Customer Reviews for

The Ocean Between Us

Average Rating 4.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    Loved this book - what a great way to showcase the military family!

    As a Navy brat growing up, seeing my dad go on several deployments to a Navy Wife watching my husband leave as well, this book brought everything together for me. Not only did it show the thoughts and feelings of the military man that was deployed and what he had to endure, but it also showed the children and wife he left behind and what they went through without him. I truly bonded with this family and highly recommend this book! You will cry, laugh, etc along with the characters as Susan Wiggs really opens up each one of them for you to see into their hearts.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    THOUGHT-PROVOKING!

    For twenty years Grace Bennett has been the perfect navy wife to her husband, Steve, traveling the globe with each re-station and raising their three children.
    There is conflict between Grace and Stephen that serves as a reminder of how much family members sacrifice also, so that their loved ones can serve in the military.
    Steve knows that his navy career puts a strain on his family.
    Grace is almost 40, has gained weight, and is still WAITING to get started with her life. She wants to settle down, start a career of her own.SOMETHING!
    Steve is bewildered by Grace's sudden change of heart towards him, when he believes that his career proves how much he cares for his family and his country.
    Their children are dealing with issues. Their son is rebelling against his father's pressure to attend the Navy Academy; their older daughter is dealing with her sexuality and gets caught in a dangerous situation; the younger daughter is shy, a curse in a family that is forced to move every few years and must make new friends.
    A past secret rears its ugly head amongst the naval suspense thriller background and the emotional struggle drama that is thought-provoking and keeps the reader spellbound!

    Another one that kept me absolutely spellbound was EXPLOSION IN PARIS!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2006

    The ocean gives life, sustains life and takes it away...It's all here in this book...

    I wasn¿t sure how I was going to feel about this book, An Ocean Between Us, as I knew it was not a historical romance (which is my preferred genre of love stories to read) and that it contained the story line with many characters (I was worried I might get lost along the way with too much going on) and that it was a book heavily on the military life of a Naval family (I knew little about this way of life so, unsure if I would find it interesting or too different and a bit boring). But¿.true to form, SW writes another great one. Let¿s face it, real emotion, real conflicts, real life surpasses time and space so, when an author brings you into the heart of the story line you can¿t help but be interested and fascinated all at one time. I was impressed that SW had so many characters in live action in this book yet, no one got lost along the way. That included the main characters of Grace (mother/wife), Steve (husband/father/military man), kids Emma, Katie, Brian(their teen-aged children), Josh (Steve¿s unknown first child/military man), Lauren (Josh¿s love interest) and others such as Patricia/Officer Riviera, ex-wife Cissy, and others. As the book went on, I noticed each new chapter dealt with a different person and their view point/perspective and life event was profiled and then a new character would arrive and a switch would occur again. Eventually, you got to know everyone and back and forth it went and of course, the inevitable happens, the story life comes full circle and show why everyone is tied together. The difficulty Naval and other military families go through in service to their nation was a powerful and moving story to tell. Life apart is more common than life together. Sacrifice to a thankful nation is critical element to these families but, so is the impact of living apart for a life time when it comes to husbands, wives, kids and relatives. This book showed what can happen to even the best families when distance and time take their toll. Who do you become? What do you do? What do you hope, wish and desire? Who follows who? Who stays behind? How does life go on while loves ones are away? And all the difficulty to patching up a family due to the affects of distance and duty. I found all the twists and turns in this book enjoyable. The most important of course being, the soul searching Grace did as a middle aged woman with grown kids, a duty bound Naval man moving up the ranks of his profession and trying to figure out who you are in mid life with no career, no house, no set place to call home and a lost identity. Her journey of self ¿discovery was powerful and important ¿ I¿m sure many, many women can relate. Grace¿s story re-affirmed that you teach people how to treat you so¿treat yourself goooooood! Of course this book ended up being pretty thick and long. There was some elements that could certainly have used more time and expansion but, book can only get so big. This book over-all is a great read. Pick it up soon, read it and add it to your Susan Wiggs library. You won¿t be sorry you did. If you enjoy honest and real love stories and seeing the human spirit prevail, then this is the one for you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2004

    Simply superb

    For two decades Grace Bennett has been the perfect navy wife to her beloved Steve while traveling the globe when her husband gets restationed and raising their three delightful children. So why is the devoted family matriarch feeling worthless and dissatisfied? Perhaps it is simply that her youngest is in ninth grade and like her older siblings needs mom less, but Grace thinks it goes deeper as she believes it is her identity that she lost....................................... Steve is bewildered by Grace¿s sudden change of heart towards him, as he believes that his career proves how much he cares for his family. Now deployed, he knows his marriage is in jeopardy especially since Grace has established a communication black out. He refuses to accept that he lost her without going down fighting as he loves his wife and children, but panics that Grace will not be there when he redeploys. When Stephen¿s ship is in troubled waters, Grace may not have a choice whether to remain a sailor¿s spouse with the overseas danger to her husband and the rest of the sailors on board.................................... THE OCEAN BETWEEN US excitingly plays out on two levels. There is the conflict between Grace and Stephen that serves as a reminder of how much family members sacrifice so that their loved ones can serve in a military that constantly ships out to hot spots (whom else but the military and their family have really sacrificed anything for the Global War on Terrorism?). The second theme is an action subplot that shows how dangerous the world is. Both the relationship drama and the naval suspense thriller combine to make a terrific thought provoking tale......................... Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2005

    Just wonderful!

    I picked up this book at the library even though I'm not a big reader of romance novels. Well, I stayed on the beach until 6 p.m. so I could finish it in one day! Just loved this author and can't wait to read them all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    I give t his a 5-star rating. I've read this book twice and it'

    I give t his a 5-star rating. I've read this book twice and it's one I can't put down. Having been a military wife for over 18 years, and now retired with the same man many more years, I can totally relate to Grace and sense that she wants more out of life. She is the epitome of what a commanding officer's wife shoud be, be there for the women or men who are left behind when the ship (or unit or spouse) goes to seas or other shores. The problem is, who should she go to when she's blue, unhappy, scared? At the same time she can and should look for ways she can enhance her life beyond being the CO's wife. Sometimes it's hard, especially when you have children who also need nurturing when the spouse is gone. Grace did find her self and made some changes in her life that affected all in her family. She had the respect of her children and her friends, but she had to convince her husband of the changes she made in her life that affected him as well. A well written book by Susan Wiggs, as always. This book is fast reading and interesting; I hated to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Tme well spent

    Susan Wiggs has written another good read. The characters were believable and true to life. I look forward to my next one by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Great book!

    SW tells her most powerful story about how loves grows, changes, and needs to be nurtured in this fabulous book. It reminds us that we also change through our life and experiences, just like our relationships. I feel this is her most touching novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Wonderful story, great characters, really like this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    C

    ASHCLOUD
    Locked out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    Fantastic, true to Life story!!

    Susan Wigg's characters are so well developed and really pull the reader into the story. Could not put this book down..so true to life. A must read especially for any military family, but everyone else also, as I am not from a military family.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    good read, well written

    Wiggs characters are believable and it's easy to get invested in their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Great book. Susan Wiggs is an awesome writer!

    Susan Wiggs at her best. This is a great book. Hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Loved it!

    If you are a mom, you can relate to Grace in this book. It is a great story of Grace finding herself again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Great book!

    My book club read and all the ladies enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    Loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    Great Book

    This is a great book, I would recommend it to anyone. Each chapter brought something new and different and kept you interested in the characters from beginning to end. This was my first Susan Wiggs book and plan to read more from her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    good read

    Enjoyed this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Great Read

    This book was about a wife/mother learning to live her life. It points out that life is a series of transitions and growth and within a marriage it needs to be recognized that we grow and our partner needs to be aware of this also and to embrace the changes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    romantic

    great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5