Customer Reviews for

Ocean Beach

Average Rating 4.5
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

In this sequel to Ten Beach Road, Madeline, Avery and Nicole arr

In this sequel to Ten Beach Road, Madeline, Avery and Nicole arrive in Miami’s South Beach neighborhood set to redo a grand home hoping to bring it back to its original splendor. It is all for a new television show called Do Over. Since the last house they remodel...
In this sequel to Ten Beach Road, Madeline, Avery and Nicole arrive in Miami’s South Beach neighborhood set to redo a grand home hoping to bring it back to its original splendor. It is all for a new television show called Do Over. Since the last house they remodeled has not sold yet they all need this show to be their big break. Their lives all need a Do Over!

It doesn't take long for these unlikely friends to realize their idea for the show and the network's are as different as night and day. The network wants a reality show with emphasis on personal lives with the home as the background and setting, rather than the makeover being the star of the show.

All their relationships will be tested as they know how important this is to each of them. Plus a mystery from the past changes the whole scope of project and something unexpected happens that can put all of them in danger. The network soon becomes the least of their worries.

Wendy Wax has packed this book with a wonderful characters in an awesome setting and a story that grabs you from the first page. I have not read Ten Beach Road yet but I had absolutely no problem becoming invested in their characters quickly. They are all struggling with something that the reader knows is genuine.

My favorite character was not one of these wonderful women though. It was Max, the homeowner. What a wonderful life he had with his wife. Their lives were far from perfect, they had the share of problems and they were dealt with a terrible emotional blow. His wife Millie has passed on but you can actually feel their love in his stories. He wants the house fixed up because she wanted it done and he made her a very special promise before she passed on. A very extraordinary gentleman.

I love the way this author writes. She writes about strong women. Women that are facing life's changes with perfect amounts of reality, humor and intrigue. Women who are trying to realize their dreams. Women who care about each other. Fate brought these women together and they are making the best of it. Come hell or high water these are friendships that will endure.

Thank you Wendy for writing a perfect escape! I hope to see these friends together again soon!

posted by Dollycas on June 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nursery

Queens and kits live here p.s. to post here click share then rate and review

posted by 12746482 on March 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    In this sequel to Ten Beach Road, Madeline, Avery and Nicole arr

    In this sequel to Ten Beach Road, Madeline, Avery and Nicole arrive in Miami’s South Beach neighborhood set to redo a grand home hoping to bring it back to its original splendor. It is all for a new television show called Do Over. Since the last house they remodeled has not sold yet they all need this show to be their big break. Their lives all need a Do Over!

    It doesn't take long for these unlikely friends to realize their idea for the show and the network's are as different as night and day. The network wants a reality show with emphasis on personal lives with the home as the background and setting, rather than the makeover being the star of the show.

    All their relationships will be tested as they know how important this is to each of them. Plus a mystery from the past changes the whole scope of project and something unexpected happens that can put all of them in danger. The network soon becomes the least of their worries.

    Wendy Wax has packed this book with a wonderful characters in an awesome setting and a story that grabs you from the first page. I have not read Ten Beach Road yet but I had absolutely no problem becoming invested in their characters quickly. They are all struggling with something that the reader knows is genuine.

    My favorite character was not one of these wonderful women though. It was Max, the homeowner. What a wonderful life he had with his wife. Their lives were far from perfect, they had the share of problems and they were dealt with a terrible emotional blow. His wife Millie has passed on but you can actually feel their love in his stories. He wants the house fixed up because she wanted it done and he made her a very special promise before she passed on. A very extraordinary gentleman.

    I love the way this author writes. She writes about strong women. Women that are facing life's changes with perfect amounts of reality, humor and intrigue. Women who are trying to realize their dreams. Women who care about each other. Fate brought these women together and they are making the best of it. Come hell or high water these are friendships that will endure.

    Thank you Wendy for writing a perfect escape! I hope to see these friends together again soon!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Ocean Beach was a great read. I laughed, cried, and wondered wh

    Ocean Beach was a great read. I laughed, cried, and wondered what was going to happen to the ladies. They were all concerned with each other, the project, and Max who’s home they were doing over because of a promise he had made. Will the girls help Max? How will their project go with them being filmed for a reality TV show? I totally enjoyed Ocean Beach and so will you.

    Received by the publisher for an honest review by My Book Addiction and More.

    Rating: 5

    Heat Rating: Mild

    Reviewed by: Susan

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Perfect for your beach bag

    I don’t know about ya’ll, but it is HOT here in Tennessee! And nothing is better than drinking a big glass of sweet tea and reading on a hot day and Ocean Beach by Wendy Wax is a perfect summer read!

    Ocean Beach is the “next chapter” in the lives of Nicole, Avery and Maddie, who were first introduced to readers in Ten Beach Road by Wendy Wax (2011). I have not read Ten Beach Road nor do I feel you have to in order to read Ocean Beach. I was able to read along just fine. However, after reading Ocean Beach I will say I’d love to read any and everything Wendy Wax has written!

    An unusual group of friends are working together to get a home renovation TV pilot off the ground. These ladies aren’t looking for TV celebrity, but wanting to get their lives back on track. That’s right a story about empowering women and home renovation—I loved it from get go!

    These lovely ladies are looking for a Do Over, while restoring an old Miami South Beach Mansion (Nice!). The owner of the mansion is Max Golden, an elderly gentleman who in his prime partied with the rat pack. Max isn’t just looking to have his home restored, he is looking for something or better yet someone.

    When the ladies arrive at the Miami house to start the renovation and filming for their show, they are shocked to find out the television network has decided instead to turn the whole thing into a reality show. Avery feels a loss of control and begins to fear the network will portray her as a bimbo who doesn’t know how to run a construction site. Nicole has been hoping to get her match making business back off the ground, but fears a ‘reality’ show is only going to cast a bright light back on her brother the criminal. And Maddie isn’t sure her marriage can take it.

    There are also a few other characters in the story. Deidre who is the decorator and Avery’s estranged mother. Deidre is looking to find a way back into her daughter’s life and Avery wants very little to do with her. There is also Kyra, Maddie’s daughter. Kyra is video recording the renovation and has an adorable baby boy, Dustin. And Dustin’s dad is a famous actor who just so happens to show up in Miami South Beach to work on a movie.

    With the cameras rolling, the women pull up their sleeves and get to work. But it isn’t long before their real lives are playing out in front of the cameras—in a big way!

    I loved this book! I just fell in love with all the characters, especially Max! I could see why the ladies wanted to help him. I enjoyed the numerous stories lines and never felt it got confusing. There is a little mystery in the book, but I figured it out right away. I did enjoy how I kept waiting for someone to figure it out in the book. I was sort of surprised at the end because not everything felt fully resolved. I have to admit I liked that. I can’t help but think we’ll see these ladies again! I sure hope so!

    Honestly, there wasn’t anything about this book I didn’t enjoy—the closer to the end of the book the more I enjoyed it!

    Grab a copy for your beach bag! I’m recommending Ocean Beach!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    Kishan

    Seea a cub drowning in the water ' i came all this way for this.' Picks up cub and heads back to camp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    This book was soooooo good !!!! My second Wendy Wax book,first

    This book was soooooo good !!!! My second Wendy Wax book,first was Ten Beach Road.I HIGHLY RECOMMEND BOTH!! Does anyone know if Christmas At The Beach will be in paperback ? I don't have nook and can't believe im not going to know how it ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Oceanwings territory

    Here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Honeyblaze to rainpaw

    Waits for rainpaw

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Nightflower

    Pads back to camp carrying her rabbit and vole.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Zebrastar

    Does the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Blade

    Went there

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Abby

    Hi kaden. My name is abby i say walking over and sitting by you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Kaden

    U know my name now i wana now ur pizzy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Tyler

    Lol sorry my sister just took my nook

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Trouble really?

    Not likely!!! ~Jo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Lex

    Thats right! Leevr peyton

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Seawing Royal Hatchery

    A bubbling warm egg-shaped buiding inside the underwater palace; the queens eggs rest until hatchtime. A large statue of Orka stands tall in the center. It is harmless, for the animus powers that once made this statue dangerous are gone, thanks to tsunami. This is where Tsunami and Anemone's eggs were layed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Scarlet

    Hunts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Mark

    Hey i gtg *kisses u

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Mark

    Kisses u

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Jace

    She leaves. "Bia!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4