Customer Reviews for

Obsessed: America's Food Addiction--and My Own

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Good book.  I, like Mika's friend, have a lifelong problem with

Good book.  I, like Mika's friend, have a lifelong problem with weight.  OK, I'm fat - just shy of obese, by my personal definition.  This is an easy read, and minces no words on the scope of society's obesity problem.  Mika can't fix it, but she offers ideas.  I came a...
Good book.  I, like Mika's friend, have a lifelong problem with weight.  OK, I'm fat - just shy of obese, by my personal definition.  This is an easy read, and minces no words on the scope of society's obesity problem.  Mika can't fix it, but she offers ideas.  I came away from reading it fully realizing that I am indeed a part of the problem.  I like to be a problem fixer, not a problem maker, so this is a difficult admission for me.  Today, I exercised and ate sensibly.  I hope the impact of the lesson learned can stay with me long enough to make a difference.  I would also like to have the courage to do a tough-love intervention with a few people I love just as Mika did with Diane.  It won't happen.  It's a tough call between caring enough to speak the truth in love and caring enough to not want to further bruise fragile egos.  Mika has given me food for thought.

posted by Nik43 on May 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

eva

Okay

posted by 18589480 on May 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 18, 2013

    Good book.  I, like Mika's friend, have a lifelong problem with

    Good book.  I, like Mika's friend, have a lifelong problem with weight.  OK, I'm fat - just shy of obese, by my personal definition.  This is an easy read, and minces no words on the scope of society's obesity problem.  Mika can't fix it, but she offers ideas.  I came away from reading it fully realizing that I am indeed a part of the problem.  I like to be a problem fixer, not a problem maker, so this is a difficult admission for me.  Today, I exercised and ate sensibly.  I hope the impact of the lesson learned can stay with me long enough to make a difference.  I would also like to have the courage to do a tough-love intervention with a few people I love just as Mika did with Diane.  It won't happen.  It's a tough call between caring enough to speak the truth in love and caring enough to not want to further bruise fragile egos.  Mika has given me food for thought.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    An inspiring look into two very personal struggles with food

    Mika and Diane stories of their personal struggles with food are enlightening. They have provided an in-depth look at the fight with food from both sides; one who needed to loose and one who needed to gain to obtain their healthy weight. Mika also dicusses the issue of weight, disease, and public health from the perspective of all levels of society and government. She has opened up the conversation on weight, obsession with food and their effect on health of the individual, the community, and the nation. Thank you Mika and Diane for continuing the conversation and keeping the spotlight on these issues.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting read. This book actually makes a lot of sense. 

    Interesting read. This book actually makes a lot of sense. 

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Highly Recommend to any one who has had issues with an eating disorder.

    This book will help millions of people. Most of us never look at the underlining issues of food cravings. The food industry has set up up to fail. Just look around there's a fast food or restaurant within miles. We wake up thinking what will I eat today. Obsessed!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    eva

    Okay

    2 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Great read!

    I had a wonderful time reading this book. I loved her writing and could so relate to the book. I recommend it to anyone obsessed with eating, large or small. In February, I started seeing a therapist that specializes in eating disorders. This book went right along with my therapy. I eating healthier now, though I still occasionally eat unhealthy things. It is in moderation now, and I look at food totally different. Thanks for writing this wonderful book, Mika!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2013

    Reccommend Highly - must read for any one interested in their health or the health of their family.

    Well written and documented. The book gives insight into the struggle that many of us have with food and keeping ourselves healthy today. It makes so much sense as you look at the current problems with obesity in the US. Much food for thought and ideas as to what we can do personally, in our families and in our communities.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    The parris vendete


    1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Fang..

    Result seven.

    1 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Not crazy about it.

    Didn't find this helpful and found I did not feel any sense of connection to the author. I had trouble finishing it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Excellent

    Written for everyone. Relatable and down to earth...REAL!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    excellent !

    worthy of reading ...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    L

    Ghmumwwumw voml.xiliw.iozmmbhlwymmnj

    0 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Jraubenolt@yahoo.com

    Friend me piease.

    0 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2