Customer Reviews for

Obsidian Flame

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    4.5stars -- A book deserving of Thorne This outing has the lead

    4.5stars -- A book deserving of Thorne

    This outing has the leader of the WotB’s (Thorne) trailing his lady love(Marguerite) around mortal earth as she chases her freedom from the convent. Thorne has abandoned his duties, leaving the men shorthanded; he’s also separated himself from Endelle. Marguerite is determined that she will have more than her share of men and has no intention of exchanging the prison of the convent for the prison of 2nd earth – she will be free at all costs.

    With Thorne & Marguerite’s romance on the front burner, the back-end is overflowing with overall arc information. Plot elements included Greaves and his henchmen furthering his nefarious plot for world domination; Endelle; a twist for an upcoming breh-hedden; a turned traitor; grand spectacles and new powers. This busy storyline comes together well as the fast pace slots everything together well.
    Marguerite was annoying through quite a bit of the book and her romance with Thorne is different than those of the other Warriors & their lady loves.

    As I anxiously await the next installment I really hope it isn’t the last of the series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    To starkit....

    Its flamekit can i join ur clan if my clan deserts me?

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    Highly recommend this entire series!

    If you haven't been reading the Guardians of Ascension Series...start now! Caris Roane keeps you entertained and flipping those pages. Can't wait for the next character's story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    G

    Loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    5th book in the series

    Love this series. It gets better and better. Thorne has so much depth to him. Marguerite character matures, too. It isn't all about her. I will say if you didn't read the previous book, Born of Ashes, you may not understand some things.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Crystal Book provided by the publisher for review Re

    Reviewed by Crystal
    Book provided by the publisher for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    I hate to say this but this was the first book that I have read in this series. I guess you’d think that I was missing out on a lot of the back story but this book goes back and tells you a little about each of the past books.

    I really enjoyed Thorne and Marguerite’s story. Thorne had a lot of responsibility placed on him and he had to choose between his duty and his love so he chose the one that would center him.  Thorne has been Marguerite’s savior for 100 years.   There is no way that I would want to be locked up for 100 years as a convict and have all kinds of things done to me. Thank goodness that Marguerite had Thorne to help her through some of it. If it had been me, I would already be dead.  Fate showed its sense of humor when Thorne finds out that when Marguerite is set free she is his breh.

    I loved the way that the book was written. It really kept me on my toes and wondering if anything would ever go right. I just hated that it took Marguerite so long to give in to Thorne.  I could, however, understand that she wanted to just get away from it all and start all over.  The story line itself was very easy to follow. It had a lot of depth to it.

    I can’t wait to read the next book. We get a little taste of the next one, which I loved. I guess now I’ll go back and read the first four! That should keep me busy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Enjoy the ride

    I was initially disappointed with the behavior of Marguerite. While she was over 100 years old she behaved like a spoiled, highly sexed, selfish brat who cared about nothing and nobody but herself. This behavior in the face of her knowledge of how important her power was to the very survival of everyone she claimed to care for or her entire world and all the other dimensions she has full knowledge of being in peril. I hated how she treated Thorne, as he deserves a woman who loves him as much as he loves her and it didn't look like that was going to happen. Finally, thankfully, the author pulled the whiny selfish brat out of that rut and reformed her, giving Thorne the best woman ever. It was a really close call and almost unbelievable as a turnaround personality, but because I REALLY wanted the best for Thorne I decided to go along with her altered outlook on life and her man. If the author had pulled Marguerite's head out her behind quicker than she did I would have enjoyed the story much more. It was far more difficult to go along with her changed behavior after the selfish stunts she pulled, but I decided to give her a larger amount of forgiveness by choosing to look at her past for the horror it truly was. From about the halfway point the story really took off, so anyone out there like me just hold on that far and all will work out, especially the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    To the post below

    RIGHT

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    To the post bellow

    Firestar's already dead.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Killing Firestar and Sandstorm

    Firestar was showing off when he ran in to BloodClan's territory.Willowfur, Scourge's mate, a tan and white she-cat with blue eyes, stood their.She could taste his blood. She leaped in the air,ripping his heart open .Darkheart, a grayish-blue and white she-cat, began eating his flesh.They grabed his feet and swung him up into te air. They recoilrd as the ThunderClan leader's claws tried to strike them. Willowfur let out a hiss of defiance, using her dog teeth reinforced claws to rake his belly, spilling out guts. The ginger tom yowled as Darkheart locked her teeth into his throat, cutting off air. Firestar cringed as Willowfur barreled into him, winding him. Blood and fur flew into the air, and Darkheart tossed him against a trashcan, making blood spill out of his flank. Willowfur and Darkheart continued trying to kill him. "BloodClan shall never win, you corrupt, malicious cats!" Firestar yowled. "Think again, forest fool," Willowfur growled, her jaw clenching on his chest. Bolts of pain like fire flew through Firestar's body as he suffered in pain. Darkheart ripped another life out of the ginger flame-colored tom with a powerful blow to Firestar's belly. "Weak cats never make it here in Twolegplace. It's kill or be killed, and you've chosen be killed," Darkheart growled. Firestar got up again, shaking thick droplets of blood of his ginger pelt. Firestar yowled as Willowfur hooked her claws in his windpipe, raking down his shoulders. Blood gushed out, staining Firestar's flame-colored fur blood red. Firestar was overthrown as Darkheart shot a paw underneath his legs. "Suffer, Firestar," she hissed, slicing his belly and throat open. Blood oozed into the air. Willowfur hurled against Firestar's flank, sunk her teeth into his collarbone, and dragged him against a brick wall of Twolegplace. Blood stained her claws as they sunk into Firestar's ribcage, blooding his fur once again. The strong she-cat yowled in triumph, planting her fangs in the back of Firestar's throat. Blood flew into the air, and Firestar let out a bloodcurdling yowl in agony as he entered a spasm, losing another one of his nine lives. When he awoke, Willowfur narrowed her eyes. "How?" she asked. "I have the nine lives of a leader. StarClan gave them to me," he replied proudly, "and I shall use thm to fight for my Clan!" He flew at Willowfur, overthrowing her. He felt pleasure as he sunk his claws into her fur. He should've known that wouldn't last. As the strong she-cat's hind claws sunk into Firestar's underbelly, she overthrew him. Darkheart lunged at him, clawing his windpipe open. Willowfur then killed Firestar by ripping his throat open. "Firestar? Firestar?" a voice asked. A pale ginger she-cat emerged from behind a brick wall. It was Sandstorm, Firestar's mate! Blood pooled, lapping at both of the paws of the she-cat. Darkheart leaped at Sandstorm, raking her claws across her eyes. Sandstorm pinned her down, but she used her dog teeth reinforced claws to rake her from shoulder to tail-tip. The ginger she-cat collapsed, her breathing growing heavier. Blood gurgled in her throat as she struggled to stay alive. She was compelled to fight, but she couldn't. Sandstorm was slaughtered. A strong scent of blood death filled the air. It had been a long, gruesome death. The cats left with battle-scars but with victory too.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Sidesmaons

    Moans

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Spottedthorn

    Um... your just a kit.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Wildfire

    So describe yourself.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    To moltan

    If you dont know the difference between a color/gender of horse and a breed of horse, you need to start learning about horses. Its ok if you dont know all about horses at first, i didnt at first either. But, to make sure people like me dont bug you, please change your breed.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    *****

    *****

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Tornadoclaw

    What's going on?!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    You need to stop talking that way lol

    One day you will have an awesome job and make lots of money and buy yourself a nice car and all the nice things you always wanted. Then you are going to meet lots of people that will want to do whatever to be around you... make good things happen in your life...your parents are going to be suuuuuuper proud of you. But you need to be around in order to mske those things happen .

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Ravenwing

    *faints again*

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Highly Recommend the Entire Series

    I really enjoy the books by Caris Roane, due to the fantastic story line with the different dimensions. I can relate to the locations since I do live in Arizona and recognize the places she talks about. Plenty of action and great romance. I can't wait for more.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    IT IS A GREAT BOOK,CAN'T WAIT FOR THE NEXT ONE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2