Customer Reviews for

Obsidian (New Species Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 186 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(125)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Different Twist on a New Species Story. I have enjoyed all

A Different Twist on a New Species Story. I have enjoyed all of the
New Species books, especially Valiant and Fury. But it seemed like all
of them had the same basic storyline; they meet, they are attracted to
each other, had sex, the human female gets kidnapped o...
A Different Twist on a New Species Story. I have enjoyed all of the
New Species books, especially Valiant and Fury. But it seemed like all
of them had the same basic storyline; they meet, they are attracted to
each other, had sex, the human female gets kidnapped or pregnant, they
end up as mates. This story is different. Mercile doesn't make an
appearance at all, no human female kidnapping, no pregnancy. I liked
it. Alli becomes obsessed with Obsidian while he's in a coma and she
is his doctor. Nothing they do can get him to wake up, so Alli wants
to try something different. She thinks getting Obsidian to bond with a
female via scent will give him a reason to want to wake up. When
Justice and Tiger both reject her plan, she takes matters into her own
hands and kidnaps Obsidian from Reservation. Her plan works, he wakes
up, but Alli is in major trouble with the NSO for kidnapping him. I
liked the different type of storyline, and there is a lot of appearances
of characters from previous books. I especially loved seeing Breeze
again. I hope she gets her own story soon. There are more primate
species in this book than in others. I'm hoping that means that we
will have a story about a primate species from Laurann in the near
future. The only thing I didn't like is it seemed to end abruptly.
Alli and Obsidian got together, but Alli's future and status in the NSO
was never resolved. But overall, a good addition to the series.

posted by Cathy92483 on August 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Blah

Really love this author but wish a plot could have been sandwiched in between sex scenes. Boring, slow and didnt care about these one dimensional characters at all. Was this written by someone else because it completely lacked romance..

posted by Anonymous on August 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    A Different Twist on a New Species Story. I have enjoyed all

    A Different Twist on a New Species Story. I have enjoyed all of the
    New Species books, especially Valiant and Fury. But it seemed like all
    of them had the same basic storyline; they meet, they are attracted to
    each other, had sex, the human female gets kidnapped or pregnant, they
    end up as mates. This story is different. Mercile doesn't make an
    appearance at all, no human female kidnapping, no pregnancy. I liked
    it. Alli becomes obsessed with Obsidian while he's in a coma and she
    is his doctor. Nothing they do can get him to wake up, so Alli wants
    to try something different. She thinks getting Obsidian to bond with a
    female via scent will give him a reason to want to wake up. When
    Justice and Tiger both reject her plan, she takes matters into her own
    hands and kidnaps Obsidian from Reservation. Her plan works, he wakes
    up, but Alli is in major trouble with the NSO for kidnapping him. I
    liked the different type of storyline, and there is a lot of appearances
    of characters from previous books. I especially loved seeing Breeze
    again. I hope she gets her own story soon. There are more primate
    species in this book than in others. I'm hoping that means that we
    will have a story about a primate species from Laurann in the near
    future. The only thing I didn't like is it seemed to end abruptly.
    Alli and Obsidian got together, but Alli's future and status in the NSO
    was never resolved. But overall, a good addition to the series.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Exciting and well written. Didn't take me long to finish. Very e

    Exciting and well written. Didn't take me long to finish. Very enjoyable

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Hot and yet refreshing. allows reader to indulge

    Hot and yet refreshing. allows reader to indulge

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    Carmen Terronez's review Aug 29, 12 ยท edit bookshelves: lau

    Carmen Terronez's review
    Aug 29, 12 · edit




    bookshelves: laurann-dohner

    Read on August 28, 2012


    This was a great read and Laurann Dohner has got me hooked! From the beginning to the end you fall head over heels in love with *880* (Obsidian). He's in a coma and Dr. Allison Baker is very concerned, obsessed as to why he hasn't woken up after his body has already healed. Determined to get to the bottom of the mystery that is *880* she makes a plan and kidnaps him from Homeland after Justice North and Tiger have denied her permission to "Scent" her to try and wake him. But when Obsidian does the tables of obsession turn. He's K9, aggressive, grieving, and he hates humans.

    Laurann pairs two lead characters who have lost and are needing. No capture and release for the female heroine was a plus, the story wasn't in need of that it flowed well without it.

    It was very hard to have to put the book down once I started. New Species is an excellent series!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Love it!!!!!

    new species are so hot! Great series great books great author. Cant wait to see whos next!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    A FANTASTIC READ

    Laurann Dohner did it again! Every book gets better and better and i look forward to each and every word. 880 is primal and will leave you both exasperated and feeling hot all over! What a great read! I cant wait for MUCH more in this lovely series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2012

    Caveman Hot!!!!!!! I don't know about anyone else but Obsidian i

    Caveman Hot!!!!!!! I don't know about anyone else but Obsidian is one of my favorites. His blunt behavior and Alli's accommodating ways make for good, hot, fun reading. I even felt bad for her towards the end when she thought she wasn't needed anymore. Loved, loved,loved, this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    I loved this series! I bought everyone of them. This book is rea

    I loved this series! I bought everyone of them. This book is really well written! I can hardly wait for the next book by this author! I think that you will like them too. Check out her other series. They are great too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    wow

    as always great story no one can do better u forget its fiction!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Love Obsidian. This book was a great overall read. It still lea

    Love Obsidian. This book was a great overall read. It still leaves me with a few questions though. Still it was a enjoyable book. Love this author. I will definitely read more in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2014

    great story

    Strong sexy characters. Goood story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Great series

    Very good books. You wont want to put them down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    I loved this book a great read the Author Laurann Dohner never disappoints . Her whole new species series is the best read I have had in awhile. Can not wait for her next book. You will not be disappointed with this read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    C.g.

    Best series of books ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Crystal Book provided by the publisher for review Re

    Reviewed by Crystal
    Book provided by the publisher for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    This series just keeps getting better and better.

    Allie has decided that she is going to do all she can to save 880. She asks for permission to do what she feels will finally help him and everyone keeps telling her no. She finally takes matters into her own hands and kidnaps him to see if she can get a reaction out of him.

    Boy does it ever work. I have been reading all the New Species books in order and when I finish one I have a new favorite. They just keep getting better and better. This one was just a little more emotional to me.

    If I was a doctor and had a patient that I was falling in love with and would do anything to make them live I would do the same thing that Alli did. I just can’t seem to find the right words to describe what I am feeling right now.

    I really hope that this isn’t the last New Species books. I don’t believe that I would ever get tired to reading them. I just can’t describe the feelings that I have for that crazy quack doctor. What he said to Alli was really uncalled for and I’m not going to get started on that. I believe that Alli did what she thought was best and that she shouldn’t be punished for it.

    The passion between Alli and Obsidian was really hot. I think I’m still feeling the effects. I was left wanting more. I could tell that they are made for each other. Please Laurann Dohner write some more books about these amazing people. I get more and more drawn into the story the more that I read. I feel like I am in the story and experiencing it along with them.

    I don’t know what I’m going to do now. I was waiting for this book to come out and I got it and read it all in the same day. What will I do now. I guess I can go back and reread them all and see if I missed anything. Let’s hope this isn’t the last that we see of the New Species.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Nice

    I loved this one, it was nice reading about a male who was getting newly acquainted with the world and I thought Obsidian was kind of funny with his orders and total bluntness. This book tries to take some realistic turns and I'm glad everything worked out in the end. Breeze and Moon were so funny when they had to break some news to Obsidian but I'm not going to spoil anything. All in all a good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Love it!

    This has been a great series and I can see how Ms. Duvall can further develop this fabulous series. Etienne and Kystra relationship was flirty and sexy. I enjoyed the strength of the female and the humor of these two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Different from the other ones

    Not bad. Just different from the others. Still love the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    The Lost Tale/ Cptr 0- characters

    MountainClan- Leader (MountainStar; A large grey tom) Deputy ( SnowFoot: Small silver queen) Med ( BerryThorn: Tortiseshell tom) Warriors (FlameFoot: Bright orange tom/StormWhisker:Muscular black and grey tom/ WindFur: Fluffy white she cat/AcornEar: Brown tom with black ears/ NightBlaze:Large black tom with mottled grey spots) Queens (BriarFlower:Spotted grey, mother of WillowKit( beautiful tortishell she cat with white spots and black paws.) And MudKit (Ragged brown shecat.) Apprentices (BlackPaw:black tom/Bluepaw:silver shecat.)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Love this series

    Can't wait for the next book to come out. Love this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7