Customer Reviews for

Obsidian (Lux Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 723 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(593)

4 Star

(91)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

53 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

Obsidian Rocked My World!

There are a few authors that I know I can always count on, my "Old Faithfuls". I can always count on their books leaving me satisfied, thrilled and usually wanting for more. I'm talking about authors such as Cassandra Clare, Jeri Smith-Ready, and a few others. Now, I am...
There are a few authors that I know I can always count on, my "Old Faithfuls". I can always count on their books leaving me satisfied, thrilled and usually wanting for more. I'm talking about authors such as Cassandra Clare, Jeri Smith-Ready, and a few others. Now, I am without a doubt adding Jennifer Armentrout to that list. To be honest, I went into Obsidian expecting another good book from Armentrout. What I didn't expect was for Obsidian to completely rock my world!

I don't even know how to start explaining my love for this book. Maybe the story. New girl in town meets hot, snarky guy. Sparks fly. Literally. Their being together is bad news. Like, deadly bad news. Seriously, in Obsidian, the author has taken the teen alien story and given it the coolest, most unique spin. I always strive for spoiler-free reviews. I love for the reader to be able to discover the intricate details of the story for themselves. So I'm not going into the nitty-gritty of the story. Just trust me when I say that as far as these books go, Obsidian is, to me, heads and shoulders above books such "I Am Number Four", which I really liked.

The characters in Obsidian are so vivid, alive. Katy, the main character, is...wait for it....A BLOGGER! Katy loves to read and blog. She checks her comments, her follower count and films IMM vlogs! That just felt like a huge shout-out to the book bloggers of the world and made me totally love Katy. But that's not all I loved about her. She is independent, self-reliant and does not take any crap off of people (or aliens!). She's quick to call Daemon out on his crap and flip him the bird as she's walking away. What's more, she is a loyal friend. Katy holds the fates of her new friends and never once considers giving them up, even when her own life is at risk.

One of Katy's new friends is Dee, the girl next door and sister to Daemon. Dee is completely,
squish-ably, adorable. She is like a breath of fresh, drama-free air. Especially when compared to her brother.

Daemon. Where to begin. Okay. You know those hot, sarcastic, can-be-a-real-jerk guys that we all know and love? For example, Jace from The Mortal Instruments series, or Adrian from Vampire Academy. Take everything you love, and what drives you crazy about those guys, and multiply that by 10. Or 20. Possibly 100. Are you picking up on what I'm saying here? For real. Daemon made me bonkers. Take a look at the cover of Obsidian. He's hot, right. Devastating. Who wouldn't want some of that? I wanted to like him. And he did have some nice moments in the first half of the book. But then he would do or say something that made me want to scream. He comes across as an arrogant, rude... ass hat. I actually tweeted Jennifer Armentrout at one point and said that "I want to punch Daemon in the throat and make out with him, simultaneously". Her response was, he would probably like that. I swear, I felt everything that Katy was feeling about him. I honestly wondered if there was any coming back for Daemon.

There was. Like many tortured heroes, Daemon's startling behavior is explained by a look at his past. Once you know why Daemon is so guarded and hostile, you can start to understand his actions. And why he is so desperate to hang on to what's left, especially his sister. The sibling love between Daemon in Dee was so beautiful, it just broke my heart.

Obsidian left me emotionally exhausted. I'm still reeling. And the ending? Evil

posted by Andreat78 on October 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Let me tell you first how excited I was about this book. When I

Let me tell you first how excited I was about this book. When I first heard that it's about aliens, I screamed with joy. When the first glowing reviews came in, I wanted to cry because I couldn't get it yet. I finally bought the Kindle edition last week and again scream...
Let me tell you first how excited I was about this book. When I first heard that it's about aliens, I screamed with joy. When the first glowing reviews came in, I wanted to cry because I couldn't get it yet. I finally bought the Kindle edition last week and again screamed with joy. But, boy, that was one of the biggest disappointments in my reading history.
Here's my problem: Twilight. Or Obsidian bearing a suspiciously strong resemblance to it. Which explains why people love it. I respect that. I also know that the PR genre doesn't leave much space for anything never-seen-before, and Armentrout is definitely not the only one jumping on the Twilight bandwagon. I see why Obsidian is the best book ever to so many readers. My problem? If I wanted to read Twilight, I would have picked up Twilight, but with Obsidian it felt just as if I did.

With the exception of Katy who totally won me over (more about it later), I found little originality or excitement in Obsidian. The drop-dead gorgeous, rich and anti-social guy, his perky sister who just wants a friend, the single parent/moving story, the truck scene (really?!), the oxygen (breathing out of habit), the creepy "you were there, now you're here", even the "you've probably had a concussion", "you're taking this rather well/ it's adrenaline, I'll have a reaction later", "you're a shiny new toy for the guys" conversations...it was too much for me.

Everyone gave Daemon his own paragraph, so here goes. I didn't like his hot'n'cold game. For the bigger part of the book he was a complete jerk. I found nothing swoon-worthy about it (not even Armentrout's repeated reminding how hot it looks when he stretches and his shirt jumps up to reveal some skin. Or his shirtlesness. No. It didn't convince me the first time you wrote it, especially not the sixth time you mention it.)
Seriously. Is that how you want to be treated by a guy? I'd punch him in the face the first time he insults me no matter how hot he is. Kudos to Katy for giving him the finger more than once.


But at least he doesn't sparkle.
Oh,no.
He shines!


Yes, I'm very disappointed with the lack of creativity and originality, with the poor writing, disappointed in Daemon... The only thing that kept my interest is Katy. I liked her from page one. I was laughing so hard at her sarcasm, but I be damned if I know why she always falls for Daemon's teasing (oooh, the peek at his skin when he stretches. Sorry, now I get it.) Katy being a book blogger was really cool. What book is she posting about in her WoW, about a hot guy with a killer touch? My guess is Touch by Jus Accardo (I loved that one).

So, in the end the only feeling left for it is sorrow for wasting a gift card on this book. If you're angry at me for being obnoxious about your favorite book, sorry, it doesn't even get close to how angry I am.

posted by Ivana_Reads on July 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 723 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 37
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    Obsidian Rocked My World!

    There are a few authors that I know I can always count on, my "Old Faithfuls". I can always count on their books leaving me satisfied, thrilled and usually wanting for more. I'm talking about authors such as Cassandra Clare, Jeri Smith-Ready, and a few others. Now, I am without a doubt adding Jennifer Armentrout to that list. To be honest, I went into Obsidian expecting another good book from Armentrout. What I didn't expect was for Obsidian to completely rock my world!

    I don't even know how to start explaining my love for this book. Maybe the story. New girl in town meets hot, snarky guy. Sparks fly. Literally. Their being together is bad news. Like, deadly bad news. Seriously, in Obsidian, the author has taken the teen alien story and given it the coolest, most unique spin. I always strive for spoiler-free reviews. I love for the reader to be able to discover the intricate details of the story for themselves. So I'm not going into the nitty-gritty of the story. Just trust me when I say that as far as these books go, Obsidian is, to me, heads and shoulders above books such "I Am Number Four", which I really liked.

    The characters in Obsidian are so vivid, alive. Katy, the main character, is...wait for it....A BLOGGER! Katy loves to read and blog. She checks her comments, her follower count and films IMM vlogs! That just felt like a huge shout-out to the book bloggers of the world and made me totally love Katy. But that's not all I loved about her. She is independent, self-reliant and does not take any crap off of people (or aliens!). She's quick to call Daemon out on his crap and flip him the bird as she's walking away. What's more, she is a loyal friend. Katy holds the fates of her new friends and never once considers giving them up, even when her own life is at risk.

    One of Katy's new friends is Dee, the girl next door and sister to Daemon. Dee is completely,
    squish-ably, adorable. She is like a breath of fresh, drama-free air. Especially when compared to her brother.

    Daemon. Where to begin. Okay. You know those hot, sarcastic, can-be-a-real-jerk guys that we all know and love? For example, Jace from The Mortal Instruments series, or Adrian from Vampire Academy. Take everything you love, and what drives you crazy about those guys, and multiply that by 10. Or 20. Possibly 100. Are you picking up on what I'm saying here? For real. Daemon made me bonkers. Take a look at the cover of Obsidian. He's hot, right. Devastating. Who wouldn't want some of that? I wanted to like him. And he did have some nice moments in the first half of the book. But then he would do or say something that made me want to scream. He comes across as an arrogant, rude... ass hat. I actually tweeted Jennifer Armentrout at one point and said that "I want to punch Daemon in the throat and make out with him, simultaneously". Her response was, he would probably like that. I swear, I felt everything that Katy was feeling about him. I honestly wondered if there was any coming back for Daemon.

    There was. Like many tortured heroes, Daemon's startling behavior is explained by a look at his past. Once you know why Daemon is so guarded and hostile, you can start to understand his actions. And why he is so desperate to hang on to what's left, especially his sister. The sibling love between Daemon in Dee was so beautiful, it just broke my heart.

    Obsidian left me emotionally exhausted. I'm still reeling. And the ending? Evil

    53 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    A sexy thrill ride!

    In case you didn't know, our main character Katy here is a book blogger. Awesomesauce, right? So I was hooked from the very first paragraph. She's a reader, she's from Gainesville FL, and she's sarcastic. Oh, and she sometimes fantasizes about punching people and considers being around children the perfect abstinence program. I liked her immediately. (Now don't get me wrong, I like children, as long as I can hand them back at the end of the day...)

    Then there's Daemon. She really wasn't kidding about him being stab-worthy. In the first chapter of meeting him I already wanted to punch him in the teeth and gouge his eyes out with a rusty spoon. Frustrating. Insufferable. Asshat. Exactly the kind of guy we tell ourselves not to fall for and do it anyway (ladies, you know exactly what I mean). "Beautiful face. Beautiful body. Horrible attitude. The holy trinity of hot boys." I thought I was going to get mental whiplash from his mood swings. Yep, I wanted to punch him.

    To see the rest of this review and other book reviews by me, visit my blog at geobobspinelli[dot]blogspot[dot]com

    24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good book with great story line. Kept me very entertained

    Very good book with great story line. Kept me very entertained

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Greatest book of ever!!!!!

    Omg please get this book!!! If u r hesitaint about getting it dont be! Just get it nuff said:)

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    Well, I wasn't going to tell you they were aliens, but the produ

    Well, I wasn't going to tell you they were aliens, but the product description did it for me. So now that is out-of-the-way. This is your typical YA book, angsty teens, love/hate relationships, and something forcing the two to work together and work through their mutual attraction. I have heard others relate it to Twilight, and not in a positive fashion. I can see where they are coming from. However, I disagree. The heroine, Katy, has a brain in her head, and is just fine being left alone. She doesn't feel lost without Daemon. These characters all actually have DEPTH and understandable MOTIVATIONS. They are not just magically attracted.

    Daemon, however much I get his motivations, is a giant jerk. He is that super sexy, boy next door, with no filter between his brain and his mouth. Well, that's not entirely true, he knows exactly what he is saying and what effect it will have on Katy. But haven't we all had "that guy" that we were attracted to that wasn't exactly the nicest? If you say no, you are lying to yourself. But that's fine with me!

    Katy doesn't just fawn all over him. She fights back. SHE IS NOT A PUSHOVER. Thank goodness. she gets back at him when and how she is able to. That scene in the cafeteria, I felt for her, and was then laughing at everyone else, even as I continued to feel protective of her. The one thing I didn't understand was her immediate friendship to Dee. She is just too bubbly and needy for me ... but maybe it is me because I wouldn't be friends with her from the get-go; too much energy for me. I am way too lazy for that. All in all, this book gets a solid 4 stars from me, and I will eagerly await the next installment, Onyx.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    This book came in a time when I had nothing to read. Bloggers ha

    This book came in a time when I had nothing to read. Bloggers have been raving about Daemon and his alien super powers so I had to check out what all the fuss was about. Oh,boy. I fell in love with Daemon in that moment when he opened the door and started to act like a jerk. I like the fact that Katy is also a blogger so it was easy to connect with her. What could you ask more from a book? It has bad bad guys from a different galalxy,hot guy with an attitude,sexy scnees that blow up you laptop and bickering. I recommend it to all fans of paranormal.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    Obsidian

    I was expecting great things from Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout because her other novel, Half-Blood, was fantastic! I was only a teensy bit disappointed because it did not compare to Half-Blood.

    Katy, the main character, is a book blogger. She does meme posts and makes "In My Mailbox" vlogs. I like that about a character because there is not any book I have read that incorporates a book blogger or blogging about books. However, I feel like that is not the main focus of the character. I also feel that it is not that important to know she is a book blogger.

    Although I feel that it is not important to know Katy as a book blogger, she is hit with the truth of who her neighbors, her friends are. I think she handles it quite well. She does not really overreact, but she is curious about them. I think it wouldn't be so interesting if she was scared and ran away, instead she is interested in who they are. Even though she knows who and what they are, she is a reliability, however, that is how she and Daemon really know that they have feelings for each other.

    I did not really like Daemon in the beginning because he was like a jerk. Then I felt that he was alright. And finally, I have a love-hate relationship with this character. The things that happen with him and Katy seem hot and cold, which made me develop the feeling of love and hate for this character.

    The story itself is extremely intriguing. The aspect to it is very surprising. I did not expect to find out what or who Daemon and his sister, Dee are. It is different from the regular kind of paranormal-beings we usually read in books that has been published recently. I cannot give away the story, but trust me, you should read this!

    Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout is unpredictable, surprising, and intriguing! I cannot wait for the next book! I know it will be even more amazing!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    When her mom decides to make a fresh start Katy can't say no bec

    When her mom decides to make a fresh start Katy can't say no because she understands that they both need to move on... But losing her dad and now leaving her friends and her whole life behind is not easy although it's the right thing to do.

    So she finds herself in the middle of a small town and instantly knows that, being the "new girl" will give her the spotlight... something she really dreads.
    But for now she can dedicate herself to her blog about books, her lovely books and the unpacking of all her stuff.

    And everything was fine until she tries to be friends with her neighbors, Daemon and his sister Dee. Turns out these two are aliens and every single human that becomes friendly with them disappears without a trace...

    But Katy can't stay away from Dee, who becomes her best friend, and even from Daemon despite the fact that sometimes he is kindness personified and then turns into a cold bastard. The attraction is there and no one can deny it.
    Now the only problem is that someone is trying to kill Katy and use her to get to the aliens...

    Personal opinion:
    Where to begin? Well, first of all, now I understand the whole craziness surrounding Daemon... And yes, I'm totally his fan, woohoo! His sarcasm, his comebacks, his smile and those eyes will mesmerize you until the end of the book.
    And Pepe, the model of the cover, just makes him even more yummy ;)

    Anyway, going back to the book: I love the book. In fact Obsidian was my first book about aliens living among us and if all the alien books are like this one then I'm a believer! (and how much would I love to meet a Daemon right now...)

    Sorry, I'm drooling too much, I know... But what can I say? Not only Daemon was to die for but also the plot was superb, the characters were very accurate, you will love the ones that need to be loved and you will hate the ones that need to be eliminated in order to save the day.

    I also loved Katy for her strength and her loyalty. Those qualities are high in my ranking of 'essential things in a best friend'. I would be delighted to meet her in person.
    And the fact that Jennifer made her a book blogger was AMAZING, kudos for that! It was so funny to Katy writing memes and reviews!

    The pace was right also, nothing was rushed and nothing was missing, Obsidian has everything to be the perfect book, it's funny, it's different, it's entertaining, has lots of action, sarcasm, drama and love to keep you turning page after page.

    And if you are like me then you will need (mark my words, NEED) to read the sequel, Onyx, right now... sadly it comes out in two months (August 14th, 2012) so we have to wait to read it, sigh.

    Would I recomend it? You bet! Will you love it? I'm sure you will! Do I treasure my copy of Obsidian? Yes, I do :]

    And now I'm off to read more of Jennifer's books... her Covenant series is next in my TBR and since I have them all I can't wait any longer, yay!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    So by now if you haven’t heard about Katy and Daemon you&r

    So by now if you haven’t heard about Katy and Daemon you’ve probably been under a rock. Like all Jennifer Armentrout books, I loved this one too. As a matter of fact (after Onyx) it’s my favorite of hers.

    I like how Katy goes from being this relatively shy girl to lioness. I like that her shyness doesn’t stop her from sticking up for herself when Daemon is a complete and total punk. Which he is. That boy has a mouth on him that will not close and he doesn’t really (appear) to care who he hurts in the process.

    But there’s more to him than his appearance—which is good y’all—and we get to see glimpses of it when he’s not being a jerk to Katy. As pretty much THE most powerful Luxen on the planet he has a heavy burden of responsibility. One he already feels he’s failed because of his brother Dawson.

    By the time Katy meets him he’s kind of broken and one more loss, that of his sister Dee, from human involvement just might shatter him so he does whatever he can to keep Katy away from Dee—who would totally be my BFF. Dee brings much needed lightness to the story, while the sarcastic banter between Katy and Daemon brings the funny.

    All in all one of my fav books.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Let me tell you first how excited I was about this book. When I

    Let me tell you first how excited I was about this book. When I first heard that it's about aliens, I screamed with joy. When the first glowing reviews came in, I wanted to cry because I couldn't get it yet. I finally bought the Kindle edition last week and again screamed with joy. But, boy, that was one of the biggest disappointments in my reading history.
    Here's my problem: Twilight. Or Obsidian bearing a suspiciously strong resemblance to it. Which explains why people love it. I respect that. I also know that the PR genre doesn't leave much space for anything never-seen-before, and Armentrout is definitely not the only one jumping on the Twilight bandwagon. I see why Obsidian is the best book ever to so many readers. My problem? If I wanted to read Twilight, I would have picked up Twilight, but with Obsidian it felt just as if I did.

    With the exception of Katy who totally won me over (more about it later), I found little originality or excitement in Obsidian. The drop-dead gorgeous, rich and anti-social guy, his perky sister who just wants a friend, the single parent/moving story, the truck scene (really?!), the oxygen (breathing out of habit), the creepy "you were there, now you're here", even the "you've probably had a concussion", "you're taking this rather well/ it's adrenaline, I'll have a reaction later", "you're a shiny new toy for the guys" conversations...it was too much for me.

    Everyone gave Daemon his own paragraph, so here goes. I didn't like his hot'n'cold game. For the bigger part of the book he was a complete jerk. I found nothing swoon-worthy about it (not even Armentrout's repeated reminding how hot it looks when he stretches and his shirt jumps up to reveal some skin. Or his shirtlesness. No. It didn't convince me the first time you wrote it, especially not the sixth time you mention it.)
    Seriously. Is that how you want to be treated by a guy? I'd punch him in the face the first time he insults me no matter how hot he is. Kudos to Katy for giving him the finger more than once.


    But at least he doesn't sparkle.
    Oh,no.
    He shines!


    Yes, I'm very disappointed with the lack of creativity and originality, with the poor writing, disappointed in Daemon... The only thing that kept my interest is Katy. I liked her from page one. I was laughing so hard at her sarcasm, but I be damned if I know why she always falls for Daemon's teasing (oooh, the peek at his skin when he stretches. Sorry, now I get it.) Katy being a book blogger was really cool. What book is she posting about in her WoW, about a hot guy with a killer touch? My guess is Touch by Jus Accardo (I loved that one).

    So, in the end the only feeling left for it is sorrow for wasting a gift card on this book. If you're angry at me for being obnoxious about your favorite book, sorry, it doesn't even get close to how angry I am.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Jennifer L Armentrout Has The Good Stuff And I Want It!

    After the heartbreaking death of her father, Katy and her mother make the move to Ketterman, West Virgina, the town of one stop light, in hopes of moving on with their lives. Katy doesn't expect anything short of a relentlessly boring life in the middle of nowhere, that is until she meets the boy next door, Daemon. You see, Daemon's drop-dead gorgeous, tanned, with an added bonus of just about the most beautiful emerald colored eyes, but the boy is strictly hot and cold, constantly giving Katy emotional whiplash. What she didn't expect from the move, however, was to discover something literally out of this world about Daemon, his sister and his little circle of friends. Characters I Couldn't Help Loving Obsidian is a novel by Jennifer L Armentrout that I'd been highly anticipating since it's blurb was revealed. I was immediately pulled in by Obsidian's premise, promises of a Young Adult novel filled with something overwhelmingly extraterrestrial. Protagonist Katy was someone I could easily love and identify with. You see, Katy is a book blogger who runs her own little space called "Katy'z Krazy Obsession". It was disheartening, however, to see that she didn't think all that highly of herself, especially in concern to her adoration for reading and reviewing novels, labeling herself as a book crazed nerd. Despite that, though, I found that she was a character that many readers would find themselves easily connecting with, I know I did. Daemon, on the other hand, was undeniably handsome, especially with those piercing emerald eyes. Despite his Greek god looks, Daemon was very provocative, which I loved, and presented a hot and cold attitude, which I didn't love. In addition, I also found myself connecting greatly with Dee, Daemon's twin sister. She was a breath of fresh air, bubbly, outgoing and respectful. Close Calls Brushes with death, mystery, unyielding suspense and surprising discoveries - that's what I found in Obsidian. Obsidian featured quite a swift pace that wasn't lagging in the least in the progression of the novel, though thankfully it didn't overly rush the storyline into a mindless dribble. The plot itself was incredibly thick with detail and background stories. In particular I really enjoyed learning more about Daemon and his past, it was incredibly interesting and unique all on itself. I also loved the added blogger habits and terms mentioned through Katy, it was icing on the cake, especially for book bloggers who I find will enjoy this novel very much! Finally - the romance. The developing romance was immediately predictable but I found myself greatly enjoying it's torturous and heartwarming moments. Jennifer L Armentrout's wording and imagination definitely had a way of making my heart skip a beat, not to mention falling in love with her characters. With a unique and entrancing story, Obsidian was action packed, dramatic, captivating and exciting - I Am Number Four has some SERIOUS competition!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    TERRIBLE! PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE DONT BUY THIS!

    First of all im not one of those all or nothing reviewers who only see a 1 star or 5 star option. Most of the books i rate get 3s or 4s. The reason that this book got a 1 is because the only thing that i liked about this book was that the guy was hot. Literaly.... that was it... i can go to the beach for 5 seconds and get the same effect for 5 dollars cheaper(not to mention id sav about an hour of my time)!
    Now for what i didnt like: everything else. This book was unoriginal with fake characters such as :
    dee- who reminded me of one of those fake sweet girls who arent the sharpest pencils in the box( she was just so bubbly and went gardening in her high heels for christssake! And she had to go to the store half an hour away so she could be first to meet the new girl. Rather than wait like a normal person!)
    Katy-was the self depricating girl who complained about how fat she was and how ugly she was and how much her life sucked. The rest of the time was spent with her dreaming about what sex with daemon would be like or enjoying her time as a hermit up in her room blogging about books. And if this werent enough, she continually forgets about how much of a jerk daemon is when she decides they have a connection.
    Daemon-hes super mean so that he can protect his and his sisters secret but when it comes to the basics, like not holding your breath for an impossibly long time, or moving at lightning speed, he just cant help slipping up. And then everything that comes out of his mouth is either a huge mushy slip up, or super cold and mean.... theres no inbetween.
    Honestly i really hated this book. The only reason i read as much as i did was because i have a rule where i have to ger through 50 pages of a book before giving up. I know this is kind of a scatterbrained review, but i dont really want to spend any more time on a 1 star review.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Love Daemon

    When I start reading a book the most important things are the first two or three chapters because these are the chapters from which I realise if the book is good or just mediocre from my point of view.
    Obsidian, instead, captivated me from the first pages that I couldn't let the book go so I read it without "blinking or breathing" in one night.
    From the moment when Katy moved to West Virginia and met the handsome but arrogant Daemon, I thought:
    "There's going to be a mixture of trouble and love here..."
    I like Katy because she is really a hero for getting into trouble with Daemon, she doesn't back down or hides behind him but fights along side with Daemon and protects him.
    Daemon on the other hand is the kind of guy that all the girls want. But even if he is gorgeous his behaviour kind of takes that away. Follow the course of action and you will meet another Daemon that would sacrifice himself to protect the others, mostly his sister, Dee, and Katy.
    Obsidian is a book that will make you read it over and over again. It’s surely a book that deserves 5 of 5 stars, or all the stars in the world.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    Wow, incredible book. I loved every minute of it. Jennifer did a

    Wow, incredible book. I loved every minute of it. Jennifer did an amazing job with every detail of this story. When I first heard about it my first thought was, really aliens? don't like already but boy was I wrong.
    Daemon is the best character. He is crazy hot but a jerk. Katy gets to see glimpses of his sweet side and that's more than enough to make you swoon. Katy is a sweet blogger (wooop woop) with an attitude. She doesn't take anyone's crap, especially Daemon's. The combination of those two make for some heated arguing and heat period.
    There is a lot of swooning and plenty of action. This is one of those books that will never get old. You have to read it over and over.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    Obsidian beats hush hush

    Looking at the cover of Obsidian I knew there was going to be a major hottie in it. I mean just look at those green eyes, and that black hair...I could go on and on about Daemon, trust me. The only thing I don't care for on the cover is how Katy's arm looks a little odd. The coloring and the muscle just look strange. After devouring the first 5 chapters I already knew that I could relate to Katy. She was witty, sharp-tongued and just bad ass as some parts. The whole time I was reading Obsidian all I could like was "Wow, Katy has balls." The way she stands up for herself was really admirable.Katy was a strong character, but she is human, there for she isn't perfect. While with Daemon, I couldn't help but blush while she was blushing, and this is rare for me, because I normally dont get into books. As I said before Daemon is a total hottie, but he defiantly has some flaws. Being a jerk is probably the biggest flaw of all. That said he also could be very deep, and sweet(sometimes). Daemon was a very complex and complicated character. He definitely made the story light, and playful. I think the whole plot was very interesting, and unique. I had never read an Alien book, so I honestly have no clue what to expect going into it. I always try to guess what was going to happen in the books I read, but for this book I honestly was surprised through out the book. Now I cant wait for OPAL! :D

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    I'll be honest, and I'll say that when I decided to read this bo

    I'll be honest, and I'll say that when I decided to read this book I expected it to be bad, like really to suck. But NO! After reading the first pages, Obsidian totally ''sucked me in''. Yeah, really! I did not expect to be that good. Fact:I read it on my computer, and I never would've thought of doing that.

    Now, where to start. First, let's start with Daemon. He started as an arrogant guy who shouts up a girls mouth. Think of that as a good thing. No, as a great thing. I liked that from him. And he is hot. Yeah, I know, I'm a guy but I liked him. My girlfriend still does.
    He was very loyal to Katy and that's another good thing about him.

    Now, Katy. What to say, exept that she is officialy on my TOP 5 List of favorite characters. That girl is awesome, take the fact that she is a blogger. A fricking book blogger. The parts of her talking about her blog, especially about her filming an IMM and posting an Waiting on Wednesday, one of my top scenes.
    Another good thing is that she is not an idiot, and she can take care of herself. (read, opposite of Bella, although I liked Twilight)

    About the secondary characters. Dee, she was my favorite. That girl can talk. Really. She has the brain like for everything. And she's beautiful, I imagined the most beautiful model on the planet, and further.
    Ash did irritate me at some times, but she was a good character.

    You may all wonder: Why do you give 4.5 stars to Obsidian when you totally adored the book?
    And this is my answer: I cut the half star because there was a part at the middle of the book that I think was boring, a little bit. Or maybe this is just my opinion? :D

    Let's get to the conclusion. I LOVE OBSIDIAN! It's deffinetly one of my favorite books. I can not wait to read ONYX, the second book in the LUX Series. And as you all know, I'm part of the #daemoninvasion and i'm in the most amazing team ever #TeamDaeVision so I might get to read Onyx and the rest of the series little bit faster than you, regular people. lol

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Electrifying and witty!

    Witty, refreshing, and electrifying. With a brilliant set of characters, laughs, and sexual tension that will have you pulling your hair out, Obsidian is the perfect page turner that will have you begging for more.

    Ever since I read Half-Blood (and fell in love with it), I've been obsessed with Jennifer's books. I stalked her blog, her twitter, her goodreads real hard. And with all my high hopes for her sequel to Half-Blood and her other books, Obsidian in no way disappointed me. Instead, I found myself in love with yet another of her series. This book is about Aliens, as you can tell from the official synopsis, and not only is it unique and new from other paranormal reads, it's a fascinating and beautiful type of alien. I really fell in love it and definitely wouldn't mind being a Luxen.

    Next, I love how she touches on book blogging. That she intertwined it into her lead character's life. It's almost like a tribute to the blogging community and it gave me another thing to relate to Katy with. Katy is a strong lead character and I loved her for it. With her father dying, and her mother busying herself with work, yet still there for her daughter, Katy is very independent, and it's just one more thing I relate to. I don't have many close friends anymore like I used, and I'm constantly going places, and accomplishing tasks on my own and in my opinion it just makes me a stronger person, as we can see Katy is just that, a strong person. Katy deals with a lot through Obsidian, and she handles it all with bravery and her own little spice. :)

    Other than Katy, we have the hot-and-cold-pure-sex-with-amazing-green-eyes Daemon, and his ball of energy twin sister Dee. So many times in a book, you turn the pages and live for those steamy scenes between the lead "couple", and I admit of course I ADORED those scenes (I mean how could you not! UNF), but in Obsidian I also admired that Jennifer was able to pull me into the other scenes as well, particularly with Dee. I loved Dee and her over-energetic self. She's the type of fun-loving girl who would light up a room just by being in it. She just wants a normal friend, and she's a good friend at that.

    So, um, yeah.... Daemon. Can I just say the banter between Katy and Daemon had me feeling so much emotion. Sometimes I was laughing, others my jaw was dropping or wanting to hit one of them, and there were the times when I just wanted them to jump on each other... if you know what I mean ;). Daemon has the looks... the tanned, perfect sculpted body. The unruly wavy locks, with electric emerald eyes (which we all know is my favorite), but his personality is well hot-and-cold to say the least. Just when you think he's a complete jerk, he shows a softness. And just when you think the softness is there to stay, he flips the switch and he's back to the rude idiot that you cannot help but love any way.

    There was so much I could rave about this book. I loved the role that every character played. I adored the dance and party scenes. I ADORED the lake scenes. Kitten... yeah, I thought that was funny yet cute. The alien lore was so creative and I really truly loved reading about it. I love Daemon's wittiness and arrogance and how Katy played right back along with him. I thought the writing was beautifully written. Finally, I love how Jennifer takes romance, laughs, real life situations, thrills, and paranormal and wraps it all up into one brilliant book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    The guy on the cover...

    Whats wrong with him?? Is he blind? His eyes look like theyre in the back of his head!! Someone needs to help him!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    Obsidian is HOT. Now to elaborate; Kate is your good-girl, kind

    Obsidian is HOT.
    Now to elaborate; Kate is your good-girl, kind of shy, but determined sort of girl. Daemon is your typical hot, sexy, oh-so-drool-worthy bad boy, but also the boy next door. When they first met... well it was like water and oil. Daemon is infuriating and it's like he lives to crawl beneath Katy's skin and possibly poke her with a needle while he's there. They simply repelled each other, but there was this spark! I loved how Katy didn't simply let Daemon push her around, but she put on her big-girl panties and dealt with him and threw back some verbal attacks of her own.
    Personally, I loved Katy. She was smart, funny, witty, and a bit daring when you got down to it. But I think that what I loved most was her passion with books. It was very relatable for me and her whole deal with the blog reminded me of my cousin who haves one, it was all so real.
    Daemon made me want to smack him upside the head a couple times, but when push came to shove he was brave and determined; fierce and protective. It was endearing and sexy, irritating and infuriating all rolled into one.
    This has all the characteristics to make it addictive and totally acceptable to give it the I-want-more label. It's snippy, fast-paced and, man the SEXUAL FRUSTRATION. *-*

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Different and entertaining

    I liked the unique storyline and background. Plot was well thought out. Hero and Heroine go back and forth a little too much with passive aggresive tendancies that seem over the top. Hero though sounding attractive... really did come off as a jerk even with his history. I will read the next one because of the welldefined background and unique concept.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 723 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 37