Customer Reviews for

Occultation: And Other Stories

Average Rating 2.5
( 132 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended!

Horror diehards ave reason to celebrate.

Laird Barron does not write "happily ever after." If you are looking for pretty stories with happy endings, or even creepy stories with happy endings, look elsewhere, because there's nothing pretty nor happy in Laird Barron's...
Horror diehards ave reason to celebrate.

Laird Barron does not write "happily ever after." If you are looking for pretty stories with happy endings, or even creepy stories with happy endings, look elsewhere, because there's nothing pretty nor happy in Laird Barron's Occultation, his second collection of dark fiction following the success of his first, The Imago Sequence and Other Stories.

That Barron does not write "happily ever after" is not to say that Occultation is lacking in heroes and heroines, fools and apostates, prodigal sons and beckoning fair ones. On the contrary, the reader will find these archetypes in each of the stories in this collection, stories rich in allegorical themes that engage all the senses -- sight, touch, smell, taste, hearing, and emotion -- only with a bleak and horrifying twist. Barron's story-telling in Occultation grabs the reader by the back of the neck and forces him to look at this, reminding the reader that reality is not always pretty, even when reality is couched in fantasy.

Bad things happen to good people, average people, and oblivious people -- especially oblivious people.

The irony here is that Barron sets up and executes these Chthonic revelations with such graceful and seductive elocution that the reader goes willingly to his "readerly" fate, every bit as willingly as Barron's protagonists go not-so-gently into that endless night. This said, the reader can choose to ride safely over the surface of each tale and sigh afterward that the protagonist's fate was not hers, or she can choose to dive into deeper waters where hidden formulae found in the Gnostic art of Gematria informs her of metaphysical secrets, and ancient rituals performed in an upside-down looking-glass world reveal psycho-spiritual insight. The reader has a choice in Occultation: read for entertainment, or read for information. Or read for both. There is mystery aplenty to be found in either venture.

Occultation is all that, the art of legerdemain, as was experienced in The Imago Sequence. But where The Imago Sequence presented with lone protagonists unwittingly encountering and sometimes surviving a hostile universe, we find in Barron's Occultation a "progression" of interrelated stories, in which his main characters encounter adversity while involved in significant relationships. In fact, it is sometimes because of the significant relationship that the protagonist meets his/her doom. We've gone from Imago, a primitive and idealized chrysalis of the primary object, i.e., assimilation of the parental figure, to Occultation, the act of combining various but ambiguous dynamics to produce a specific effect in relationships, i.e., accommodation and compromise.

A must-read for Lovecraft fans!

posted by Jody_Rose on September 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

48 out of 117 people found this review helpful.

Horrible language

Received on Free Friday, but not worth keeping due to excessive bad language. I would like to give zero stars, but one is required.

posted by br549GA on May 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Horrible language

    Received on Free Friday, but not worth keeping due to excessive bad language. I would like to give zero stars, but one is required.

    48 out of 117 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Stranger

    I hate this bookv
    VEry bad language

    10 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Not going to finish read

    Read the first two stories and had to stop. The review for free friday compared this author to lovecraft, king and koontz. But after reading te first two stories I have to say this author cime now where near there level of intensity and craft. I was disappointed and not even interested enough to read the remaining stories. I found the first short draged and the ending left me feeling let down, it was either too esoteric or not enough, I'm not sure. The second short was just bad, stutter shot slice of cliche bmovie horror.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    What the Heck?

    I had to Force myself to make it through the first short story.... It did not hold my interest therefore made absolutely no sense!! Just happy I got this one on Friday Freebe :(

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Not Recommended Not recommended!!

    I kept waiting for this wierd story to make sense---Didn't happen!!!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Crude and Pointless

    The language in this book is most crude and adds absolutely nothing to the story telling. The sexual content also is absolutely crude and pointless. If it was necessary or added something logical to the stories I could understand it, but it is pointless and just for shock factor. Deleted from my library.

    4 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    WRF WTF

    This book was/is not worth one star let alone any. I couldnt wvn get passed the firat 3 pages!!!!!!!!!?

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    Too far out

    Only read a few chaptes. Did not like, too weird for my taste.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    Horrible ... my rating ¿ negative 3 stars

    I have loved horror stories since I was a child and was really looking forward to enjoying this book. Unfortunately it turned out to be one of the worst (if not THE worst) I have ever read. I got through three of the stories and they all ended in a way that made it obvious I had wasted my time reading them. The endings made no sense whatsoever. Fortunately I picked it up when it was the Free Friday selection but that does not make it a "deal" when time is wasted reading garbage, which is not obvious until you reach the end of each story. If anyone can tell me one of these stories is worth reading, please let me know which one that would be as I don't plan to torture myself any further with this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    crap

    lousy endings that make no sense.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Not Worth The Free Price or A Rating

    Was so glad I had not paid for this one! Hope I am able to leave no stars to reflect on ratings and lower it. But if there has to be one star just know I did not want to give it that high of a rating!

    NOTE: Had to give one star in order to post!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Waste of time

    Not even going to finish it!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    No wonder it was free

    Not very good

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    extremely boring. Will put you right to sleep

    Really bad.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Not a good attention holder

    Made it through 20 pages and it still had not caught my interest.....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Not my cup of tea

    Didn't find this to be the least bit interesting! If you like books that take time to trudge through then this may be for you, but i personally feel like there are too many quality books out there to waste more time on this ine!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Could not get through this.

    Sorry, but I could not get through these stories at all. Didn't hold my interest. Glad I didn't pay for it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Bad

    Deserves no stars

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Awful!

    Glad it was free. I read most anything, but this goes to the delete bin without finishing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Suckish!!!!

    Stupid book

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2