened to set me off, to show me it's not that easy to guess it. The twists last all the way up to the end. This was a book that I could not put down after I got through the beginning. I wanted to find out what was going on, what was happening, what was going to happen. I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    Mind Bending

    Will Lavender's, "Obediance" is not for the easily amused. His character's are deep and mysterious. No one is who you think they are. I enjoyed relating intricate details to the whole. Twists are excruciatingly unpredictable. Make sure you have plenty of time when you pick up this book, because you won't appreciate putting it down before you're finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2