Customer Reviews for

Ocean Avenue

Average Rating 5
( 327 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(308)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 327 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Great album but why in the world does it cost $50??? I can buy i

    Great album but why in the world does it cost $50??? I can buy it other places online for $10...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best albums I've heard!

    The second I heard "Ocean Avenue" I knew I had to get this albumn. On top of the fact that they have a violinist in the band, Yellowcard's individuality is something you don't usually see these days. They're not the whiney "my life's terrible" kind of bands that are out there that all sound the same. Ryan has an amazing voice and the rest of the boys are extremely talented. There's no reason someone shouldn't enjoy this album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This Band ROCKS

    This CD is definitely Yellowcard's best. It's up-beat rhythm and awesome drums and vocals (not to mention violin) make this CD one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I personally loved Yellowcard's CD Ocean Avenue. 1.) "Way Away" is a nice, fast paced track with good lyrics and great guitar and drum parts. The vocals were beautiful as well. 2.) "Breathing" is nice and low. It is medium paced and more punky than the first track. It's one of my favorites on the CD. 3.) "Ocean Avenue" is poppy and packed with loud drums around the chorus and heavy bass following the chorus. 4.) "Empty Apartment" is a slower song, and it's a nice change from the other fast tracks. Nice chords laced with ballad-ish tabs. Nicely done. 5.) "Life of a Salesman" has inspiring lyrics and better bass parts than other songs. 6.) "Only One" is another slow one but it speeds up a little at the chorus. Strong power chords and vocals at chorus, as well. 7.) "Miles Apart" is Fall Out Boy meets Hellogoodbye-ish with its fast paced bass and soft spoken lyrics. 8.) "Twenty-Three" has loud guitar power chords and drums. 9.) "View From Heaven" has an excellent solo part and vocals. It has more of a country vibe than the others. 10.) "Inside Out" is more Summer Obsession-ish with powerful guitar parts and loud vocals. 11.) "Believe" is a slower track, but that's not to say that the drum part is quiet. It's slow at first, but as the chorus comes, the drums build up. 12.) "One Year, Six Months" has an acoustic feel. It's beautiful, lyric-wise and guitar-wise. 13.) "Back Home" has a piano like guitar melody and power chords at the chorus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best album I own

    Ocean Avenue is probably the best album I own. It is the only cd I can listen to everyday and never get sick of it. From Way Away to Back Home this album rocks!!! -Rogerthat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Definetly Their Best..

    I honestly think this is their best album out. I've loved this ever since I bought it the day it came out back in '03. I still haven't gotten tired of it! The songs are so emotional, and they touch on so many subjects that anyone could relate to most of their songs. My favorite, being, Ocean Avenue. That one is the one I relate to best. If you haven't heard this yet, I suggest you buy it now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing album for all ears

    This album is where Yellowcard proliferated throughout the country. They were awesome before this album, but this album is what got their name out and beyond. "Ocean Avenue" has the perfect mix of rock and melody, and the whole album follows a nice storyline. It starts out with "Way Away," where the band talks about wanting to get out of where they are, and it ends nicely with “Back Home.” Going through this album makes you feel like you’ve been through the whole journey with the band. I definitely recommend listening through all of it when you buy it. When I buy CD’s, I usually skip around, omitting some songs, but ALL the songs on this album is definitely worth listening to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Strength of Sound

    I'd been planning to buy Yellowcard's sophomore album "Ocean Avenue" for a while, having been exposed to their music through singles "Ocean Avenue" and "Only One", and finally got around to it. The album started strongly and rarely disappointed through the 13 tracks. Opener "Way Away" grabs your attention straight away with its cliffhanger chords and strong melodies, and "Breathing" and "Ocean Avenue" follow in the same vein, Sean Mackin's violin immediately apparent and lending a special touch you don't often find in pop-punk records. Standout tracks for me were "Life of a Salesman" and "Believe", both fast and loud songs, the contemplative closer "Back Home" and especially the last single "Only One". This is the most melody-rich track of the album and is filled with raw emotion. Weaker tracks like "Miles Apart" and the country-tinged "View From Heaven" are a slight let-down but on the whole this is a very consistent album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Sweet Sound of Progress

    Yellowcard has struck it big with Ocean Avenue. Fans of this band's unique sound will be quite pleased to hear the new CD. Yellowcard has refined their sound from their last release. It sounds as if they've spent all this time between releases practicing their musical skills and lyricism. The music sounds better, the lyrics are more interesting and better written, and they display their skill in a variety of different sound styles. Yellowcard still provides the "in your face" sound of punk rock with tracks like "Way Away" and "Breathing", but they also show in some tracks a divergence toward emo, like in "Back Home," and "Believe." Ocean Avenue is a brilliant work. I look forward to hearing their new CD, "Lights and Sounds," when it is released in January.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Yellowcard Amazes All

    Yellowcard's "Ocean Avenue" is absolutely astounding. Sean Mackin's violin blends in well with their punk/rock music, a mixture in which we would not think of often. Their lyrics also definitely relate to what teenagers today go through in their everyday life. The album contains music of soft to a bit of heavy punk/rock music, which creates the perfect balance. I would definitely recommend this album to those who are looking for that "perfect" music to listen to whenever. This obviously deserves a 5 star rating!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome and Then Some

    Once againg yellowcard blew me away along with all the other that have already purchases this album. This album contains hit songs Ocean Avenue (title track), Way Away, and Only One. They are of the few bands true to themselves left and Yellowcard isn't afraid to show their unique style of music to the world. They aren't afraid to tell everyone about their experiences expecially in Life of a Salesman. They also describe the hardships they faced when moving to Cali to make it in the music business (Back Home). I recomend this for a person who lives and breathes rock, and for those who just simply enjoy it (because u will end up living and breathing yellowcard rock). The first time i ever listened to it i was amazed by the style there is none like it that i've ever heard its impossible to even describe its rock meets something i just can't put my finger on it. Well in a nutshell this is a awesome cd and i strongly recament purchasing this album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Yellowcard ROCKS!

    Yellowcard is such a great band. Their songs are all awsome. And the best thing is they are not like any other group around. With their violin, giving there songs a more classicial theme, it makes them the only band of it's kind. From catchy melodies from Ocean Avenue to the loud and hype tunes of Way Away, Yellowcard is a must get for the holidays!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing

    This CD is amazing! I bought it early and never regretted it. I love every song from beginning to end and find myself listening to it over and over again sometimes. This CD is a great pick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing all the way through

    Ocean Avenue is an incredible album with great songs all the way through. The first half of the album has all the radio hits but if you listen to the whole thing it is just one good song after another. A must listen. Ocean Avenue is a combination of every style Yellowcard has explored over their past albums ever since Midget Tossing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SMASHTASTIC!!

    These guys can definitely rock! You can totally get into a rock band with a violin. The violin, guitar,and drums will blow your mind, and you won't be able to get the incredible lyrics out of your head. Go see them in concert!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Point Of View

    To start off, the cd when i first listened to it was awesome! The cd had something i've never heard in a punk rock band... a violin! The cd was dedicated to a friend of the bands who was lost in a car accident. I found that really touching. And the song "View From Heaven" was written about their friend. The songs each had different meanings to me. One was about their friend in heaven, another was about September 11th! I'm sure each song might have a different meaning to someone else... but i found the cd to be a very personal look at their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    YC Rocks!

    I wasn't a huge fan of Yellowcard when I first heard of them, but when I kept catching on to their songs, I was obsessed! I bought this CD in July, and it was awesome! I enjoyed listening to each and every one of the songs. I loved how Sean played the violin. Yellowcard's lyrics are very meaningful, and their song helped me on an essay, seriously. I didn't know what to write about, but I was listening to their song, "Believe", so I decided to base my essay on 9/11. My friends found that silly. The only reason I bought the CD was because of "Ocean Avenue", but then I got hooked onto all of the songs! It is a must-get CD!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Must-Have Album: Ocean avenue

    Every music lover should own Yellowcard's newest album, Ocean Avenue. This band successfully blends pop, emo, and punk music together to create a unique sound. Also, what distinguishes Yellowcard from other bands is the fact that they have a violinist (Sean Mackin). You will not be disappointed by any of their songs and many contain strong messages regarding love, life, and making decisions. Believe, Way Away, Breathing, Ocean Avenue, and Only one stand out on the album. Also this is an enhanced cd thus it includes some great extras like music videos.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Can't put it into words!!!!!!

    This is one of the greatest pop/punk cd's of all time. Yellowcard started from nothing and now they're platnium, and we can all see why. My favorite track on the album is "A View From Heaven". The mix of classic violin by Sean Mackin, and the new age vocals of Ryan Key, set this track apart from the rest. Another great track is "Life of A Salesman." I love the positive message it sends. Get out there and pick this record up!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    EFFIN AWESOME

    this cd kicked butt... it was everything except anything negative... great job. yellowcard rocks... they are great. go them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 327 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17